Widest tyre to fit a rim size

nikolaiski

Nov 4, 2005
Hey guys..

I'm currently running 215/45 17" on a 7.5JJ offset +35 rim (Evo brembo on a Lancer CS5 4G93T) 5 x 114

I want to change to 8jj rims where there are alot of +35 offset sizes, BUT don't want to put 225/45 tyres on them because sure to rub my fenders (roll already!) when I go track (must set coils to a lower setting to be ideal)

Is it possible to run 215/45 17" on an 8jj and safely go to TRACK and up and down NSHW from JB-Penang once in a while, ie. drive like gila? lol

If unsafe, how about 215/40 and 225/40?

How does the 215/45 looks now on the 7.5JJ rims? Fitting them to 8JJ is the max. Depending on the tyre model, the thread pattern width should not be smaller then the width of the rims.
If this happens, tyre sidewall will not flex properly. Tyre shoulder pattern will wear faster.
If tyre pattern is equal to rims width or smaller, then should not have any problem.
You can go 225/40, but not much tyre choice in this size and also they are very expensive.
215/40 is too small.....

tofu_manic

Jan 11, 2007
running 215/45/17 on 8jjs for a while now; sidewall isnt stretched kaw kaw like what u see the japs/angmohs doing, have whacked kaw2 without issues

vr2turbo: funnily enuff, some tires like the 215/45 goodyear rs-sport looks even more at home on a 7.5jj (slight slant); *almost* makes a 7jj look too narrow

That is why I mentioned depending on what tyre model. Some models are made wider, for example Yokohama S-Drive. They are built square and looks much broader like 225 wide.
If you look at GY F1 Asy., they look much smaller....

tofu_manic

Jan 11, 2007
yeap yeap i guess TS has to mention what type of tires he be using

Aspect ratio also plays a part. The lower the aspect ratio the wider the rims too....

tofu_manic

Jan 11, 2007
215/45 shud be ok, 215/40 as u sed is too small edi for wider wheels

Actually, when I meant too small is for application. From 215/45 to 215/40, overall diameter is more than 3% smaller.
For fitment actually 215/40 fit 8JJ better then 215/45.....

tofu_manic

Jan 11, 2007
ok im confused here haha

erm...ok...let's say with the 215/40, wudnt there be lesser sidewall to stretch over the 8jjs? with lesser sidewall wont there be more slant?

like those old skoolers, they can only use high aspect ratio tires to stretch over the super wide old skool rims

nikolaiski

Nov 4, 2005
HAHA! I'm using Goodyear RS-Sport 215/45 R17 with a Taiwanese 7.5JJ rim to be exact :)

Maybe next time I try the Dunlop SP sport maxx or the DZ101 lor..they look wider with the rim protector on the side walls..any other "wider" tyre brands you can recommend?

Ok lah, i'll try to take a picture to give you guys an idea...at the moment the rims and tyre are about the same, maybe the rims coming out a little bit....but yeah i'm going to go for 8jj rims the next time to see what happens :P Maybe less sidewall flex = better cornering? lol

I remember those drift cars..crazy rim width and offsets and the tyres all narrower than the rims in front (for obvious reasons)

khoyos

Nov 23, 2003
215/45 tyres are widely used on 17x8 rims. Nothing to worry about. Anytime anywhere any condition.

ok im confused here haha

erm...ok...let's say with the 215/40, wudnt there be lesser sidewall to stretch over the 8jjs? with lesser sidewall wont there be more slant?

like those old skoolers, they can only use high aspect ratio tires to stretch over the super wide old skool rims
The higher the sidewall the smaller the rim width. 215/45 recommend 7 to 8 inch rims,
215/40 recommends 7 to 8.5 inch rims.
Actually it is not over, 215 converted to inches is 8.46 inch, so it is just nice.

For those super wide rims, most are using 18 to 20 inch rims and those rims are really wide, maybe tyres not wide enough

tofu_manic

Jan 11, 2007
actually what i referred to were those like 13 inch old skool 8jjs, that sort, where they are able to put on 185 width tires, as long as the profiles were large, like 185/60 to 185/70 so they have more sidewall to stretch, hipari styyyyyle

of course this is not recommended for track work la hehe

TS, uve got chop sirim from 2jzbosskhoyos already, so it shud be ok haha

actually what i referred to were those like 13 inch old skool 8jjs, that sort, where they are able to put on 185 width tires, as long as the profiles were large, like 185/60 to 185/70 so they have more sidewall to stretch, hipari styyyyyle

of course this is not recommended for track work la hehe

TS, uve got chop sirim from 2jzbosskhoyos already, so it shud be ok haha
Oh! those I call Ah Beng style already....:biggrin:
Actually those days, before the larger sizes were out, there were wider 13" tyres. I remember getting for a friend 205/60R13. This will fit those 8JJ nicely, but not 185/60 & 185/70....

tofu_manic

Jan 11, 2007
that wud be neat, u have the option of using smaller diameter, wider, more -ve offset wheels/tires without having to change to larger, generally heavier wheels to get the same track width

hye everyone...i'm driving campro 1.6...my question is if i wanted to change my clutch pump, is there any racing clutch pump selling out there or can i use honda clutch pump instead oem clutch pump???help me out...:confused::confused: