Which Setup Will u go for??

ahchuan

Jan 6, 2005
hello,
i'm currently running a b16a, plan to rebuild my engine after CNY.
coz, my engine bering very noisy,valve noisy, leaking black oil every where, need to overhaul oledy... (i drove <65,000km in last year)salesman ma.. but i had oledy get another car for my job, so plan to rebuild my baby.
my budget is around 5-7k(+-) , what's in my mind is:
1)using b16a block,but Change everything to type-r(Piston, cam,intake...) and E-manage.
2)Buy a complete B16b engine w/o gearbox. (Can plug n play wif my current wiring?) and E-manage
3)Get a close ratio gearbox and rebuild back wif b16a setup.
4)B20b setup
5)Suggestion...???
which option i will spend it for getting the most highest or best HP/Setup ??
my dream is putting turbo, but it cost me alot, around 10-15k.. worry about the maintance and cant tahan lama. hard core user here..haha..

ahchuan

Jan 6, 2005
huh?? y got a colgate advertisment below my post????????????????

dcloo

May 11, 2005
buy a b18c r block then over haul it back your top n put 2 type r cam n emanage
thats will oredi tide up ur budget
if u still think u can takeout more budget then only setup your gearbox for drag use...

Areignz

Jan 28, 2005
The no 1 set up are good enuf with fine tune.Will get around 150++hp.

ahchuan

Jan 6, 2005
The no 1 set up are good enuf with fine tune.Will get around 150++hp.

huh.. wif the setup i thought can get 160-170whp le.. haha.
coz lastime i dyno-ed i got 140+whp, all standard but got a vafc.

ahchuan

Jan 6, 2005
one more things, with a stock b16a gearbox, at 5th gear, running on highway, how many rmp while at 120km/h??? mine is around 4200rpm@120km/h. how about yours?

KaiKon

Aug 19, 2006
hmm..plan to do almost the same thing..
1)toda up my b16a (cam,valve spring,etc )or..
2)buy b16b engine kosong

which one better eh?

mdsb3

Mar 31, 2006
hmm..plan to do almost the same thing..
1)toda up my b16a (cam,valve spring,etc )or..
2)buy b16b engine kosong

which one better eh?
ctr cam good already.
play with ur gearbox man...u will enjoy it.
my 2 cent.

jessie

Oct 26, 2004
Close Ratio = Change Synco every 12 months on B-Series Gearbox (if u rev everyday - sounds like u will do that)

Toda = Change Timing Belt Every Year (u need a fully-PGMFI and pistons to enjoy.
So gearbox is is cheaper, but u need to upgrade your suspension (bush, damper & brakes & seat) to really enjoy..........$$$$

KaiKon

Aug 19, 2006
need to change syncro every year?sounds like not reliable..what if, change final drive and upgrade to ctr cam?would the power ouput be significant?

J101

Jul 15, 2005
malaysia
based on the background :
-salesman
-worry about maintenance

based on the options given only :
- no.2 would be best and robust

jessie

Oct 26, 2004
need to change syncro every year?sounds like not reliable..what if, change final drive and upgrade to ctr cam?would the power ouput be significant?

Reliable - lightweight honda gearbox like that - 1 year is very good is you gila gila rev 8,400 r.pm 1st,2nd,3rd,4th,5th (no reverse!!:itsme: :itsme: :itsme: ) and shift like racing driver -

EVERYDAY.

Normal drive synchro should last longer

TODA - play toda also need to change timimg belt

integram

Apr 10, 2007
i wud go for no.2 bro......it wud b a beta daily driver....

my car using H7 bulbs...got cover for this size?? in the market i only seen H4 size cover...is too big for my headlamp...kenot fit...pls help me...cheers