Where to custom piston and con rods

Kopi

May 18, 2004
Cheras
0.6 only ah? and seldom rev hard? no real need to spend on custom pistons.. stock pistons will hold up well enough... maybe add a thicker or another layer head gasket to bring the compression down abit.

unless u wanna start boosting above 1 bar then yeah, ull definitely need forged pistons.
mADmAN's right. most of the times it's not the piston or the conrod's fault. It's igntion and airfuel ratio too very rich to burn the rings & melt pistons, or too lean ratio to knock the piston backwards and kick the head off, or lack of engine oil feed to the cylinder, crank journals, main bearings . most of the time. the pistons are just victims. :biggrin:

just get custom thick headgasket first...atleast that can be sourced locally...

virqai

Dec 30, 2010
Okie... I will try doing it...
If not mistake u got TIG weld rite?...u. and ur friend like to diy...then try a bit gila2
Tig weld the head if not afraid la...how many thick u want u can add with filler till timing mark run also can..heee:biggrin::nurse:

yewly1990

Aug 18, 2013
If not mistake u got TIG weld rite?...u. and ur friend like to diy...then try a bit gila2
Tig weld the head if not afraid la...how many thick u want u can add with filler till timing mark run also can..heee:biggrin::nurse:
I` am Afraid.... of it.... lol...

speed2horizon

Jun 4, 2006
mADmAN's right. most of the times it's not the piston or the conrod's fault. It's igntion and airfuel ratio too very rich to burn the rings & melt pistons, or too lean ratio to knock the piston backwards and kick the head off, or lack of engine oil feed to the cylinder, crank journals, main bearings . most of the time. the pistons are just victims. :biggrin:
Lean afr burns the rings and melt the pistons. Not rich. Richer afr will only reduce the combustion temperature.
0.6 only ah? and seldom rev hard? no real need to spend on custom pistons.. stock pistons will hold up well enough... maybe add a thicker or another layer head gasket to bring the compression down abit.

unless u wanna start boosting above 1 bar then yeah, ull definitely need forged pistons.
It's not about how thick. It's about the compreasion ratio that he will achieve.
BTW, boost pressure does not determine the entire set up. 0.6bar on a TD04 and 0.6bar on a TD05 is a completely different League and supply totally differeny flow rate.

---------- Post added at 02:02 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 02:00 AM ----------

Every mm increment of the hed height will affect the compression ratio by alot. Think again.

yewly1990

Aug 18, 2013
Lean afr burns the rings and melt the pistons. Not rich. Richer afr will only reduce the combustion temperature.

It's not about how thick. It's about the compreasion ratio that he will achieve.
BTW, boost pressure does not determine the entire set up. 0.6bar on a TD04 and 0.6bar on a TD05 is a completely different League and supply totally differeny flow rate.

---------- Post added at 02:02 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 02:00 AM ----------

Every mm increment of the hed height will affect the compression ratio by alot. Think again.
Will ignition retard will increase exhaust temperature?

speed2horizon

Jun 4, 2006
Will ignition retard will increase exhaust temperature?
Yes. Because part of the combustion took place outside the engine. If ignition retard too much, engine will feel sluggish. Just like being too rich.

yewly1990

Aug 18, 2013
Yes. Because part of the combustion took place outside the engine. If ignition retard too much, engine will feel sluggish. Just like being too rich.
So only retard too much will causing that problem? Because previous setting ignition retard not enough, and a/f too lean, knocking appear sometimes.
Currently retard more ignition and set richer a/f, no more knocking and more low end torque too, will it causing problem?

speed2horizon

Jun 4, 2006
Low end before boost kicks in, it's ok to run at 14.7 AFR and having slightly advance ign timing. When boost kicks in, u richen the AFR and retard the ign timing. U know ur tuning is ok if ur plugs are brown. If it's black, it over rich. If it's clean and white, u know it's over lean.

yewly1990

Aug 18, 2013
Low end before boost kicks in, it's ok to run at 14.7 AFR and having slightly advance ign timing. When boost kicks in, u richen the AFR and retard the ign timing. U know ur tuning is ok if ur plugs are brown. If it's black, it over rich. If it's clean and white, u know it's over lean.
Oh... so I actually need to wait certain time to check it? About a week of usage, or?

speed2horizon

Jun 4, 2006
One indication of lean out during low RPM is the car will jerk uncomfortably... right after tune should be ok. If it's already tuned, then just check lor. The tuning won't simply lari.

1st time:
About a year ago, he parked it right opposite of his mother's apartment guardhouse. According to the guards, their view were obstructed when a van parked side by side with my cousin's GTi. When the van moved away, the GTi vanished into thin air just like a David Copperfield magic trick.

It seems that my cousin was a victim of a syndicate that goes around stealing the hatch lock of GTi and making a key from it. Then they replace it back hoping the owner didn't notice it was...