87mm vg30 piston + 4D68 94mm crank + stock evo conrod, bolehkah?

jinkl

May 22, 2004
Hi all,

Anyone tested the above setup?
Is this the way for makin 2.2L?
What about 4D68 crank with stock evo piston n rod?
Please help.
4d68 crank + evo pistons + rod
ur pistons will be out of the engine block

u would need shorter pistons

11000RPM

Feb 24, 2004
Hi jinkl,

vg30 piston is a shorter piston but i'm not sure anyone tried this b4?
Anyone have vg30 piston specs. I only know the pin size is the same.

yopo

Jan 28, 2006
dear 11 000 rpm..

the combo that u posted were the usual combination used in the lower budget of 2.2L stroker kit..
and it's not a secret anymore on how to make a replacement of ur cc (unless u're willing to go for an ultra expensive aftermarket stroker kits..) :love:
perhaps it's pnp in the evo's block i assume..

what jin meant by using an evo piston in the combo will eventually push the piston out of the block
why not using the thicker 68 conrod as compared with the fragile evo's conrod..

that would be betta actually..

11000RPM

Feb 24, 2004
Thanks Bro Yopo,

4d68 conrod is thicker than evo?
that's great!

BTW, what's the metal gasket thickness required for the setup?
Thanks.

yopo

Jan 28, 2006
Thanks Bro Yopo,

4d68 conrod is thicker than evo?
that's great!

BTW, what's the metal gasket thickness required for the setup?
Thanks.
i'm using a 1.8mm thickness metal gasket as my comp with the same mention combo is quite high..that's why i'm tryin to counter it
so high boost application and red line rpm's revs amongst the "taboo" for me..just once in a blue moon

why not using a minimum 1.5mm metal gasket at least..

playing with this combo will force you to "gain some but loose some" at the end of the day..good luck :love:

yopo

Jan 28, 2006
there are cometics and tomei with original 87mm bore size metal gasket..
each one suits your budget accordingly...:love:

goo_61t

Nov 13, 2007
there are cometics and tomei with original 87mm bore size metal gasket..
each one suits your budget accordingly...:love:

go for cometic lerr cheaper then tomei :)

gud luck with ur build 11000RPM.

norick

Mar 28, 2006
hi Goo.. Thanks for ur useful info on phone just now..
Now ill try this 2.2 combo, 87mm VG piston + 4D68 crank + H-Beam Rod(Evo Std size)..

Whats the safe hp zone for max? still below 450? or max 500 ?
For ur ref, others parts is :
- Haltech E6X
- GT30 Ball Bearing
- Jun type Intake + S90 Big throttle
- Port & Polish head
- SARD 850cc Inj
- Walbro fuel pump
- 3in outlet till muffler

What the ideal boost level to set?

4.3 secs / 340ps / 500nm / 3L straight 6 twin scroll single turbo / 8 speed /automatic / RM568K.

Engine
Power is a major highlight of the GR Supra. Default 340ps figure is very decent by most standards, but it feels more than that in reality. It’s not just about the phenomenal acceleration either, but the delivery part of it.

It feels meaty, lag-less, linear, never ending and uncanny at supplying that 500nm worth of torque through the rear tyres, right on...