Typical timing for street cars at Sepang SIC

jamesweh

Dec 10, 2005
I am still doing 2.50 on Goodyear RS Tyres. Getting slightly better, at least now, I am braking at 150 -100 meter mark where else in the past I was braking at 220 meters. Turn 5 & 6, I still cannot go above 130KMH and just before Turn 11, sometimes I brake before the corner as I am still quite scared of the roll over steer. But on a good day, I could do under 2.50 on a WRX with 6 Pot Brakes.

subcon

Apr 28, 2005
Turn 5
talking about timing do we hv time attack event from Malaysia?? as I see the SG boys hv this event... sure like to see this kind of event exp for the street cars group.
its a good idea indeed! maybe ZTH would like to collaborate with SIC to organize such event? i would love to join under street car category!

blue.taxi

Nov 27, 2006
then we will see all the fast street cars in SIC.... damn soik leh!!!

tony5050

just met a few event organisers yesterday and i heard some planning on the time attack events with the conjunction with the Sepang drag. Still, cost is their main concern.

james,

me too, Turn 5 & 6 is still a 4th gear for my Evo with Goodyear RS <130km/h. Tried couple of times with 5th ended up fast in turn 5 but messy out turn 6...:banghead:

eater_eg6

Feb 15, 2004
east coast
www.geocities.com
try to do the unofficial timing while last open trackday , 1-2-09 ... eg6 wif b18 , bfg g-force sport 2.48 . i think still got a space to improve the timing.. :) mme track car 1.6 can do 2.33-2.40 ? damn fast ... its impossible for our street car to fight those track car lor ?? i saw one white crx tat day..damn fast.. :P

aalto

Dec 31, 2004
EG6 standard 1.6 AUTO with occupant, got around 3:05......hehe.....damn slow!

tecque

Jun 29, 2005
sbn
Mine 1.6+manual got around 3.05s also(aalto u consider fast)...im still noob... hopefully can break below3.00s nex track day

aalto

Dec 31, 2004
Mine 1.6+manual got around 3.05s also(aalto u consider fast)...im still noob... hopefully can break below3.00s nex track day
With a little bit of practice, no problem for your eg 1.6 manual(its an eg right?) to get below around 2:55-3:00 mins. Make sure using good tires though, what tires were u using?....i was using advan neova

tecque

Jun 29, 2005
sbn
Im EK-hatc using Ad07...strut bars, lower arm tie bars, front ek9 arb, rear ek4 arb.. The last track day i went was hari raya haji(raining day) i got 3.20s...:slug:
i will upgrade to Tein, adj front camber and more bars by nex track day... Below 3.00s will happy...

eater_eg6

Feb 15, 2004
east coast
www.geocities.com
Im EK-hatc using Ad07...strut bars, lower arm tie bars, front ek9 arb, rear ek4 arb.. The last track day i went was hari raya haji(raining day) i got 3.20s...:slug:
i will upgrade to Tein, adj front camber and more bars by nex track day... Below 3.00s will happy...
its possible to hit below 3.00s ... good luck.. :)

aalto

Dec 31, 2004

If you want to get the best out of your suspension, i suggest you change all your bushings to polyuthrane one.....damn syiok!...

tecque

Jun 29, 2005
sbn
Yaya... i was thinking it too.... u done it? can suggest any place tat provide good workmanship and reasonable price???

By the way, could anyone share wat the best tyre pressure for front and rear in track? (hot day and raining day)

eater_eg6

Feb 15, 2004
east coast
www.geocities.com
Hardrace hard rubber bushing is the good choice ... :) got hard rubber n pillowball .. :) im using it , after install it u can really feel the diffrence .. :) superb handling.. :) u can try to call 012-2384627 (JOE) .

jamesweh

Dec 10, 2005
Hi, just my 2 cents worth, just get your lines correct in Sepang and you can easily beat the 3 minute barrier. You don't need to spend a lot of money in terms of suspension, bushes or even tyres.
In the last 2 years, I have improve but I am still learning. Kind of reach a level where I need professional help to improve on my time of 2.50.
For example, on Turn 5 & 6, I am struggling on 4th gear, at 130kmh.
But I just had a chit chat with a regular MME driver and he told me with a Satria 1.8 GTI (Race Car) on slicks, he can hit at a peak 150KMH at Turn 5 & 6.
I have loads of understeer going in to Turn 5 & 6 and coming out.
I definitely got the wrong line.

faisal

Oct 20, 2004
The Valley
ignition.my
Biggest gains an expert driver over a novice has is mostly, under braking & cornering speed. Most Novice will lack the experince to brake late enough, hence holding the speeds for longer. Then there's cornering speed, which affects the speed of the following corner.

Sub 3'00 mins times in a 1600cc street car is easy to gain if braking points, cornering speeed & correct racing lines are adhered to.

So, mod the driver first, before mod the car.:proud: