Time to replace clutch?

m|ng

May 13, 2006
Hi Mates,

Lately, my humble AE101 has trouble engaging gears. Especially Neutral to first, First to Second, and Reverse.

For N->1st and 1st->2nd, I can feel like there's a 'kickback' from the stick. Its not exactly smooth and you will feel like there's something tight to hold you back. you gotta push a little harder to get it into gear (gosh, sounds like some porn scene)

And as for Reverse, Usually (about 60% of the time) it will end up with a "Crack" sound. Those you get when the clutch is not fully depressed. But my clutch is fully depressed. I noticed it will happen especially in the mornings or when the weather is cold.

I checked my clutch and there's no slippage but I can hear some sound (like chattering) sometimes when the car is idling. So I'm suspecting my clutch is wearing out. My car is 17 years this year and it hasn't been for a clutch change.

chinozie

Very Young Member... :D
Jul 5, 2004
Damansara
4age20v.blogsome.com
17 years without changing...wow...that's a record for me... :D

have you changed the gearbox oil between service time ?

TRD.AE92

Apr 10, 2009
he broke my mum record too... My mum only have 10 year no replace the clutch... But he is 17 year... how the drive the car?

m|ng

May 13, 2006
Haahaha. Well I take it I have a very very though clutch. Maybe it went for Gym :rofl:
Yea Have changed gearbox oil as well.

Altho I think my dad (previous owner) changed something in the clutch. Probably its the spring or something. Definitely not the clutch plate.

kowkl

Nov 26, 2003
having difficulty in engaging yr gear not necessary that yr clutch is due for change. Try changing gear oil. I had similar problems like yours but was solved when gear oil was changed.

corona_ice

Apr 19, 2006
sunway city
buddy, my suggestion is take to the mechanic and get it checked... i ran like that for a few years than, one fine morning after driving to penang from kl, the clutch bearing broke...car won't even climb up hill! imagine stuck sumwhere u don't know plus it breaks down in the middle of the morning at 4am! happened to me! learnt my lesson!

banzai

Nov 21, 2003
KL \ Ipoh
Chin.....it's those local custom make clutch, 3 or 4 puck, or all rounder, up to you choose type. Cheap & very close to triniti quality, but short lifespan, as I just found out..:)

chinozie

Very Young Member... :D
Jul 5, 2004
Damansara
4age20v.blogsome.com
Chin.....it's those local custom make clutch, 3 or 4 puck, or all rounder, up to you choose type. Cheap & very close to triniti quality, but short lifespan, as I just found out..:)
yaa I know...used that before... :D
Pendekar also kena...

m|ng

May 13, 2006
HOw much would a clutch replacement cost?
Any idea? Not anything performance. just the Original spec

banzai

Nov 21, 2003
KL \ Ipoh
chin..tat makes 3 of us...:)
m|ng : ori clutch (Aisin or localised Exedy) cost only 300 plus. but labor will be in the region of 80 to 100 la.

caleb_5375

Jul 21, 2007
hard to engage gear u got few problems u need to check.. first clutch pump condition. got leak or not..no leak maybe ur o-ring inside the pump is worn..and the same time check for pump cylinder side wall for worn out..with this problems ur pump cna generate enough pressure to press the pressure plate...2nd pressure plate and clutch it is good condition....3rd ur synchronizer for ur 1st and 2nd gear..

Any1 has face this problem b4?? i hav send ti tyre shop to check my tyre twice & couldn't find where it leak??? after few days i pump my tyre... it flat again??? kind of fed-up already??
any1 can help???