The MOST useful engine oil for EVO

ahlim13

Oct 9, 2006
well..no doubt that tomorrow I'm going to change it from lucas 20-50 to motul 300v 15-50...owh wait...should i take 15-50 or 10-40?
that time i ask my mech with same question..

his evo8 prefer use 10-40... suggest i dont need 15-50.. it's benefit for track or endurance race.. tahan high temp..but feel heavy bit and little less fuel mileage compare to 10-40..

and he just got 2x 2litre pack ready stock and add his previous left over..
ngam ngam enough :)

i heard now shd have selling 5 liter pack

JayDM

Mar 2, 2006
^^ Your mechanic is somewhat right. 10W40 will do.
Basically thicker oils are for handling higher temperatures.

dawg

Nov 29, 2003
dawgsevo.blogspot.com
Using Torco SR-1 20/50
About RM67 / litre, we use around 4.5litres (5bottles @ RM335)
Oil filter RM35 (Mitsubishi)

That the basic oil change maintenance every 5,000km - 7,000km.

nightwatchman

Dec 21, 2008
I'm running mobil 1 15w 30 on my e10 now.. recommended by mitsu.. not sure what recommended for e9 since its different engine..

pangyau

Oct 17, 2009
Most branded fluids are good for the ride.
If talk about Motul itself, is very competitive product in the market.
Due to several viscosity & other type of fluids could reach.

Viscosity depends on the engine spec & driving.
Myself using 5W-40 if the ride drive by family member in town ride.
Or 10W-40 for long distance ride....
If Spirited ride for the whole day I will use 15W-50...
Most of the time I stay on 10W-40 due to use only long distance & smooth journey.

For those are modded especially internal part...
Normally they will use 15W-50 or higher.
While on thicker viscosity it need longer time to warm up the engine.

Check your Engine Oil Temp from time to time if the fluids suitable for your driving or not.

I use MOTUL for almost everything except AYC fluids stick on Diaqueen...

ilario

Oct 2, 2011
well..thx guys for very good infos. am using 15-50 motul v300...very light engine i can feel compared to lucas 20-50..but oil tempt is at 110deg while running at 200km/h....anyway I CAN FEEL DIFFERENT!:smokin:

---------- Post added at 05:56 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 05:55 PM ----------

am suing vagpower for oil filter..got it at rm60....they say its good..is it?:confused:

pengyu

Sep 28, 2006
im using motul 6100 10w40 for normal daily use, or change to 300V for track days.

so far, those two are the best oil so far for my car..tried Sumo R1, Q8 before..temperature wise better with Motul for my car.

lanuncyber

Nov 1, 2006
how about Eneos 10w-40? i dare not to pour thicker oil as the manual stated 4g63 runs fine with 5w30 or 10w40.

lanevo6

Sep 29, 2004
jb-melaka
how about Eneos 10w-40? i dare not to pour thicker oil as the manual stated 4g63 runs fine with 5w30 or 10w40.
5W 40 i m using
10W 40 is ok. Not too thick for daily driving. Do used the search function as we already discuss this few times in this forum

Hi there,

new to this thread...by the way...been recommended by some shops to have aftermarket hood locks added to prevent thieves from popping the car hood with just a tug of the hood release cable....

here's my questions...

are there specific brands for it?
how much does it usually cost?
issit really full-proof that the hood cannot be open without releasing the lock?

kindly enlighten me..thanks