The Best First Mod for Passenger Cars

Hmm it comes back to how you drive actually, can be both I think. If you often corner hard & fast then it will eat up tires fast also. Furthermore if you use high performance tires compared to low-mid level ones, the tread wear is also much lower hence even if you drive it the same way, the tires will still finish faster.
Road condition, weather, long distance play a part too

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
Road condition, weather, long distance play a part too
Of course those too, but I meant assuming they're similar but just different driving style (need to brake more vs corner faster/harder) and different tires (low-mid level vs high performance ones).

Yup, of course. Driving style, saw on fb Ivan Khong rear tyre in his S2000 not worn off but can say scrub off......:driver:

Let me see can copy his picture to here...yup, here......

Well, my floating style seems to be very gentle on my brake pads and tyres. LOL. Boat ma, just float all over. Don't want to grip the road with an aggressive racing line, roll and flip my boat. But I need good seats to hold me in place else I'd get sea sick and puke all over.

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
Yup, of course. Driving style, saw on fb Ivan Khong rear tyre in his S2000 not worn off but can say scrub off......:driver:

Let me see can copy his picture to here...yup, here......
S2000 often drifts I suppose, tricky handling car I heard, especially the earlier versions.

For me, the obvious example is just my Livina. I drove it for the first 20k km or so before I bought my X, then after that the wife has driven it for over 30k km now. The difference in tire wear is quite obvious where when I drove it, the tire wear was more compared to her despite her already driving the car with more mileage than me now! Obviously she brakes a lot more than me and corners a lot slower. Now the tires are already like 5yrs old (55k km) but still the treads are pretty thick, like 50%! :biggrin:

S2000 often drifts I suppose, tricky handling car I heard, especially the earlier versions.

For me, the obvious example is just my Livina. I drove it for the first 20k km or so before I bought my X, then after that the wife has driven it for over 30k km now. The difference in tire wear is quite obvious where when I drove it, the tire wear was more compared to her despite her already driving the car with more mileage than me now! Obviously she brakes a lot more than me and corners a lot slower. Now the tires are already like 5yrs old (55k km) but still the treads are pretty thick, like 50%! :biggrin:
5 years better check visually. Compound could have harden and may have fine crack lines. Maybe need a tyre change dy.....lol

that's exactly what happened to me and my old car with tyres that old and that much thread. Went on highway back to Johor and BANG it exploded on the highway. Be careful bro. These modern tyre rubber compounds were never meant to last that long. The galvanization process these days extremely accelerated with catalyst so tyres can be used on the road faster. The old days tyres were bought, kept for a year in the garage before being installed.

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
5 years better check visually. Compound could have harden and may have fine crack lines. Maybe need a tyre change dy.....lol
that's exactly what happened to me and my old car with tyres that old and that much thread. Went on highway back to Johor and BANG it exploded on the highway. Be careful bro. These modern tyre rubber compounds were never meant to last that long. The galvanization process these days extremely accelerated with catalyst so tyres can be used on the road faster. The old days tyres were bought, kept for a year in the garage before being installed.
Yeah I know. Still look reasonable though. Probably I'll change sometime later this year. The car is used only for short-medium distances (<15km per trip) and no chance to reach highway speeds coz always going thru lots of traffic.

advanti storm series rims. 15" is 4.6kg each, 17" is 6kg each. Lightweight
why suddenly talk about rims? you mabuk ah...

"The best first mod for passenger car" , my opinion is first thing change rims to lightweight rims.

I disagree.

Original RPF1 with ling long tires? You'll end up in a ditch.

bros,
considering of converting my 4G13P to GSR...
however, i dont know of runners to do the following with JPJ..
anyone has done it before can advice and recommend??
i understand that's it'll cost a large amount of "kopi" money...around 1.3K+ is it true??
thanks ahead..