Test Drive for the 2007 new Mitsu Lancer!!

leslie

Aug 14, 2004
you guys can still go and test drive the new lancer... at any show room..

alxand

Jul 28, 2005
yeah all showroom is open, just make sure go eon auto mart, hehe
anyway... thansk for the support guys... my car's ready in 5 days, now need get money ready, whocan borrow me, haha

alxand

Jul 28, 2005
YALAH!!! i just remembered Lancerevory was sitting in the car while i was test driving... no wonder i felt the car abit heavy!!!! LOLZ!!
erm... iwas behind also... so tat adds up...

leslie

Aug 14, 2004
alxand,
once you get your ride sure to ring us a bell!! hehehe
hope to have you on board!

cheers!

johnnygsr

Dec 24, 2005
Alxand.. Nice to hear u getting ur New Lancer next week. Hope to see u in our commig TT soon. :driver:

alxand

Jul 28, 2005
once i got mine u guys will know...
by the way if u guys see a lancer 'GS' with number of WQJ 8128 tat's mine,
spec is GT so dun scratch head, GS is the product code, heehee

Ace

Mar 2, 2005
I happen to jump in into this forum. Might as well copy my test report from another to here since there is little report here.

Just test drive last night. Thought of putting in some report.

Looks and build quality.
I must salute to Japanese QC. As there isn`t any flaw I can find in the
cabin area as all are well fitted nicely. Exterior fitments are well
assembled. The car does looks different then photo. Much nicer. I quite
agreed with SLMERC on this section. The spoiler isn`t that bad as you can
still see the traffic via the rear view mirror. Althought it will take
some time to get used to it.

The napa leather seat and position is very very comfort. I was enjoying
driving all the while.

Performance, ride and handling, NVH. (test drove with 3 adults in car
including me)
The car handle the road really well as I blasted throught the road. The
turning is very sharp with very quite respond to you. The ride is firm
more on the hard side, but don`t get me wrong as if the car is hard like
those car shoved with sports coil over. It still able to give you comfort
ride when you cruising around town.

The power of the car is amazing. I drove 1.8 civic before and I know that
the civic will give initial blast of speed on stand still but pretty lag
during the mid and top accelaration. (That wasn`t my prefered setup). The
Lancer was different as mitshubishi enginner tune it such that the power
delivery on the mid and top end is good. You can feel the accelaration is
getting faster and faster as you go. Initial speed from stand still will
incur some slight lag before the power comes. All this was done while
on "D". Which I think was very suitable for ladies driver as this give
them more assurance of not worrying the car will surge forward.

Now here comes the fun part. Paddle shift! Is was a totally difference
exprience once you engage the paddle shift mode as the ecu will sense it
by just pulling the paddle on the left to downshift (this will give you
intance respond)or pull the paddle on the right for 1 second. This will
prepare your car on paddle shift mode. The accelaration on sports mode is
really fun. The simulation of 6 speed was very real. The power delivery
is fast right from the "1" gear. The downshift was fun as the car will
respond pretty quick preparing you for accelaration. This is really
adrenaline pumping. I managed to hit 140KM/H before runing out of road.
The brake was very very impressive. bring down the car from high speed is
just a matter of seconds. The SA was struggling behind when I did the
brake test from 120KM/H. hehe feel sorry for him.

The cabin was very silent even when the car hit 120Km/h. I hardly can
hear the engine noise during traffic junction when the car is idle. the
exhaust
note was very evident. I did solve one of the problem mentioned by some
forummer where he said there is some tin can noise alike. It is actually
vibration from the exhaust tip hitting the tip decorator. (I found out is
was just installed with 2 screw against the exhaust tip. Removing it will
solved the "tin" sound problem). As for the engine, the sound is music to
me. When the mivec is engaging you could hear the roar which pump your
heart even faster. Exhaust note is pretty loud during the full
accelaration. I discover it was the boot that need some insulation
property like those Dynamatt coupled with wool carpet will solved it. I
found that the only insulation from the car is just a thin carpet. Must
be Mitshubishi R&D engineer trying too hard to reduce the weight.

I impressed with the handling as it handle high speed very well. With
hard braking in and then full accelaration in the process, the car didn`t
jitter or vibrate at all. the body of the car is very stiff and strong.
During full braking the car hardly sway or vibrate. Thumbs up for the
Mitshubishi R&D.

Well, this sums up my report for the Lancer GT test drive. I`m really
satisfied with the car and because of this I handover my booking fee to
my SA

leslie

Aug 14, 2004
ace,
nice review!!! so when your ride coming out?

Ace

Mar 2, 2005
leslie,
The SA told me next month. But I doubt it. Anyway, I wasn't in a rush as I need time to clear and transfer my current car first. So I'm guessing it will be 3 months time. Which is NOV.

leslie

Aug 14, 2004
b18c-r,
hahahahaa... coz you our super star mah!!! hehehe

alxand

Jul 28, 2005
haha cause he got the VETO power n nuke power...

alxand

Jul 28, 2005
test drive session over this weekend at SSTWO parking...

Having question, which alot people said that open pod was`t suitable on automatic transmission.
I have few numbers of friends installed open pod on their automatic myvi, vios, persona, accord, civic and 350z also having good result on performance increase.
Another weird answer from a friend with 350z roadster is better fuel consume after installing a long ram open pod + CAI with heat shield cover.

I`m currently going to do a short ram intake with heat shield cover for my 1.5l automatic...