Super Car Challenge @ Sepang

savahn

Feb 16, 2007
So, apparently Wira Dani Daim is leading the pack with a lap time of 1.06.

Following second is Peter Hill in an 3-rotor Fc3s, lap time 1.08

The defending champ is in third place driving a Porsche GT3, also 1.08

I have a few questions:
1. Under what homologation rules is that supercar challenge?
Wira Dani is driving a Radical SR3 which is truly ... radical.

The other cars on the track are track or heavily modified versions of real existing road going, road legal vehicles.

Pardon but with that Radical, I feel that Wira Dani is no wira. You might as well put the rest of the field in Audi R10 LeMan cars or get Peter Hill to field a 787.

2. Why is the Porsche GT3 such a staple at Sepang races when they dont seem to win the high profile races rather settling for class wins against other GT3s?

3. Where are the Ferraris?

Pardon, Porsches are cool and fast and all that but they are ugly to me.

Maybe a Corvette C6 or Aston Martin? That would be cool too.

Here's to Peter Hill and rotary power! May the Porsche's eat his dust.

Alchemis

Dec 13, 2005
interesting question... but duno how to answer you.. ask the team director than you'll know the answer :)

who's the wira Dani Daim guy ?

theseira

Oct 18, 2006
I don't think Porches are ugly........that's why they're still around even from the first model. Btw....who is this Wira dude like Alchemis said????:burnout:

Lennon

Apr 11, 2005
Your guys hate Porsche, but i like it..... But i also like Ferrari....

Ferrari doesn't have money to mass produced a fleet of race cars..... Who dare to race a car where parts are hard to aquire and expensive...... But Porsche got plenty and cheaper...

Porsche is a very successful company, their profit dwarf Ferrari, but of course Ferrari always maintain their prestigious reputation...

Alchemis

Dec 13, 2005
they do produce good car... that's the fact... but i can't afford it.. so i don't like it :P bwahahhaha

in term of technology they are just marvelous.. especially porsche's technology of doing almost impossible thing to be come possible (rear engine rear driven yet good handling) ahahhaha

Alchemis

Dec 13, 2005
tun daim... duno who's that.. :) probably another rich dude that has plenty of money to be spent on racing team.

savahn

Feb 16, 2007
I respect Porsche, not hate it. Its just ugly, IMHO.

In our local motorsports, a few names crop up regularly - Tengku Djan, Wira Dani, Karamjit Singh, Jimmy Low, etc.

Peter Hill's had a strong showing the past few years in his FC, just he isnt Malaysian. He outpaced an Evo 7 last year, slowing down only because of rain but when it dried up, he caught up and outpaced it again.

Lennon

Apr 11, 2005
Not too forget Eddie Lew..... So far his one of the best....

Lennon

Apr 11, 2005
Although Peter Hills car is not as quick as RE's GT300...... It's still dominate here.....

savahn

Feb 16, 2007
wah lau, Lennon. Compare against GT300 some more? I havent seen the laptimes for Super GT cars and am somewhat confused with laps times of the events with several classes participating - when they have multiple class grades reporting times too close to make sense.

RE GT300... you mean this one?

hahaha, godlike 20B.

Lennon

Apr 11, 2005
Not until that level..... Since peter uses 20B, next thing i can find closely related is RE's car....

Alchemis

Dec 13, 2005
ahhh ex finance minister's son.. no wonder so loaded la....
my bad... blame myself not reading newspaper often :)