starting the car

TRDtezza

Known Member
Oct 15, 2009
Sabah
tezza owners.

I'm just wondering , how long does everyone takes to start their cars ? 1secs or up to 4 secs like mine ? I'm used to my other cars which just needs one spin of the crank... My tezza seems to need atleast 4 cranks before it starts..(i hope i put it in a understandable way) . I'm new to my car...Its normal for a rs200 to start like this ?

jasonchee98

Known Member
Apr 23, 2009
hmm... is it the battery weak? have u check on battery? so far (*touch wood), mine is ok.

wfhan

4,000 RPM
Jan 9, 2004
selangor
mine so far (*touch wood also) starts with 1 crank.

check battery, check also if MAF sensor dirty.

Greytezza

1,000 RPM
Feb 6, 2007
Truly Asia
Normally we will only need 1 crank to start the car. No matter if it is in the morning or afternoon. I would suggest that you have the MAF sensor and the Throttle body clean before you try other things.
In the case of a weak battery, it would either start or not turn over at all. That is what I have experience before.
Other possible cause could be the fuel pump or the fuel line.....

Hope this helps.

coriolis

Known Member
Jul 9, 2008
Shouldn't take up to 4 secs. It's like other bros said, do the below in order:

1) Check battery
2) Clean MAF/Throttle Body

If not, have to do the below already (workshop maybe?)
3) Starter
4) Fuel pump/line

rakesh_v6

Mar 31, 2006
KL
sorry i would like to ask a question.what is MAF actually ?

much appreciated

coriolis

Known Member
Jul 9, 2008
Mass Air Flow sensor.. I think there's a thread or two about it in here last time. Look it up.

wfhan

4,000 RPM
Jan 9, 2004
selangor
want to ask, what solvent/cleaner to use for cleaning throttle body ?

i hv a can of contact cleaner which i use to clean MAF sensor, am thinking is it ok to use the same to clean throttle body ?

Greytezza

1,000 RPM
Feb 6, 2007
Truly Asia