Problems With 4G93 Eterna

boyzone

Mar 13, 2005
That simple, what do u think if we reduce GTI/R3 compressor ratio to 9.5:1?
Are they able to hit 140ps as well?

satria81

Sep 19, 2005
PETALING JAYA
bro,

1)what do u think?will the compression be higher if only i change it to the ori putra/gti pistons?

2)Btw,I do suffer from lost black oil,very noticeable esp after running new oil change for like 3000kms...anyone else having this problem?

u are right.The piston is real flat like gsr piston.The compression also low.I make this comparison between 4g93 e52 and 4g93p:

I get this spec from my surf for 4g93p(r3).This is the difference:
4g93p
POWERTRAIN
ENGINE 4G93P 4-cylinder 16 valve
MAXIMUM POWER
R3- Max output 105kW/140bhp @ 6100rpm
Gti- Max. output 139.9 PS (138.0 bhp) (102.9 kW)@6000 rpm
Eterna- Max output 102.97kW/140ps(138.23hp) @ 6500rpm

MAXIMUM TORQUE
R3- 168 Nm @5600rpm
GTi- 164.0 Nm (121 lbft) (16.7 kgm)@5500 rpm
MITSUBISHI- 166.71 Nm @5000 rpm

Compression ratio
GTi- 10.5:1
Eterna - 9.5:1

TRANSMISSION
5-speed manual

GTi and r3 produce higher bhp in lower rpm.The torque for r3 and gti at higher rpm. So from this spec sheet,what the conclusion? Can ppl or sifu give conclusion?I can see the compression ratio of eterna 4g93 is lower .Thats why it produce slower response than 4g93p.But for high rpm it still can give maximum output like 4g93p.If i am wrong plz correct me.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

GTpuI

Apr 18, 2006
bro,

1)what do u think?will the compression be higher if only i change it to the ori putra/gti pistons?

2)Btw,I do suffer from lost black oil,very noticeable esp after running new oil change for like 3000kms...anyone else having this problem?
I suggest change to mivec piston, gti/putra wiring and ecu, change the gearbox final ratio for better pick up. Before this my engine overheating cause radiator leaking.My wife not aware it until that engine knocking and smoke.Fortunately no engine problem or any internal engine parts damage .Only the gasket got leaking.Just change the gasket and everything is ok.If your lubricants oil reduce, better change all the gasket (overhaul gasket) cost u around rm270 for one set (made in japan) if got leaking.If no leaking but white smoke come out from exhaust, better u make the top overhaul coz your engine "makan minyak hitam" already.

GTpuI

Apr 18, 2006
hehehe just did my overhaul...
eat engine oil a bit...
looks like faulty/old valve seal..
bought the top set consist of valve seal, gaskets cost me RM550.......
why so expensive? rm550 with over haul service charge or just topset gasket? Are u using metal head gasket?

malyadayada

Oct 28, 2004
just the top gasket everything is original....
took me some time to source out the parts.........
the valve seal much more better than Top Gasket quoted with RM 380....
did wanted to use metal gasket n the foreman gave me an idea of using copper gasket BUT the machine shop can customize the copper gasket is at johor n cost RM1000 :8

actually there is 3 range of top gasket with different prices
RM280, RM380 Rm550......
all of em different quality

GTpuI

Apr 18, 2006
Maybe different prize in different place.Where u buy it? I buy at Johore. I buy all the original mmc item japan made worth rm280 for overhaul gasket(include gearbox, oil sump gasket,etc).I dont know if i been cheated if the parts is immitation.But all the parts have a hologram and bar code mmc genuine parts.

spors

Aug 14, 2006
I am using this engine 4G93 DOHC NA on a CB Lancer and matched with a tranny from my old 4G13 engine...ECU is MMC 6123 ..I am not sure from what mitsu is this engine and ecu...

I am having no problem with the engine...it runs well and is fuel effecient, even better in fuel consumption (when used with 4G91 ECU 5660) compare to my old carb 4G13...but idle is erratic with 5669 ECU...

When I use 6123 ECU, fuel is little higher but almost neglegible. Idle is good and consistent too even with the AC on...power and torque are good, though i do not race this engine...

hi every sifu,

my bro car wira VDO manual, when the car is at low speed 10~20km/h
shifting to 2nd gear, and press accelerator, the car sometimes will jerk jerk a bit only can accelerate.
do you guys encounter this kind of problem before?
what is the thing causing it?

thanks.