NST - Import Tax upped to protect Proton

Mandrake

Jun 19, 2005
www.benjaminwang.com
:mad: Car prices for Kia, Chevrolet, Hyundai, Chery, Fiat and Mahindra Scorpio. all going up next week. All to protect Proton.

http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Saturday/Frontpage/20050723074103/Article/indexb_html

The Government has moved to come down hard on importers who under-declare the value of imported vehicles.

Spot The Diff Contest From today, the Customs and Excise Department is imposing a Profit and General Expenses charge of between 30 per cent and 38 per cent on 34 models of six makes which the Government believes had been under-declared in the past.

The six brands are Kia, Chevrolet, Hyundai, Chery, Fiat and Mahindra Scorpio.

The decision to levy a charge on these vehicles was reached at a meeting yesterday between the Finance Ministry and Customs.

Second Finance Minister Tan Sri Nor Mohamed Yakcop, who chaired the meeting which decided on these taxes, said: "This is an ongoing exercise and we will continue to review as we go along.

"We also imposed it last year," he said, when asked if the move was prompted by complaints that sales of

Proton had been affected by the entry of imported cars which had been under-valued.

Meanwhile, Customs director-general Tan Sri Halil Abdul Mutalib said the PGE for vehicles below 1.6 litres will be 30 per cent of the sales price while for cars above 1.6 litres, it will be 38 per cent.

Halil said imposing the PGE according to the capacity of the car was the latest move by the authorities to check the under declaration of the value of vehicles.

The issue was in the news recently when Proton adviser Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad said the import of cheap vehicles had affected sales of the national car.

Zeroed

Shouldnt they also disclose the proof of the under-declaration?

WBH8668

May 28, 2005
Pudu Jail
sheet...bad things already happen...looks like proton need protection for another 20years...pergi mampus la Proton!

PetrolHeaD

Dec 15, 2003
protect this protect that affecting sales of proton blablabla...

assfaced dickbrained fat rich idiots.

never actually analyzed WHY proton's sales are dropping now did they. straight away blame other makes.

looks like most of these fellas get their titles like Dr. and Tan Sri coz of their fucking stupidity.

kwai

Dec 18, 2004
Perak
they should improve them self to increase sales... kutuk org lain won't make them go further....

alexz

Nov 22, 2004
yeah its those proton bigwigs who ran the company to the ground, and now blaming others of its own failure? who are they trying to fool? and now the public has to pay more because of their failure?

hey we really need to kick out all this sorry asses...

BlackSamurai

9,000 RPM
Sep 2, 2004
near 7-11
www.hcc.ne1.net
THANK YOU PROTON.
Thanks for new gift from you. PROTON Supportors (who ask Malaysian to give them a chance, give them more time to improve), do you feel happier now?

I'll show my middle finger to all new Proton owner on the road who still buy Proton after this news release.

To be fair to others Proton owner place their order before this news release, I suggest that the action start at 1 september.

Anyone join me?

Latest Plate number release from JPJ today (23rd, July, 2005)

[font=VERDANA,ARIAL,HELVETICA]Perak[/font] [font=VERDANA,ARIAL,HELVETICA]AFL6316[/font] [font=VERDANA,ARIAL,HELVETICA]
[/font] [font=VERDANA,ARIAL,HELVETICA]BHS7857[/font] [font=VERDANA,ARIAL,HELVETICA]
Pahang
[/font] [font=VERDANA,ARIAL,HELVETICA]CBR9713[/font] [font=VERDANA,ARIAL,HELVETICA]
Pahang
[/font] [font=VERDANA,ARIAL,HELVETICA]CBS102[/font] [font=VERDANA,ARIAL,HELVETICA]
Kelantan
[/font] [font=VERDANA,ARIAL,HELVETICA]DAU5310[/font] [font=VERDANA,ARIAL,HELVETICA]
Johor
[/font] [font=VERDANA,ARIAL,HELVETICA]JJE7748[/font] [font=VERDANA,ARIAL,HELVETICA]
Kedah
[/font] [font=VERDANA,ARIAL,HELVETICA]KBS6589[/font]
[font=VERDANA,ARIAL,HELVETICA]Langkawi[/font] [font=VERDANA,ARIAL,HELVETICA]KV1814C[/font]
[font=VERDANA,ARIAL,HELVETICA]Labuan[/font] [font=VERDANA,ARIAL,HELVETICA]LC1578[/font] [font=VERDANA,ARIAL,HELVETICA]
Melaka
[/font] [font=VERDANA,ARIAL,HELVETICA]MBE7283[/font]
[font=VERDANA,ARIAL,HELVETICA]N Sembilan[/font] [font=VERDANA,ARIAL,HELVETICA]NBQ9801[/font]
[font=VERDANA,ARIAL,HELVETICA]Pulau Pinang[/font] [font=VERDANA,ARIAL,HELVETICA]PGL7622[/font] [font=VERDANA,ARIAL,HELVETICA]
Kuching
[/font] [font=VERDANA,ARIAL,HELVETICA]QAC4783
[/font][font=VERDANA,ARIAL,HELVETICA]Sri Aman[/font] [font=VERDANA,ARIAL,HELVETICA]QBA360[/font] [font=VERDANA,ARIAL,HELVETICA]
K Samarahan
[/font] [font=VERDANA,ARIAL,HELVETICA]QCB6554[/font] [font=VERDANA,ARIAL,HELVETICA]
Limbang
[/font] [font=VERDANA,ARIAL,HELVETICA]QL9307[/font] [font=VERDANA,ARIAL,HELVETICA]
Miri
[/font] [font=VERDANA,ARIAL,HELVETICA]QMJ693[/font] [font=VERDANA,ARIAL,HELVETICA]
Kapit
[/font] [font=VERDANA,ARIAL,HELVETICA]QP3084[/font] [font=VERDANA,ARIAL,HELVETICA]
Sarikei
[/font] [font=VERDANA,ARIAL,HELVETICA]QRC6293[/font] [font=VERDANA,ARIAL,HELVETICA]
Sibu
[/font] [font=VERDANA,ARIAL,HELVETICA]QSL6039[/font] [font=VERDANA,ARIAL,HELVETICA]
Bintulu
[/font] [font=VERDANA,ARIAL,HELVETICA]QTD9043[/font] [font=VERDANA,ARIAL,HELVETICA]
Perlis
[/font] [font=VERDANA,ARIAL,HELVETICA]RF9788[/font] [font=VERDANA,ARIAL,HELVETICA]
Kota Kinabalu
[/font] [font=VERDANA,ARIAL,HELVETICA]SAA6981J[/font] [font=VERDANA,ARIAL,HELVETICA]
Beaufort
[/font] [font=VERDANA,ARIAL,HELVETICA]SB4596A[/font] [font=VERDANA,ARIAL,HELVETICA]
Lahad Datu
[/font] [font=VERDANA,ARIAL,HELVETICA]SD6782C[/font] [font=VERDANA,ARIAL,HELVETICA]
Kudat
[/font] [font=VERDANA,ARIAL,HELVETICA]SK5609[/font] [font=VERDANA,ARIAL,HELVETICA]
Sandakan
[/font] [font=VERDANA,ARIAL,HELVETICA]SS3110J[/font] [font=VERDANA,ARIAL,HELVETICA]
Tawau
[/font] [font=VERDANA,ARIAL,HELVETICA]ST3774J[/font] [font=VERDANA,ARIAL,HELVETICA]
Keningau
[/font] [font=VERDANA,ARIAL,HELVETICA]SU5037A[/font] [font=VERDANA,ARIAL,HELVETICA]
Terengganu
[/font] [font=VERDANA,ARIAL,HELVETICA]TAJ8476[/font] [font=VERDANA,ARIAL,HELVETICA]
[/font] [font=VERDANA,ARIAL,HELVETICA]WNC7234[/font] [font=VERDANA,ARIAL,HELVETICA]
[/font] [font=VERDANA,ARIAL,HELVETICA]WND102[/font]

acbc

Jan 9, 2004
KD
Proton is a FAILURE! Just admit it. Or at least be honest about it. Why bother blaming other makes for their own (without G-man support) success?

boggysv

Sep 7, 2004
alexz said:
hey we really need to kick out all this sorry asses...
Yeah, we need to kick proton's ass till they wake up and start making better cars, but if you really look into the cause of this, it's the big G.

Like a spoilt brat with a over-loving mom who pampers him every time he throws a tantrum.

A few questions we need to ask ourselves, wtf went wrong.

Why did these companies under declare?*
Why would proton shamelessly ask for more protection?
Why wouldnt the G be strict and let proton learnt to be independent?**
Why do I see new audi A6s instead of proton perdanas parked infront of the proton office in glenmarie?:D

*we'll just assume it's true because the G said so, sad, but nothing much could be done
**dont bullshit me about job opportunities or technological advancement.

acbc

Jan 9, 2004
KD
boggysv said:
Why do I see new audi A6s instead of proton perdanas parked infront of the proton office in glenmarie?:D
Probably the top management of Proton have no confidence in their own product. This matter was first brought up by ex-PM on the issue why ministers prefer continental than locally made cars as official government vehicle.

No wonder why Protom failed as a national car project. Even ministers don't trust locally made cars!

BlackSamurai

9,000 RPM
Sep 2, 2004
near 7-11
www.hcc.ne1.net
even the minister do not support Proton, but implement all those stupid law and make the poor people poorer.

one of Rafidah's ride is LEXUS

alexz

Nov 22, 2004
its the ppl in charge of those companies that are sucking their company's resources dry...

just look at MAS, PSC, Perwaja etc... and now its happening to proton...

half a billion spent to develop the savvy? wonder how much is spent on designing the interior and how much of that goes into their pockets...

Mandrake

Jun 19, 2005
www.benjaminwang.com
I think that if you want to buy any of these budget cars, you'd better book now while there's still old stock. Thats what one Hyundai salesman told me at the shopping center.

anyone selling student ap(uk) ? pls pm or leave contact for serious seller , thanks.