Need some advice for 4g93 DOHC

pinkdotdesigns

Mar 7, 2006
To all the sifu's,
I have a 4g93 GTI engine (MMC Ecu). Currently the engine is 100% stock.
I'm planning to perform a few engine moddifications. I need alil advice on the modifications that I'm about to perform.

My idea is;
1) Change the trottlebody to enlarged Mikuni 4g63 Perdana trottlebody.
2) Change the intake manifold to MIVEC intake. (Which is better MIVEC or GSR?)
3) Port match the trottlebody to the intake manifold to the engine head.
4) Full engine job (Port & Polish, 5angle valve job).
5) After market valves, harder valve springs & highcams (billet prefered).
6) Full engine block rebuilt, ACL bearings, fully balanced, blueprinted & lightened.
7) Oversized pistons (increased compression) 82mm. (Whats compression
should I choose, simmiliar to MIVEC or 1.6 SOHC?)
8) Metal gasket, adjustable campuleys & 4-1 extractor with matching straight flow exhaust pipe.
9) Cold Air Induction, Oil Cooler, Better plug cables & plugs.
10) After market ECU. Will a rechip be sufficient? (Any recommendations?)

Any recommendations to modify my ignition system?

Btw I will be changing clutch to those racing type clutch. Can i still reuse the original 4g93 GTI gbox?

Thanks in advance to all the sifus.

Slipknot Fanatic

Jul 3, 2005
HELL
pinkdotdesigns said:
To all the sifu's,
I'm planning to perform a few engine moddifications. I need alil advice on the modifications that I'm about to perform.

My idea is;
6) Full engine block rebuilt, ACL bearings, fully balanced, blueprinted & lightened.
8) Metal gasket, adjustable campuleys & 4-1 extractor with matching straight flow exhaust pipe.

Btw I will be changing clutch to those racing type clutch. Can i still reuse the original 4g93 GTI gbox?

I would suggest an after market ECU because for these kind of modifications a rechip won't make much difference since its still running on the stock ECU. With an after market ECU the tuner can modify the ignition to suit the modifications. Are you planning to use this car for race or street. You can still use your stock gearbox.

pinkdotdesigns

Mar 7, 2006
G-4 said:
u need at least 10k to do that kind of mod....
Bro not to offend you, but I didnt ask how much will it cost. I asked if there are any suggestions. If you dont have any suggestions, I'd really appereciate if you would not pollute my thread.

Thanks.

pinkdotdesigns

Mar 7, 2006
Slipknot Fanatic said:
I would suggest an after market ECU because for these kind of modifications a rechip won't make much difference since its still running on the stock ECU. With an after market ECU the tuner can modify the ignition to suit the modifications. Are you planning to use this car for race or street. You can still use your stock gearbox.
This car will be used for street. Ocasional racing. Btw aftermarket ECU, I dun have to go to the standard of a fully standalone ECU rite? I'm guessing that even Emanage with ignation harness will be sufficient rite?

aarion

Dec 24, 2003
since your are already dumping so much, might as well got for standalone. More flexibility and tuning capabilities.

pinkdotdesigns

Mar 7, 2006
hmmm, any concrete reason why I need standalone? If a piggyback can already do the things I need, why do I need to invest & waste money on a standalone tht serves the same function?

aarion

Dec 24, 2003
if there is not different then they wont canll it standalone and piggyback rite?

V8_nutter

pinkdotdesigns said:
To all the sifu's,

My idea is;

For the ignition i recommend HKS twin power spark amplifier. Suitable and good for 4g93 series. Racing clutch or semi can be use with ori. gbox.

cooljas

Jan 24, 2005
Pinkdotdesigns,

I would suggest u to use the GSR intake manifold as the flow will be better!From wat u have mention above, a piggyback will be sufficient enough unless u r loaded then u can go for a standalone...hope tis helps!Happy Modding!

pinkdotdesigns

Mar 7, 2006
hmmm gsr intake. i cant use those evo3 tbody's rite?

cooljas

Jan 24, 2005
pinkdotdesigns said:
hmmm gsr intake. i cant use those evo3 tbody's rite?
Tis one im not sure, maybe u should ask ur mechanic!As i know using a mivec throttle body should be enough for 4G93P

While researching some TRD stuff, I came across this very unusual TRD part that claims :

New feature – an industry first (patent pending)
Fills the gap in the door striker area using a spacer. This provides quicker steering response by cutting down the delay from when the steering wheel is turned.
The built-in sliding mechanism automatically adjusts the gap to zero.
Designed to be easy to install, yet maintains a strong visual presence.
Well, if it's by TRD it must be...