Maintenance: Motul + Denso Iridium

BlackSamurai

9,000 RPM
Sep 2, 2004
near 7-11
www.hcc.ne1.net
Hi Guys,

Sent my car for normal maintenance, but try new stuff together. :biggrin:
1. Change Engine oil from SHELL to Motul 6100 Semi Synthetic SEA 10W40 (RM130 from Sunway GT Auto)
2. Change BOSCH Power 4 to Denso Iridium IK20 (RM155 from TCTho)
3. Oil filter (Hyundai, RM10 from Mr.Lee)

Denso Iridium IK20

Motul

Take out the cover

Sorry, quite dirty, didn't clean it lately.

Bad news, 2nd plug, water go in, rusted, need to change Valve Gasket
Good news, initial stage, no damage to the engine, other plug still in good condition

Replace with these!! Each individual plug comes with separate packaging and plastic cover.

Testing today, smoother engine run, like the feeling of smooth run, very happy with the outcome. :biggrin:

Special thanks to Darren, provide me the contact of Motul Asia Pacific Distribution Number, voice of the operator ("Kiko") very nice and sweet. Willing to help you to dig out all info, wonder whether she is still single. :biggrin:

PS: While I'm in the workshop, James SMS me about the black GK..........

Next Spark Plug Change = 160,000KM

Ace

Mar 2, 2005
BS,
iridium can last very long. But it is still advisable to take it out inspect and clean it on every service. Also, why you didn't use Motul 300V ? this range is power man..

dartango

Jun 5, 2006
BS, I will get Motul 10W40 in 2-3 weeks time. Got quotation for RM126 from another Motul reseller in Cheras (1 Tiburon 2.0 is servicing his car there). Those who need a contact there, PM me.

BS, you really funny man...looks like u like the voice of Kiko... some more you broadcast in this forum...not scared ur gf reads this message ah....

Next round change to Iridium IK22 lar (according to HMS, much more power & withstand higher heat range). I think you got the IK20 cheaper than mine (RM166 from HMS). Can you PM me the contact for Iridium?

Ace, Motul 300V manyak mahal wor... around RM270... I don't travel much and there is a lifespan to it... I was told Motul 300V shud be able to last btwn 8,000 - 10,000km or sometimes can extend to 15,000km... Not sure of the lifespan, Is it 6 months??

Yu911

Aug 17, 2006
www.cardomain.com
Wah, Oil filter from Mr. Lee, Denso Iridium spark Plug from TCTho (where is this?) & Motul oil from GT Auto, & where u change ur oil? so many places ah! I saw sata tools.
I think is the spark plug cable that water goes in.

Ace

Mar 2, 2005
dartango,
I know its a bit expensive but hey...it gives you all the power you want from your engine. hehe

BS,
mine put the contact and infor for the denso in this tread? looks like you got all the good offer.

dartango

Jun 5, 2006
Yu, the higher the IK number means higher heat range supported. I am using IK20 for 2-3 months already. No split fire or what so ever & HMS is using IK22 on his Elantra (Beta-I engine, same as Tiburon, Turbulence).

Ace, I don't think I can crank up much more from auto-transmission. However, if 300V can last 6 - 9 months & 10,000-12,000km without change, then I can consider... any idea on the lifespan???

Petrol with addictives does boost a bit more (Petronas Primax-3 is not consistent in putting the addictives, this week my car feel lembik compared to last week...)

Daniel Lee

Apr 21, 2005
BS,
James know the owner of the black Tuscani?
Kind of interested with the iridium spark plugs.
Can share the contact and location to get the spark plugs at RM155?
What's the normal interval or mileage covered to change our spark plugs?

Darren,
try to use the new Shell V-Power Racing.
Proved to have consistent added addictives everytime you refill. :)

Yu911

Aug 17, 2006
www.cardomain.com
emmm... for me, I can't feel any thing on the petrol, try all before. I only can feel is the $$$ is more, haha..
Last time I check the Iridium spark plug before, about RM 200 & HKS is RM 250, how come now only RM 155? price drop? good news lah, I have not change yet.
It is better to change ur engine oil every 5K km, all engine oil has lifespan, the more heat ur engine the less lifespan, my friend change his engine oil every 3,500km - 4K km on his turbo car, he say it's cheaper to change engine oil than the engine, haha, any way, he is a 'yau chin chai'

BlackSamurai

9,000 RPM
Sep 2, 2004
near 7-11
www.hcc.ne1.net
Hi all,
Iridium IK20 for RM155 is here (Promotion until 31 Dec, 06)
http://zerotohundred.com/newforums/showthread.php?t=100420

Yu,
I change my oil at your usual "Oo Liu" place. SATA tools, where else. :biggrin:
Yah, I travel down to Kelana Jaya to pick up the plug, go down to Sunway for the engine oil and come back to Damansara for service. The oil filter I got it earlier.

Ace,
300V? Didn't check the price, but saw 1 10W40, RM270 for 2L, no budget.

Darren,
Many 10W40 in Motul, you may need to study further. :biggrin:

Daniel,
I take 50,000KM for safe guard (spark plug change interval), but you know my 50,000KM will last very long. :biggrin:
Very glad that the burning left over on the BOSCH is even and the plug is in good condition. It show that the engine is in good shape.

BlackSamurai

9,000 RPM
Sep 2, 2004
near 7-11
www.hcc.ne1.net
Yu,
yah, aware about that IK16 and IK20 thing. Actually Singapore Denso website show that IK16 for 1.6L and IK16 for 1.8L/2.0L, but it also stated that IK20 for 2.0L

So I believe the IK60 for smaller cc 1.6L (Malaysia no 1.6 RD1), 2.0L is for sure using IK20.
1.8L i believe lay in between the 2, heard comment from HMS that IK16 no kicks, so decide to try IK20.

Ace

Mar 2, 2005
dartango,
Motul 300v series usually are for racing. Period of use shall be around 5000 -8000km like you mentioned or 3 months. Nothing can beat the rapid acceleration of motul gives you.

Daniel Lee

Apr 21, 2005
BS,
is there any difference on fuel consumption between IK16 and IK20 spark plugs?

BlackSamurai

9,000 RPM
Sep 2, 2004
near 7-11
www.hcc.ne1.net
Daniel, I only run 60KM after I change my spark plug, and I didn't use IK16, the only different I can tell is FC between normal (BOSCH Super4) and Iridium (IK20).

Will submit my FC chart...... 2 months later? LOL
PS: You know my FC details need longer time to produce.