Oct 29, 2005

I'm also from sban but mostly in KL now

Bump: TitanRev

Loudest exhaust for FD3S = get a 3 inch SUS 301 stainless steel, down-pipe straight to outlet. No cat, no pre-silencer, no muffler. The thinnest metal you can get.

If you want it louder, have the pipe out the side of the car instead of at the back. Just remember which side the pipe is out as you will cook anybody's legs when you drive pass.
Yeah was thinking of getting 3 inch straight out..but will it have any effect on the engine? cause no back pressure right? Does it increase power?

Also how will be sound be like? During idling and acceleration?

Has anyone done this before?

If i do this, how much do you think it will cost?

:burnout:

I found a few vids with straight pipes..
<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/N6MWdXsqPlA&hl=en&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/N6MWdXsqPlA&hl=en&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>

<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/KrGsicTNQYU&hl=en&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/KrGsicTNQYU&hl=en&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>

<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/JbudxsLFxt8&hl=en&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/JbudxsLFxt8&hl=en&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>

kk13

Oct 29, 2005
Thanks bro

the first one sounds like a truck...

the second one is nice...:biggrin:

So KK, made up your mind already?:biggrin::biggrin:

savahn

Feb 16, 2007
kk13,

3 inch straight pipes are not road legal in most parts of the world due to noise and emissions. And they are not neighbour friendly - they could hear you a mile away.

Turbo-charged race engines use straight pipes - the lack of back-pressure means that the exhaust can flow freely right through the turbo improving available power at the upper end of the rev range. I am told that low-end torque supposedly suffers but this being a turbo engine, I can't really imagine why.

This is not the same for most NA engines.

Edit: please note that large straight pipes do not increase power. The power output of your engine is still the same. It merely makes more power available as less energy is required to overcome back-pressure - you free up maybe 5HP at most :)

kk13

Oct 29, 2005
So KK, made up your mind already?:biggrin::biggrin:
No la bro, still thinking abt it..saw my mechanic today, he said its possible to do it with a funnel at the end so it looks better..a 3 inch pipe sticking out the back isn't exactly the pretties thing on a car..he said it will be very loud and the sound might get abit anoying after a while..so considering all this also...dun wana get always stopped by the cops for coffee money also rite :hmmmm:

Plus depends on the price also..JFA quoted me 750 just the pipe no funnel...my machanic said he'll get back to me with the price...so we shall see la...kinda 50-50 now

kk13,

3 inch straight pipes are not road legal in most parts of the world due to noise and emissions. And they are not neighbour friendly - they could hear you a mile away.

Turbo-charged race engines use straight pipes - the lack of back-pressure means that the exhaust can flow freely right through the turbo improving available power at the upper end of the rev range. I am told that low-end torque supposedly suffers but this being a turbo engine, I can't really imagine why.

This is not the same for most NA engines.

Edit: please note that large straight pipes do not increase power. The power output of your engine is still the same. It merely makes more power available as less energy is required to overcome back-pressure - you free up maybe 5HP at most :)
Thanks for the info savahn!

will it have any effect on my engine though? ..eg. will it weaken it or cause problems in the future?

Also, I know a straight pipe would be loud but how would the sound be like?

will it be high pitched or low? don't really want it to sound like those straight piped wira's running around..

savahn

Feb 16, 2007
No measurable affect on your engine's reliability.

sounds... LOUD. The above clips give you an approximate sound, it is a grumbling kind of sound. Its interesting to note that the sound is similar to V8 engine rumble. If you put on a muffler, the pitch is lowered and less harsh. Cats and pre-silencers will reduce the noise level.

The pitch depends on the steel and thickness you use for the pipe - use above vids for reference The thinner the pipe, the more vibration and harshness and higher pitch. Other small things like whether the pipes are crush or mendrel bent also count. How it sounds is really a matter of preference.

kk13

Oct 29, 2005
so i could have a cat with a straight pipe..cause i want it louder but not that ridiculous uncontrollable annoying sound...so would probably try a cat + straight pipe...or maybe straight pipe with muffler...but I'm sure the first option would be louder right?

was reading up on how turbo engine's don't need back pressure so the engine should be fine i hope...as for the exhaust note, i hope its not too high pitched or vibrates too much...will try asking for a thick pipe...any idea on the thickness it should be?

will it also cause the whole car to vibrate badly? or just a bit?

savahn

Feb 16, 2007
Notice: When I mentioned about the thickness of the pipe, I was talking about the pipe's walls, not the diameter of the pipe.

kk13,

If your exhaust works fine, dont change it. You can get hi-flow 3inch cats tho they tend to be quite old - I got one from Ah Choy a few years ago for my FC but have since changed to 2 inch twin-pipes... coz I think twin pipes look more cool :p

A decision that I regret since the exhaust specialist didnt do the job up to my standards and then didnt give me back my old pipes - they already "threw it away" which pissed me off coz my old pipes worked perfectly fine and its hard to find that 3inch cat. I also had 2 pre-silencers on that old 3inch pipe but it still made so much goddam noise.

Just ask for SUS 303 stainless steel to be used if possible. Don't worry about the thickness coz the exhaust "specialists" in Malaysia dont know dick about this and will use the pipes they have in stock which is usually 301 to 303 stainless steel.

And your whole car will not vibrate because of the exhaust noise.

KK, I think if straight pipe. Your low end will suffer even if it's a TC car so during low rpm before your turbo kick in the drive will suck....

savahn

Feb 16, 2007
Low end torque has always been mentioned regarding large straight pipes. Please note that this theory is valid for NA cars. AND in reference to moving from a complete stop such as at red-lights.

If this is such a problem, the simple solution is to rev it at 4k and then dump the clutch on green. A bit of wheel spin and you will be off in a flash... low end torque solved... just imagine Vin Diesel in a '78 Chrysler Plymouth at your side for an added effect. :biggrin:

kk13

Oct 29, 2005
Thanks guys..

I spoke to my mechanic today...my pipe is 3 inch..told him i wanted to leave my cat there (its quite a small cat)...then after that have a straight pipe into a 4 inch cone...

how loud do u think this will be?

do you think i'll get into trouble with the cops much?

I'm not looking for crazy loud...just louder...currently my 3 inch + small cat + HKS muffler isn't really that loud...but it sounds nice...so I'm still thinking if I should do it...the exhaust now is a HKS supper charger or sumthin like that...but i'm sure its not a super dragger...

what about bridgeport+straight pipe? hehehe
yeah straight pipe out the side of the car rite...lol

philip_nst

Apr 4, 2006
hks super dragger is not loud(last time i use),now i am using apexi ps revolution (valve controls)
idealing is very queit, rpm 3000 to 5000 is like subaru sound but hight rpm is like vtec sound (very loud)