K&N Filter Cleaning

theorekz

Mar 29, 2005
hiztorikal.c.t.
I bought a K&N washing & re-oiling kit recently to clean my K&N cylinder type air filter... But i got problem when re-oiling it.. should oil the inner part as well?? Or just reoil the outter part??

thanksss
:D

lixor

Nov 14, 2005
Just reoil the outer parts enuf oledy. if you re-oil it inner part, later you rev kau kau all the excess oil will suck into your intake and Trottle Body. No good no good..... :tongue:

tylaxng

Jul 26, 2005
Penang,Malaysia
Below is the K&N filter proper clean up procedure link....

But is mandarin version... :smile:

http://maxspeed-racing.com/p2-3.htm

Actually no need worry accidently over putting the oil, when clean up and oil fill finish, using table fan blowing the filter 15 to 30mins, and double check it again, should be no problem already..

Wish can help u..

g88

Jan 28, 2004
theorekz said:
I bought a K&N washing & re-oiling kit recently to clean my K&N cylinder type air filter... But i got problem when re-oiling it.. should oil the inner part as well?? Or just reoil the outter part??

thanksss
:D
K & N filter oil is not ordinary oil....you need to completely oil the entire filter...make sure it's totally became "red"...

Don't worry about the oil been sucking into throttle....no harm

khguan

Aug 17, 2004
Seri Kembangan
fotopic.net
i have came across K&N cleaning n reoil kit in Eneos Car center... but expensive la... cleaning kit rm70 n reoil kit rm4x

i'm using KW air filter cleaning n reoil kit... this kit cost only RM18.50 bought from brother's kelana jaya... works well on my K&N filter... now i can wash my filter often n dun need to drive to speedworks just to get de filter cleaned...

theorekz

Mar 29, 2005
hiztorikal.c.t.
so expensive meh?? khguan, i remembered last time u put ur location is malacca right? I bought mine in malacca for rm49 only for squeeze oil type... RM59 for aerosol oilling type... Of course it includes the cleaning agent as well la... heh heh..

anywan, thanks for da help... :)

tylaxng

Jul 26, 2005
Penang,Malaysia
huakenny no saying complete lar..

oil center is means put oil to center of the filter's sponge, after finish oil, using table fan blowing ur filter, oil will slowly leakage all sponge.

this way also can prevent over oil ur air filter.. :smile:

khguan

Aug 17, 2004
Seri Kembangan
fotopic.net
theorekz said:
so expensive meh?? khguan, i remembered last time u put ur location is malacca right? I bought mine in malacca for rm49 only for squeeze oil type... RM59 for aerosol oilling type... Of course it includes the cleaning agent as well la... heh heh..

anywan, thanks for da help... :)
yalo... i saw at Eneos at dat price wor... my hometown is melaka... but i'm staying in serdang mah.. so most of de time will be here..

i have not seen de aerosol type of oiling kit.. spray type is much much easier to apply de oil onto de filter... but i think de oil will be much thinner so dat it can be sprayed.. right???

but anyway.. i got my air filter cleaning n reoiling kit at just RM18.50.... so wat de heck with KNN...

khguan

Aug 17, 2004
Seri Kembangan
fotopic.net
K&N filters are made to work with air filter oil as a medium to trap dirt n dust particles... the filter element is a porous material which is used to hold the oil in place... if u dont use air filter oil on the filter element... u will get a very poor air filtration... although the air flow my be better but u let more dirt get into ur engine combustion chamber as well...

if u think dat reoiling a filter is fussy... go for other brands of filters instead.. Pipercross is a good choice... use water to clean only... no oil needed...

hi i am interested in waja bodykit..the g concept or srx kit.....anyone got ar for sale....or can tell me how much is it roughly....... i was quoted 2.5 k for a whole set of srx kit in melaka plus painting.... ...