how to stick aluminium mesh

weikhee86

Dec 10, 2005
hey everyone..anyone knows what type of glue or method is suitable for sticking aluminium mesh to the bumper? i bought some aluminium mesh to stick to the bumper..bumper already cut hole for the mesh..how to fix it in? glue o wat? scared later drive suddenly fall off...

acbc

Jan 9, 2004
KD
Use Automotive GOOP... damn good stuff, stronger than glue. So, if u accidentally apply on ur hands... it's there forever. Price is RM 20+.

ken yeang

abcd,

just curious, what's Automotive GOOP? How is it being used? apply just like normal glue? Where izit available? thanks

acbc

Jan 9, 2004
KD
It's a glue for repairing any part of the car except metal. I used it to glue down my VR4 grill mesh to the CF version of the same grill.

U can get it from Ace Hardware or Home FixIt (some hardware store in 1U new wing). I'm planning to use it to repair my dashboard (the PVC layer is coming off due to heat).

nitrus

Nov 14, 2005
Silicone also can do the trick of repairing the dashboard or car parts right ...? (not talking bout the wire mesh) ..

acbc

Jan 9, 2004
KD
Silicone will not stick unlike GOOP. It's good for sealing glass / engine.

ken yeang

abcd,

Will the GOOP remain sticky after application, like blu-tack? or it will harden by itself?
Silicon can flex but still could hold on to the surface. What abt GOOP? thanx

acbc

Jan 9, 2004
KD
GOOP will harden after 24 hours to something solid n water / vibration proof.

weikhee86

Dec 10, 2005
hey acbc..thanks a lot for the advice...is GOOP like resin glue? need to leave it to cure one? my bumper is made of resin o plastic..dunno which one lar..but either one of those 2...will it stick well? i plan to put mesh first then spray it so it'll look better..

straightouttatokyo

Jul 21, 2006
glue and sticking products can cause the paint to crack off if you ever want to remove the mesh. i used sticky wall hooks on the inside of the fibre galss and cable ties. easy to take off and secure and wont mess the paint up if you remove mesh.

weikhee86

Dec 10, 2005
ic...but i'm sticking the mesh inside of the bumper..and my bumper is plastic not fibre..after putting mesh i want to spray everything..i need opinion frm u guys here..

straightouttatokyo

Jul 21, 2006
if its on the inside you could use bog, then sand it back to a smooth finish, that way youll be able to spary it easily to.

my bro call me n ask me to go n register shell card..wat?
ask me?for wat?
he say got RM 50 cash back + free GPS + everyday 8% rebates..a good deal now?
but i seldom drive car wat...ask me for wat?
he attracted by the GPS only la..so good deal?i dun think so lo...n you?