how to modify to get more torque?

sam1741

Dec 18, 2004
hi everyone

we all know 101 ways of getting more hp out of our cars...

so how bout torque?
how to modify so that we can get more torque??

cause more torque i can save more fuel.. :D

BabyGodzillaGTi-R

Nov 24, 2003
There aint no replacement for displacement.

sam1741

Dec 18, 2004
ooo..
so displacement and compression ratio..

but is there anything
like we changing difffernt type of exhaust
can get more hp...

how bout torque?

flamefox850

Pasir Mas
www.geocities.com
i dun think there is no modification can increase torque but dun increase hp cos HP=torque X RPM / 5252 hehe

increase torque in certain area would increase hp in that area also. but if u increase mid rpm torque or max torque...u may not increase ur Max HP if the torque decrease so much after max torque

any modification can u do...the list can be very long to write but most importantly, rev lower then change to higher gear to save fuel B)

sam1741

Dec 18, 2004
so in order to change gear at lower rpm
i need more torque...

flamefox850

Pasir Mas
www.geocities.com
yerp. torque is what moves ur car.

so, can u gives a bit detail on ur car..so we can think of what u could do

what car what engine..NA or turbocharge..what have u done..what u want or what u might not do..anything

sam1741

Dec 18, 2004
little embarassed to say..
it is old engine....

1500cc, OHV, 4 cylinder, 8 valve,

gerard

Dec 17, 2004
If you are looking for low end torque, minimal gearshifts and instant responce...why not look at superchargers as an upgrade....low maintenance too... :D

sam1741

Dec 18, 2004
oic.. supercharger also a choise

is the supercharge engine
behave like normal N/A engine?
can install on carb engine ar?

flamefox850

Pasir Mas
www.geocities.com
hmmmm many people misunderstood what is torque and what is hp and what there do relating to how fast u go..and so on...nevermind ;)

anything that provides more torque to the engine will provides hp..not necessarily MAX HP. hp and max hp is not the same. look at dyno graph.
u might have a very2 high torque in 4000rpm and making high HP also at that range but u also might have a very2 poor torque at high rpm (eg.8000rpm - torque drop sooo much) then u might get a low MAX HP. hot what i mean ?
a very2 low torque and very2 high revving engine (let say 18000rpm) can't manage to change to gear 3 when uphill or too much load on that vehichle...so..is it fast ??? hehe HP is a product of torque ok

ok, back to the real question.

i personally dun have any experience in 'oldtimer' but u can try the basics for most vehicle

-big bore (got any choice of pistons ?)
-camshaft ? (errrr i dun think there is any upgrade parts for OHV..dunno la)
-big valves (also i dunno does it exist or not)
-turbo kit ? (custom made lah...but ermmm compression ratio problem also fueling)
-performance carb (consult better person..me dunno the code for weber..mikuni..solex and so on)
-thinner head gasket ?

ermm i think this is what u can do actually
-air filter...go for k&n or apexi or whatever..choose urself (for carb type)
-exhaust system...go for s-flow type. size not too big (1.8"-2.0" perhaps)
-head skimming (carefull...send to reputable worksyop)
-distributor tuning...try advance the timing. u might want the highest timing BEFORE PINGING/KNOCKING OCCUR
-skim flywheel (1-2kgs perhaps)
-lighter rims ???
-lighten body ?? (take out unnecessary things-put ur car on DIET, when car is lighter u will only put a very little step on throttle peddle in GOOO)
and the list goes on....

if i was wrong..shoot me !!! :lol:

yinho

Sep 27, 2004
Originally posted by sam1741@Jan 28 2005, 21:30

cause more torque i can save more fuel.. :D
there is no way u can increase torque without sacrificing fuel.. lightening ur car is the best solution :lol:

shoot me!

Does anyone know how much is it to install a short shifter? i know different workshop got different price, but whats the average to pay?

Thanks in advanced!