guys, what is your engine's lubricating oil consumption?

yewjunyan

Jun 19, 2006
Hey guys, my ride is a wira 4g15...im currently using fully synthetic oil, it consumes around half a littre during my 7500km oil change...my engine has been consuming some engine oil at this rate although it only has 70k on clock after a fully engine rubluid..

guys, is it normal for a 4g15 to consume engine oil? im currrently u sing 5w30 bardalh fully synthetic oil...issit normal for this engine to consume more oil after i trevel high way?
guys, i need ut opinion...thanx...

xtremeleo

Oct 18, 2005
sumtimes when i change to fully synth, it does consume a lil bit of oil. but, note dis, my engine has alredi done 200k+ km, and iam running higher boost then std. i think ur engine shudnt consume any amount of oil considering the mileage it had done is lil, after d overhaul dat is. as an example, my fren's waja didnt consume oil (if any, it was too lil to tell the difference), he was using mobil 1, i thik its 5-50 weight?

yewjunyan

Jun 19, 2006
ic..thanks for the reply ya...i m just wondering weather my engine is in good shape anot...im currently using a very light weight engine oil 5w30....wondering would it be the main reson to cause this problem

xtremeleo

Oct 18, 2005
if ur engine is newly rebuild wit proper tolerences, i cant see y u cant use abovementioned oil weight. fyi, my dad's unser is supposed to use d toyota 10w-30 mineral oil, because its a new engine.

try to change to a thicker oil ie 10w-40 and see how it goes. in my engine, it will consume a noticeable amount of oil when i use the magnetec (10-40, smokes whenever i boost up) but its not consuming any with wit d top1 fully synth 5-50 (no smoke when boosting it up).

yewjunyan

Jun 19, 2006
ic...i feel tat the thinner felly synthetic oil will give better fuel consumption and better throttle thats y i give it a try...
any guys who got try on 5w30 on an wira before without any oil consumption?

jigc

Jan 30, 2005
here is my OC for 4g13 (current mileage ~120k km):
10W30 (Dino): 0.8L/5000km (average from ~35k km)
5W30 (semi, current): 0.4/5000km (average from 5k km)

i noticed OC started from ~80k km when i switched to 10W30.

if i were u, i will not worry ur 0.5L/7500km OC :)

yewjunyan

Jun 19, 2006
Thanks Jigc....for the sharing ya....erm, actually the oil consumption happen bcz of the vapourisation of the engine oil issit? I heard ppl saying that a lighter vicosity oil would vapourise even faster and escape through Pcv valve and get burned...
In ur opinion, my engine consume oil at this rate is consider normal since im using lighter oil rite? :) if my engine is still in good shape then good le...hehe

yewjunyan

Jun 19, 2006
anyway, my engine using a valve seal which cost me rm5/piece...the spare part shop claims tat it has good quality and made in japan...
guys, what's the price of the valve seal u all have been using? im wondering the quality of the valve seal which cause my engine to consume cetain amount of engine oil....It's bcz many zth forumer said that proton engine using low grade valve seal....

xtremeleo

Oct 18, 2005
oil seal dat cheap meh? ive never seen such cheap valve seals, not dat iam saying its not good or anythin..

yewjunyan

Jun 19, 2006
i think ther's a misunderstanding ya..
wat i mean is rm 5 per pieces, my engine got 12 valves, so, add together it'll cost me rm60, plus labour it'll cost be around rm100...its not consider cheap..
regarding the brand, i forgot d, i saw there's a serial number on every seal...and it's made in japan...tats wat i know le...hehe

xtremeleo

Oct 18, 2005
i know they were 5 bux a piece, which is still too cheap imo.. if u r really they r of good quality, by all means, it is then :) if all had been done correctly, the only reason why ur engine still puffs out smoke after the rebuild is.. dat 30 weight oil isnt suitable for ur engine, i cant think y though..

bfw4g92

May 22, 2006
i think ther's a misunderstanding ya..
wat i mean is rm 5 per pieces, my engine got 12 valves, so, add together it'll cost me rm60, plus labour it'll cost be around rm100...its not consider cheap..
regarding the brand, i forgot d, i saw there's a serial number on every seal...and it's made in japan...tats wat i know le...hehe
Can change the valve seal without doing top overhaul??
Which workshop do you send?

<iframe src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/TRsL-A7Vaug" allowfullscreen="" frameborder="0" height="200" width="330"></iframe>

Never before seen footage of Malaysian Police Force's EVO X Police in a high speed chase in Penang hunting down a suspect in a Satria GTI. Something like "Getaway from Stockholm", only in real life, the bad guys do get caught. Nothing survives the chase by a Police EVO