gear changing noise

Burnz

Dec 25, 2004
hi to all vtec owners,i m having a problem of changing gears during high rpm especially during the vtec kicks in, there's a crack sound when i change from 2nd to 3rd and 3rd to 4th its hard 2 change it sometimes.I believe some of u haf experience the same problem like me.I haf change the gear oil every 20,000km but the prob still remain.Is there any solution to solve this problem?i afraid it will damage the gearbox..

Areignz

Jan 28, 2005
Synchro problem bro...common vtec gbox problem but can be repaired.Try to change to motul gear oil first if it can helps.If not overhaul gbox lah.

bugsy

Sep 21, 2005
seremban
guys just wanna know, for b18c gear box... to get the syncro mesh repaired... how much will it cost??? and also, if wanna overhaul whole gearbox how much will cost more or less???

prasath_5338

Apr 20, 2005
hmm im facing that problem also.....very hard to upshift towards end of power band. i usually kind of force it to engage. any idea why?

shiroitenshi

Apr 18, 2006
heh, total overhaul of gearbox will be around 3K minimum, depending on parts & labour

A used gearbox is lil' cheaper than that, if Y21.

If S80. don't think it's that cheap anymore.

There's also the choice of non-oem syncros from Gearspeed Inc. Price wise, I'm not sure with the current exchange rate.

raining

Oct 7, 2006
kuala lumpur
i'm facing the same problem in my S2000 gear box too,from 1st to 2nd crank sound,but only during low rpm. If high rpm there is no sound:confused:. Or maybe the sound was covered by vtec sound when high rpm so cannot hear it.:driver:

king_jamez

Apr 13, 2007
i'm having problem wit the noise from gearbox and jerking when changing gear from 2nd to 3rd on my eg as well...is it because of the dirty oil?

Shoken7

Oct 15, 2006
i tot i was the only one!some mechanic told me to change my "copper" or "coupler " cant remember what is it he said..that would cost about rm700 :SS so i put that mod on hold .since i got other things that i wanna repair first

How frequent are we suppose to change our gear oils? i havent changed it for the past 2 years

SimonsayZ

Dec 27, 2004
Puchong
Haha, I have that crack sound only on 3rd gear at high rev. It really is annoying...I believe its syncro problem. Though I also suspect my mounting on gearbox side is kong already. Btw, mine is B16a.

akuma

Jul 16, 2005
Kuantan
synchros problem everywhr..welcome 2 d club....so,while i try 2 safe up enuff 2 fully overhaul my gbox(buying a used unit is a 50/50 gamble too,aight?).....wat i do i i drive slowly enuff n always TRY 2 double clutch whn i shift up..
so far,its working 4 me.....any bozos trying 2 pull away frm me still can't do it altho my shifting is ultra slow now due 2 double clutching..hehehehhehehe
idup VTEC!
n oh yeah...i once bought a set of synchros..3/4 if i remember correctly,frm LHS....d whole bunch of stuffs cost me almost RM700 wor?i can't remember consists of wat...my mechanic took out d faulty part...tied it up w sum wires..sent 2 LHS n told them 2 get me d whole bunch's replacement......
but din last me long either those new synchros..heheheheeh

king_jamez

Apr 13, 2007
Shoken7,
gearbox oil should be changed every 20 000km...2 yrs quite long unless u seldom use the car...

Hi im driving a 4g15t so i was thing swap the 4g15 head with the 4g92 mivec head. Is it possible? I search from the forum earlier some ppl say cant but need to mod, but they didnt say need to mod what to get the mivec head to fit to the 4g15 block. Oh by the way, my 4g15t was sharing the same head gasket with waja 4g18p.