From Shy to Shiny

SuperDetailer

Aug 9, 2012
When we got a phone call from this owner, he was just inquiring if we can transform his ride.

Well, when we arrive at the scene, we started to do some inspection first. It turns out that it wasn't that bad after all. His ride is still factory paint even after many years.

Let's see what this journey of detailing has taught us,

When we first arrive at the scene,

Based on the owner, he usually brought it to road side car wash nearby his house for convenience. Thanks to them, clear coat has failed.

Checking what to do first.

Do you know what's the problem? Answer: Clear coat failure.

Rims full of oil stains.

Engine bay looks in bad shape too.

Closer look:

Rear bumper:

Lower Rear bumper:

Oil stains:

With scratches too:

Some more to add in the list:

Gosh look at that:

Closer look:

Side door:

Stains everywhere:

Door handles with scratches because of finger nails:

What is that?

Doing a coating reading first.

Interior does looks in bad shape too:

Closer look:

Close up:

Side mirror has problem too:

Boot area:

Using Alien Clean 1:3, ta da!!!!

Alien Clean, agitate it.

Rinse it, ta-da!!!

Like new!

See? New again?

Before:

Alien Clean 1:3, agitate it.

After:

Before:

After:

Finger nail scratches before:

Removed!

The other side of the door:

Before:

After:

Before:

After:

Before magic happens:

After magic happens:

New back again:

Engine bay before:

Engine bay after:

Before

After

Look at the bucket? We had to change the water many times. This are all the oil stains on your car if you don't remove them.

Taking it for Alien No Rinse Wash.

The rims as before:

Using Alien Clean and with a brush:

Ta-da!!!

Hmm, stains surrounding the words.

No problem with Alien Clean 1:3

Water to rinse quickly before dry.

Ta-da!!! Like new again.

Side mirror with Alien Clean too. Look at all the black black stains...

Stains before:

Stains after: missing...

Front before:

Alien Clean to the rescue

Rinse

Magic happens:

After giving it a Alien No Rinse wash:

Looks much better:

Before:

After:

Before:

After:

Before:

After:

Using Makita 9227C with 3 inch pad tools to detail smaller areas.

Can you see the difference? Left panel is before, and Right panel is after:

Before:

After: Gloss restored.

Interior also restored as well.

Some after shots:

Can see the reflection now.

Some more:

Looking like new:

Reflection restored.

Presenting to you.

Owner is happy, we are happy.

Remember this before?

Bumper like new again.

It's picture perfect:

Saying goodbye is the hardest word of all.

And our journey ends with a reflection ride.

Well, this concludes our journey. Hope you enjoy it. Though that it took us many hours, but it was worth it seeing that the owner and his wife is very happy.

This journey has indeed given us another experience to add in our collection.

Please visit us at : Super Detailer | Facebook

EvolutionZ

Aug 3, 2007
nice..totally like new...great!

SuperDetailer

Aug 9, 2012

GRexer

GRexer™ KuzTomZ
Puchong
One thing that always makes me wonder though. How do you guys actually detail and take photos? :rofl: I don't detail for a living, more like doing my own cars and relatives and some closer friends, but it's fun to be able to document without having to remove the gloves every now and then, do you peeps have someone else to capture the photos instead? :confused:

Veloc

May 19, 2010
Sabah
The paint is 80 microns so thin??? Has it been detailed before???

DarkAccoon

I think 80 is an acceptable figure for single stage paint but definitely very thin if this is a clear coated paint.

SuperDetailer: Just a question, when you polished the car, did your pad turn white or when you clean the pads, was the water flowing out white? Just wanted verification cause I did two white Myvi recently (one a few years old and another just barely 2 months old) and both are single stage paint. Maybe there is a batch of Myvi that came with clear coated white instead of just single stage white....

If its a single stage paint, then it is not a clear coat failure but more towards oxidization of the paint (most probably hasten by road side car washes).

Did you take another reading of the paint after all was completed to measured how much was removed?

Anyway, awesome job and really love the gloss. Usage of OPC/Alien Clean really does make things faster and easier.

GRexer

GRexer™ KuzTomZ
Puchong
Actually there's 2 different whites from MyVI, one is the Single Stage White(more commonly known as "solid white" locally), the other is a clear-coated(probably a tinted coat) white, which is more commonly known as the pearl white from the catalogue, which appears a little yellowish if not maintained well.

darween13

Feb 6, 2006
Velocity
DarkAccoon / GRexer

As mentioned by GRexer, i think there is 2 white; solid (single stage) and pearl white (with clear coat). And, referring to your detailing experience on two myvi's, i detailed one myself too - solid white myvi with single stage paint - even while claying the water was flowing out white. And upon polishing the car, the pad turned white / the water used to wash turned white too.
Hence, i believe all solid white myvi's are only equipped with single stage paint.

g88

Jan 28, 2004
Actually there's 2 different whites from MyVI, one is the Single Stage White(more commonly known as "solid white" locally), the other is a clear-coated(probably a tinted coat) white, which is more commonly known as the pearl white from the catalogue, which appears a little yellowish if not maintained well.
Its call Ivory white and i don't think its a single stage paint (at least for Myvi SE).

GRexer

GRexer™ KuzTomZ
Puchong
Its call Ivory white and i don't think its a single stage paint (at least for Myvi SE).
Any reliable source for this? Everywhere I looked seemed to tag the Ivory White as a single stage solid colour, and the Pearl White as "Special MetaLlic" :hmmmm:

Veloc

May 19, 2010
Sabah
I think there's 2 types. I recently detailed a metallic myvi.

droll

Aug 29, 2010
wow, amazing work!!! but i always wonder
1. how do you rinse off alien clean on the interior and other tight nooks and crannies?? do you just spray a mist of water on it and use MF to wipe it off? because i see the bucket of black water and i'm guessing that's what you did. .... ???
2. how do you clean the engine bay? after spraying alien clean, how do you remove it? spray mist of water and use MF to wipe?? no risk of damage to electronics?

man, you guys are amazing!

SuperDetailer

Aug 9, 2012
One thing that always makes me wonder though. How do you guys actually detail and take photos? :rofl: I don't detail for a living, more like doing my own cars and relatives and some closer friends, but it's fun to be able to document without having to remove the gloves every now and then, do you peeps have someone else to capture the photos instead? :confused:
The great thing about detailing is having a partner to detail with you. In my case, I have a partner. It is either I detail one part,and he snap pictures or vice versa. And the good thing about Opt products is that it doesn't harm or hurt our hands so we don't need use gloves.

Very well done indeed....

But when it comes to cost, what will be the damage like?

Close to a repainting cost of a new coat of paint or much less?
What do you mean by the cost?

The paint is 80 microns so thin??? Has it been detailed before???
No bro. This car has never been detailed before. The owner just send to car wash to make it clean but road side car wash uses engine degreaser to clean the dark stains. That's why the clear coat is oxized.

What more is more damaging- road side sand paper wash
Yes,this guy go road side car wash because is near his house.

wow, amazing work!!! but i always wonder
1. how do you rinse off alien clean on the interior and other tight nooks and crannies?? do you just spray a mist of water on it and use MF to wipe it off? because i see the bucket of black water and i'm guessing that's what you did. .... ???
2. how do you clean the engine bay? after spraying alien clean, how do you remove it? spray mist of water and use MF to wipe?? no risk of damage to electronics?

man, you guys are amazing!
Thank you bro. Here are the answer:
1. I use a small brush for tight areas where my hands and big brushes cannot go in.
2. When cleaning the engine bay, we use ONLY alien clean. We use water to rinse it after using engine brushes with Alien clean to clean it. DON'T splash water directly at the connectors/electronics areas.

---------- Post added at 05:04 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 04:58 PM ----------

I think 80 is an acceptable figure for single stage paint but definitely very thin if this is a clear coated paint.

SuperDetailer: Just a question, when you polished the car, did your pad turn white or when you clean the pads, was the water flowing out white? Just wanted verification cause I did two white Myvi recently (one a few years old and another just barely 2 months old) and both are single stage paint. Maybe there is a batch of Myvi that came with clear coated white instead of just single stage white....

If its a single stage paint, then it is not a clear coat failure but more towards oxidization of the paint (most probably hasten by road side car washes).

Did you take another reading of the paint after all was completed to measured how much was removed?

Anyway, awesome job and really love the gloss. Usage of OPC/Alien Clean really does make things faster and easier.
The answer to your question is yes. my pad did turn white and water was flowing out white. I forgotten to take another reading of the paint after detailing. I will remember to take the reading after detailing in future. Thanks for the advise. Appreciate it!
Yeap! Really with OPC/Alien Clean,life's good! Still, KC was the one who introduced such wonderful products that makes life's good. :top:

droll

Aug 29, 2010
Thank you bro. Here are the answer:
1. I use a small brush for tight areas where my hands and big brushes cannot go in.
2. When cleaning the engine bay, we use ONLY alien clean. We use water to rinse it after using engine brushes with Alien clean to clean it. DON'T splash water directly at the connectors/electronics areas.
bro, i mean how do you remove the dirty alien clean? brushes is a must, you're right. i've tried it before and that's the only way! need a super long brush too to reach those deep areas.

thanks for the info. i always worry about water on electronics / connectors. my idea is to actually spray alien clean on the surfaces to clean then spray water (from a spraying bottle) to clean the dirty alien clean and wipe off with normal cloth (don't need MF towel for engine since not really too worried bout scratches). as for electronics / connectors, i will spray alien clean on cloth or brush and wipe then use damp cloth to wipe down again and let the engine bay dry before starting up the car. can?

kc2

Dec 2, 2009
thedetailers.blogspot.com
bro, i mean how do you remove the dirty alien clean? brushes is a must, you're right. i've tried it before and that's the only way! need a super long brush too to reach those deep areas.

thanks for the info. i always worry about water on electronics / connectors. my idea is to actually spray alien clean on the surfaces to clean then spray water (from a spraying bottle) to clean the dirty alien clean and wipe off with normal cloth (don't need MF towel for engine since not really too worried bout scratches). as for electronics / connectors, i will spray alien clean on cloth or brush and wipe then use damp cloth to wipe down again and let the engine bay dry before starting up the car. can?
to remove alien clean just rinse off, if possible running water other wise use onr as qd and spray lavishly

I have clean hundreds of engine from kancil to lambroghini with water - without any trouble, avoid chemical wash like Super degreaser, Engine degreaser and any form of corrosive chem.....then probable you can avoid using spray jet

Many car practice the above to get an instant gratification results.....do u know all those is harmful to your paint & health, ended up they cant use hand, but resorting to high pressured spray jet (a lot wrapping here and there (distributors la and so forth)

All i need to use is Alien Clean Aka OPC (free from casinogen class 3 - cancer causing agent) agitate with brushes....rinse off....repeat if must

eg..what we did last week

how to detail the engine engine bay waterlessly

looks oily and greasy - it just attracts all form of dirt & unwanted dirt on it

do a swiping test - everybody hates to touch it......dirty & hard to removed

Now effortlessly with alien clean

spray off with Alien no rinse wash (aka QD)

Alien clean

now do a swiping test -absolutely free from all these dressing - use Optiseal to protect it

droll

Aug 29, 2010
Thx kc. I hv bad experiences with those degreasers and strong spray jet. After a while, some parts in the car engine start to squeak due to loss of lubrication.

I think i will experiment a bit with water from a spray bottle as well as onr from spray bottle. When i get brave enough, i will try normal flowing water .... Not high pressure jet. :)

Thanks for the tips. Btw, after picking up the stuff from you yesterday, i had a try with the shampoo today. Absolutely love it! After light rain this evening, i might go try onr for a quick wipe down. Hehe. Waiting for car to cool down....

droll

Aug 29, 2010
sorry to keep hijacking this thread. :)

kc - what kind of product is powerclean???! i used it on the walls of my house near the light switches. you know, people turn on switches and their palm rests on the wall. over the years it turns black. the wall is now good as new!!! and the paint on the wall is unaffected. man, this is the best all purpose cleaner that i've ever come across. it was an experiment for me (tried on one small area first) but it paid off. at this rate i'm going to need a few more bottles. :P btw, i did that test with a 1:3 dilution ratio.

i like the term "agitate" because it means that. you don't need to use strength to press the brush in. just lightly agitate and the dirt comes right off. satisfaction :)