fresh stock tune up. part 2

handsomeboy

Apr 6, 2007
yeah bro huakenny, im still a student.. n i dont think my dad will agree with me if i want an imprezza for example. i have cash in my hand, n thats why i can mod my car... hmmmm, R3 came out with cams for campro alrady.. the price i think around 1600- 1800...

your opinion only applies for you as a tight pocket slimy weasel car modder.

unlike some of us, we have the cash and mo to do what we think is best for our ride no matter how small or big the engine is. and unlike me, budget is not my concern at the moment since the most expensive mod would only reach up to 2k. since im modding my car gradually, financially not a problem for me...and btw we mod cars like we mod desktops..same thing...
Zach, you can't say like that wan. How you know Huakenny is a "slimy weasel car modder?". You cannot judge a person's financial by just looking at his/her post. I know Huakenny and he's not the person like you said.

What he's trying to point out is that when we do modification to the car, its should be modding something necessary on to the car and the end result is that your car is still consider practical to drive everyday even if its modded.

Example, do you think its practical to drive a 650 horses car everyday around town ? Even if you have 650 under the engine, where can you fully utilize it? Also can you handle that much power? If you can't handle it, you and your car will become a danger to other road users. Think before you start to mod and gather more information about each mod's pros and cons.

Modding an everyday car is all about practicality.

zach

Feb 15, 2007
Zach, you can't say like that wan. How you know Huakenny is a "slimy weasel car modder?". You cannot judge a person's financial by just looking at his/her post. I know Huakenny and he's not the person like you said.

What he's trying to point out is that when we do modification to the car, its should be modding something necessary on to the car and the end result is that your car is still consider practical to drive everyday even if its modded.

Example, do you think its practical to drive a 650 horses car everyday around town ? Even if you have 650 under the engine, where can you fully utilize it? Also can you handle that much power? If you can't handle it, you and your car will become a danger to other road users. Think before you start to mod and gather more information about each mod's pros and cons.

Modding an everyday car is all about practicality.
read his post...he just said hes a budget modder....and now he claims to have 20cars so kudos for him...

lets not turn this thread into a financial consultancy discussion....take your moral class elsewhere please...im only interested in car modifications...

oh btw, just so you know, maybe some of us goes for time attacks WHICH you have failed to come up with. good job

jinkl

May 22, 2004
zach we all do know hua , he is also a merchant

bt i would like to clearly say is , do do do really know what are you modding and whts value for money , arghh i told this in the neo thread also

a car has its limit , if money is not the issue , seriously , 2k monthly , even 1k monthly get a good car bro , thats my advise , the savvy isnt gonna go far , as my opinion metal modding it is not worth the money

first is the limitation of the displacement, its very small
if ya remaining n/a , then it wouldnt go far also bt to have more limitations

zach

Feb 15, 2007
its too bad i wanna mod a savvy not a ferrari, so if you dont have any clue about modding the savvy...then why bother posting? hell i know swarms of people installing BOT on kancil's...and what do you have to say for that? EVERY car has its limits(common sense applied), modding your ride MEANS PUSHING YOUR CAR TO ITS LIMIT(also common sense applied). its not like im modding my car to race againts a porche....omg plz la..if you guys have nothing to say about modding a small engine car..plz dont post anything at all...

jinkl

May 22, 2004
its too bad i wanna mod a savvy not a ferrari, so if you dont have any clue about modding the savvy...then why bother posting? hell i know swarms of people installing BOT on kancil's...and what do you have to say for that? EVERY car has its limits(common sense applied), modding your ride MEANS PUSHING YOUR CAR TO ITS LIMIT(also common sense applied). its not like im modding my car to race againts a porche....omg plz la..if you guys have nothing to say about modding a small engine car..plz dont post anything at all...
do trail back , my questions were , wht kind of mod r u looking for , what is ur aim.

and the reason for all that question is , first, r u gonna resell the car one fine day
that we can help you list mods that wouldnt be too heavy

i already said man

cams , regrinds , reprofiled , billet cams would be atleast 3k-4k
port and polish , retune , exhaust system , as for filter system you are already going for piper

next time try to apreciate the inputs man.

i keep saying "in my opinion and , if it was me" , doesnt mean u have to , its ur wish man what u want to do with ur car, its ur money, we can only tell our opinion.

come on , i dont have a clue how to mod a savvy ? lolx , i dnt wish to have a war, yes bro , im dumb , lolx ,bt how bout the guy whos changing cams duration using ecu ?

good luck , im out man , i guess other guys can help u out.

jinkl

May 22, 2004
your opinion only applies for you as a tight pocket slimy weasel car modder.

unlike some of us, we have the cash and mo to do what we think is best for our ride no matter how small or big the engine is. and unlike me, budget is not my concern at the moment since the most expensive mod would only reach up to 2k. since im modding my car gradually, financially not a problem for me...and btw we mod cars like we mod desktops..same thing...
fine man , its time to modddd, since u got lots of cash lets start

u could always call COMP CAMS , they will custom make a
billet camshaft that wouldnt give u a lumpy idle . they are one of the known custom make camshaft makers currently, but prepare to pay around 3-4k

port and polish can be done in a good potential shops around , i mean engineering shops , u can fix oversize valves , port the head , of cos a mechanic can specify u the stage of porting thats available , n finally polishing them
get ferrera custom stainless steel oversized valves , that would cost 2-3k easily
titanium valves are more lighter but much more expensive , titanium retainers could be a bonus , as for spring , you most probably have to get stiffer valve springs as the COMP CAMS would be a lil nasty when it hi revs above your stock redline.

there will be lots of heat generated from the engine , get silicone thermal barrier for your intake manifold , its to be placed between ur manifold n head ,
custom ones would cost around 1k , they are in the market for mitsu's n honda's do check em out.

as flow increases , throthle body of the stock car would be enuff , get it customized in performance engineering shops, i do can recommend the shops ,
bore it a few millimiter more , and customize a butterfly which is bigger for it.
im afraid renault based engines are quite choosy when u put in another bigger cc car tb , complication could occur in the sense that the TPS reading n such get affected. $300-500

as performance increases , fueling for a car is important , buying brand new fuel pump are best cos of reliability , u dnt want ur car to stall anywhere cos of a pump failure , walbro 255 are too big for this puny engine , im nt sure if there are available smaller fuel pump with a lesser LPH setting. specs of the stock fuel pump wasnt available so cant really tell its potential , price wouldnt be more than $500 ,

a change of injectors is sure needed for high modded cars ,
new injectors can be bought from Power , SARD , etc , but savvy doesnt need a very big one, a stock from another car would be more than enuff , forcing the stock savvy injectors to its max duty cycle will damage it in long run. $400-600

as we know , stock ecu of the savvy cant be easily tuned , a well known tuner might be able to tap the signals and tweak them via a piggybag , but of cos nothing beats a standalone ecu from haltech n motec. u can get big mappings to ensure smoothness in ur drive. haltech ranges 4-5k , motec should be 8k+

ignition of the car plays a role of burning fuel in ur chamber , MSD is a well known company that does performance ingition system , MSD dis-2 plus would allow you to tune ur ingition timing for ur car , it also amplifies the spark , as i know , msd at low revs create up to 3sparks instead of one, much more homework needed here for me , stock plug cables are known to degrade after some time , magnecore has one of the best plug cables to offer with grounded kit. msd coils 1k-2k , msd dis-2 2-3k , magnecore 1-1.5k

lightened ur pulley of the engines makes the car rev much better
lightened pulley come in many materials , i tink u can do ur homework here about the materials , pulleys that are usually changed is the Main crank pulley
good branded ones would cost 500-800

that is it for now , im out

EVO3gsr

Jul 22, 2005
Zach,

mind to tell us how old r u? seems like u r talking like a small kids here.

EVO3gsr

Jul 22, 2005
Jinkl,

the things u listed all is not cheap wo.....if installed all, sure become monster.:X-:

Zach, going for time attack or no time attack is none of my business. What I'm trying to say is mod a car which is still practical to drive since you said your SAVVY is still daily driven.

I agreed with EVO, you really talk like some small kid. Not accepting other ppl's opinions or comments. Othe ppl have different thinking, if my thinking doesn't suit you fine, you can ignore it. No need to tell me about time attack sort of bull shit. I'm not interested about you taking part in time attack.

Since you say you just want to mod your car and financial is not your problem. Then send your whole engine to Renault and tell them to mod the engine, save the hassle.

seanlee

Jun 30, 2004
Zach...
since last thread you were say that "i wouldnt want my car to be a fuel consumption truck." and base on your current mod

have you change your piping to mendrel bent piping? RM850 hotbit
lighten crank pulley Mythology (but dun think savvy have on stock) RM 600
your clutch set and fly wheel for better pickup and bite..RM500
PNP and skim head all car can do lar dun worry(but savvy engine not sure) RM850
extrator 4-2-1 i think Savvy amt should use 4-1
adjustable fuel regulator RM300

seriously i dun think many people know how to mod savvy engine even R3 also

zach

Feb 15, 2007
fine man , its time to modddd, since u got lots of cash lets start

u could always call COMP CAMS , they will custom make a
billet camshaft that wouldnt give u a lumpy idle . they are one of the known custom make camshaft makers currently, but prepare to pay around 3-4k

port and polish can be done in a good potential shops around , i mean engineering shops , u can fix oversize valves , port the head , of cos a mechanic can specify u the stage of porting thats available , n finally polishing them
get ferrera custom stainless steel oversized valves , that would cost 2-3k easily
titanium valves are more lighter but much more expensive , titanium retainers could be a bonus , as for spring , you most probably have to get stiffer valve springs as the COMP CAMS would be a lil nasty when it hi revs above your stock redline.

there will be lots of heat generated from the engine , get silicone thermal barrier for your intake manifold , its to be placed between ur manifold n head ,
custom ones would cost around 1k , they are in the market for mitsu's n honda's do check em out.

as flow increases , throthle body of the stock car would be enuff , get it customized in performance engineering shops, i do can recommend the shops ,
bore it a few millimiter more , and customize a butterfly which is bigger for it.
im afraid renault based engines are quite choosy when u put in another bigger cc car tb , complication could occur in the sense that the TPS reading n such get affected. $300-500

as performance increases , fueling for a car is important , buying brand new fuel pump are best cos of reliability , u dnt want ur car to stall anywhere cos of a pump failure , walbro 255 are too big for this puny engine , im nt sure if there are available smaller fuel pump with a lesser LPH setting. specs of the stock fuel pump wasnt available so cant really tell its potential , price wouldnt be more than $500 ,

a change of injectors is sure needed for high modded cars ,
new injectors can be bought from Power , SARD , etc , but savvy doesnt need a very big one, a stock from another car would be more than enuff , forcing the stock savvy injectors to its max duty cycle will damage it in long run. $400-600

as we know , stock ecu of the savvy cant be easily tuned , a well known tuner might be able to tap the signals and tweak them via a piggybag , but of cos nothing beats a standalone ecu from haltech n motec. u can get big mappings to ensure smoothness in ur drive. haltech ranges 4-5k , motec should be 8k+

ignition of the car plays a role of burning fuel in ur chamber , MSD is a well known company that does performance ingition system , MSD dis-2 plus would allow you to tune ur ingition timing for ur car , it also amplifies the spark , as i know , msd at low revs create up to 3sparks instead of one, much more homework needed here for me , stock plug cables are known to degrade after some time , magnecore has one of the best plug cables to offer with grounded kit. msd coils 1k-2k , msd dis-2 2-3k , magnecore 1-1.5k

lightened ur pulley of the engines makes the car rev much better
lightened pulley come in many materials , i tink u can do ur homework here about the materials , pulleys that are usually changed is the Main crank pulley
good branded ones would cost 500-800

that is it for now , im out
i havent found anyone locally or internationally making camshafts for the renault clio engine. even ktec doesnt do it(ktec is a renault specialist btw)

im fond with the port and polish but im still unsure where to do it and how much it costs. cant find any custom made valves for the renault engine currently unless they actually custom make it on the fly..

all other parts you listed, i have the same reason for them with the above except for the pulley with myth has it in production, rumors said that they need a test car for the pulley..

and thats what i called an input!! thats a by far better post than any other in this thread! kudos and thanks :shades_smile:
Zach...
since last thread you were say that "i wouldnt want my car to be a fuel consumption truck." and base on your current mod

have you change your piping to mendrel bent piping? RM850 hotbit
lighten crank pulley Mythology (but dun think savvy have on stock) RM 600
your clutch set and fly wheel for better pickup and bite..RM500
PNP and skim head all car can do lar dun worry(but savvy engine not sure) RM850
extrator 4-2-1 i think Savvy amt should use 4-1
adjustable fuel regulator RM300

seriously i dun think many people know how to mod savvy engine even R3 also
i think hotbits made chrome pipes for the savvy and it really isnt significant imho but im trying to import a sports cat from the UK
i dunno whats up with myth and the pulley and their website seems to be down for quite a long time
if your not sure then im clueless :]
nah 4-2-1 is better...
still doing my homework on the fuel reg for renault engine

thanks for the input :cyclops: