frequency range and sound pressure level..

desmond937

Apr 28, 2005
dear all,
Question A:
Speaker A : 60Hz to 20kHz.
Speaker B: 40Hz to 20kHz.

what can i hear from speaker B but not in speaker A? i notice high end speakers can goes down on low frequency.....

Question B:
Speaker A: 85dB
Speaker B: 91dB

what can i hear from speaker B but not in speaker A?

Question C:
Bi-amping and bi-wire means wat? notice some crossover can do this.....explain in detail to me pls?

thanks.
desmond.

Zenn

Jul 12, 2005
the speaker that has lower frequency response (40hz) can give u more midbass
the speaker that has lower sensitivity (85db) will need a more powerful amp.

biamping is connecting a 4ch amp to a passive crossover that has 2 inputs 2 outputs.
bi-wire is like your dvc sub (one amp to 2 terminals)

desmond937

Apr 28, 2005
in laymen term, tweeter suppose to play wat sound? mid bass suppose to play wat sound? confuse la, tweeter play vocal and mid bass play bass? or tweeter play "chik chik chik" and mid bass play more to vocal?

Kippo

Mar 5, 2005
desmond,
tweeter to play high freq.
mid-bass = midrange & mid-bass

desmond937

Apr 28, 2005
mean those above 1000Hz, i can only hear in tweeter rite? means wat kind of sound? human voice when shout? hehe....
midrange and mid bass is to play vocal voice and also drum rite?

gwsallen

Jan 27, 2004
desmond937 said:
mean those above 1000Hz, i can only hear in tweeter rite? means wat kind of sound? human voice when shout? hehe....
midrange and mid bass is to play vocal voice and also drum rite?
average manly voices = 2 - 4kHz

average feminine voices = 3 - 8kHz.

Female who has 3kHz voice are those who drinks a lot, get wat i mean :D j/k

Kippo

Mar 5, 2005
desmond, mid-range driver is generally crossed at 3.5khz. So above than that, the tweeter will take over up to 20khz.

Zenn

Jul 12, 2005
vocals will come from both tweeter and midrange, so u shouldnt use that to compare.

desmond937

Apr 28, 2005
oh i see, thanks for all the sifu teaching me.....i plan to upgrade it by running with active setup when i got enough money to get a warm amp for a/d/s 236