Engine swap

eugenekeith

Nov 11, 2011
hi to all sifus ,
just wanna know that do Honda Civic 1.7 version able to transplant a B18cR engine in ?
if any sifus know whr can do it , hope sifus can provide more info on this dream project of mine .
thanks alot :wavey:

ehdrian

I Don't Care!
Dec 14, 2006
Mostly ppl dump in K series engine..Yet to see B series in Civic ES..Y dun u just plonk in the dc5r engine?

ehdrian

I Don't Care!
Dec 14, 2006

eugenekeith

Nov 11, 2011
wow , thanks ehdrian .
according to JPJ rules , is it possible to jump from 1.7 to 2.0 ?

ehdrian

I Don't Care!
Dec 14, 2006
the limit is 20-25%, if u want to know more then u shud ask runner..still 1.7 to 2.0 is less than 20% increment, so i guess it shud be alright..maybe u can join civic ES forum and ask the bros there..

• Index page

sitnalm

May 6, 2006
yes, agree the procedure was simple as long as u can take 2-3 days leave.
a friend of mine has done conversion from 1.6 to 2.0 and is legally on the road. thus, i suppose 1.7 to 2.0 is not an issue if ur concern is on the cc upgrade permission.

Another thing is engine mounting cannot be modified, right? Legal way that is......

eugenekeith

Nov 11, 2011
Another thing is engine mounting cannot be modified, right? Legal way that is......
ya , as what sifu vr2turbo said , engine mounting will be an issue for the approval right ? and heard that jpj are much more strict for engine approval nowadays compare to the old days . :banghead:

arrowhead

Aug 20, 2004
Damansara/PJ
u can get a mounting kit from hasport (if im not wrong, i know they carry the kit for K20 into EK/EG chassis) AND i've seen a b16a into an ES before. illegal but owner has balls of steel.

best engine for an ES is undoubtedly k20a. dont waste time and money on b-series into an ES chassis. u'll only give urself headache and trouble.

ya , as what sifu vr2turbo said , engine mounting will be an issue for the approval right ? and heard that jpj are much more strict for engine approval nowadays compare to the old days . :banghead:
A lot of chop shop and engine swap happening, that is why JPJ tighten the procedure.
Last time when I did years ago, just have to approach JPJ with the purchase engine papers, registration card, fill in form and immediately they alter and chop the registration card.

skmasterhian

Jun 16, 2006
Penang/pahang
K20A bro because the K20A is a much newer engine and that means that you will get more value for your money.b18's mostly are 10-17 years old....good luck with your project..spare at least 20k for the engine and installation..:biggrin:

Depending on what engine went in, if the power increase is a lot, please mod the suspension and brakes too......

jus wan to find out is there anyway to increase the power of a ori wira 1.5 carbie engine without using forced induction?????