DIY: Golf ball shifter knob

mokomoko

Feb 20, 2006
I was looking around for a new shifter knob to brighten up my already drab looking 11-year old interior. Hunted around and found some neat ones but at very steep prices. So i thought, why not make my own?

Found a nice new golf ball out of the box stolen from me dad's stash, and hey why not? Nice to hold and don't look that weird in the car.

Got a drill, blue tac'd the dimpled sphere shaped victim to ground and grinded away at the bugger.

After that, screwed it in to the shifter stick with brutal force. The inside of the ball is hard rubber so it will expand slightly and follow the contour of the grooves. This makes it firm and tight.

Wa lah! my new shifter knob!:_:

*Thanks to unknown1x for giving me the blue tac idea and forcing me to brutal force the ball into the shifter stick.

Father come after you with his wedge or not? :D

Nice DIY! Will the brutal force stop the ball from slipping?

HKS-GT2835R

Apr 25, 2004
kelate
my vw golf mk2 came stock with the golf ball shif knob lol!

apeez

May 13, 2007
if use snooker 8 ball wud be nicer...bowling ball oso can...haha!

singchaii

Sep 3, 2005
Pandan Jaya, KL
I had alot snooker ball and pool ball at my home.. I had think this idea before but not dare to do.. Maybe I will give a try. But the ball surface was so licin.. Can drill also?

Maxx

Feb 17, 2005
PD-Putrajaya-KL
try make a marking 1st.
make a pilot mark. use nail and hammer.
then try drilling.

singchaii

Sep 3, 2005
Pandan Jaya, KL
Hermm.. Then I give a try this week. Then give you all know the outcome. But how to make the ball stay? later I drill the ball follow the drill turn.

mokomoko

Feb 20, 2006
Hermm.. Then I give a try this week. Then give you all know the outcome. But how to make the ball stay? later I drill the ball follow the drill turn.
Dude, i used blue tac to keep the ball still to drill it.

*unknown1x quote: "give me any ball, I will brutal force it into your shifter!"

A cue ball may crack when u hammer it, it has no rubber inside. Just drill it. Use a sharp edge drill bead.

sexycar

Feb 10, 2004
©ït¥ ðf Thïêvê§
i dont think drilling is a problem... the problem is making the ball lock
tightly onto the shifter's tread. How can u make it fit tightly & not
turn around when we use the shifter through time... sooner or later
it will get loose

Proton Gen 2 Front Position Headlight Bulb Replacement

Tool:
1.Multimeter - 1 unit (for testing)
2.Replacement bulb- 1 unit
Duration: 15-20 minute

Procedure
1. Open up the front hood of your car.
2. Reach your hand to the back of the head light.
3. The low beam head light is at the lower part.

4. Twist the bulb socket...