Caterham takes to the streets with GT5’s Tokyo road course

Dinesh

Oct 13, 2006

No matter how much computer wizardry you inject into it, driving games will never be able to hold a candle to the real feeling of heel-toe downshifting or sensing that the rear end of the car is sliding out and giving it the right amount of counter steering to reign it back in.

The guys at Caterham Japan probably felt the same way.they figured that no matter how good Gran Turismo 5 was, it could never beat the real thing of having the wind blowing in your face behind the wheel of one of their creations.

Hence, they took a Caterham Seven around GT5’s Route 246 course in Tokyo, in real life of course. The course was run in an R300 Superlight just to differentiate it between real life and the console game.

No surprise that the biggest difference would be the infamous Tokyo traffic. And just in cae you’re wondering, the course does start and end right next to Sony’s worldwide headquarters in Tokyo, just like the game.

<iframe src="http://player.vimeo.com/video/17325115" width="400" frameborder="0" height="225"></iframe>Caterham goes around Route 246 (GT5 track) from Remi Schouten on Vimeo.

Source: Caterham Japan

I m considering to get either a DC5 or silvia s15 NA.In terms of pricing of parts,maintenance,stabilility,durability of the car and the resell value,which
one will be better?and which car gets broken into more or stolen?tx to all the
sifus for adavance advises! Hope i can decide ..