buying bmw e30

kob3bryant

Dec 3, 2005
hi everybody
i love the e30 so much
need all the sifu here for opinions

after my seach in this forum
the things i need to take note is the body of the car to avoid any rust,am i rite?
becoz i wan to restore it only and not to transplant the engine at least at this moment
will only go for m-body kit
i found the following car for sale in BMW club website

please share ur opinion
thanks very muchhttp://www.bmwclubmalaysia.com/forums/showthread.php?t=23000

and also wat it the car fuel consumption like?

neuspeed

May 7, 2006
yes bro.. E30 is the best.. u wont regret!!! believe me! bydeway why don u buy the complete done job car. i believe there a quite nice car in the BMW forum. only cost u 15 to 18 k. save ur time. juz basuh kaki.. hehe..

Nobody
Dec 21, 2005
get a e30 & plonk a M50B25...superb :driver:

liauchinfoo

Jun 11, 2006
Bro 5115, plesae share with me some knowledge of plonking a M50B25 in a E30, ok?

liauchinfoo

Jun 11, 2006
I have a E30 year 1983/84 2 doors with M20B20 manual. I heart people saying it is only possible to plonk in the M50B25 engine on those facelift model year 1988 and above, is that true?

Nobody
Dec 21, 2005
e30 only produce m40 & m20,u may take m50 from e36 & find a good workshop to do the job.

pm me for my mech's contact,later ppl will say i gif free advertisement if i post here..

fyi,a m50b25 e36 half cut is 5k and above if im not mistaken

i stand to be corrected & if anyone of u has cheaper half cut,pls share it here,im not selling any,simply just sharing..

sakuragi

I have a E30 year 1983/84 2 doors with M20B20 manual. I heart people saying it is only possible to plonk in the M50B25 engine on those facelift model year 1988 and above, is that true?
It can be done. I had the m50b25tu in my '87 e30 for around 1year and still running great. No problem whatsoever. The only thing important for the project is to get a competent mech for the job, pay good money and patience.

liauchinfoo

Jun 11, 2006
Hi sakuragi, mind to share with me how much you get the half cut or just the engine alone, how about the labour cost and do you use back your gearbox or use the gearbox that come with the M50B25TU? Manual or auto gearbox?

sakuragi

Engine was from e34 and it came with zf 5speed auto g/b and the price should be around 5 - 6k. Initially they offered to modify my previous m20 manual g/b to fit the m50 but i declined and instead traded the auto g/b for e36 getrag 220 manual. Total damage is in the region of 20k.

If you have not own an e30, you should probably get one that came with m50. Saves you time, money and most importantly, headache. Good luck.

liauchinfoo

Jun 11, 2006
Hi sakuragi,

Thanks for sharing with me your damage and experience. So currently you having a M50B20 or M50B25? Initially you use back the original ZP 5 speed auto that come with it and now you change to E36 getrag 220 manual? May I know how much the gearbox cost you?

I already get my E30, but with original M20B20 engine with manual gearbox. I hope to plonk in M52B25 from a 1996 323i auto, is it possible? Anyone done it already in Malaysia?

Nobody
Dec 21, 2005
why dont u plonk in M50B25 with 189hp & 145Nm while M52B25 is only 170hp & 245Nm?M50 is running with cast iron block but M52 is aluminium block.

sakuragi

I'm running M50B25TU. The autobox never got a chance. I swap it with the manual before the installation. I topup around 2k when i returned the auto.

As far as i know, M52 is running OBDII which i've been told is a nightmare to bypass some security features (EWS). Well, that's what i heard. Correct me if i'm wrong. However, it came with twin vanos to compensate the lower hp and I'm not sure if anyone has done it.

As bro 5115 just said, why not just plonk in M50 instead? I think it should be more straight forward.

E36 M50B25TU 189hp / 245Nm
E34 M50B25TU 189hp / 250Nm

Hello Guys ! have a question for u all :)

i want to know if I mod my fog lamp with 8000k HID will JPJ tangkap me ? :bawling: