BOV "pumping air back in"

emptywallet

Mar 27, 2007
hi guys. i'm new to the modding world so forgive the naiveness.

just converted to 4G93T last week and now planning for all the subsequent mods to do.

as most, if not all, turbo car owners religiously go for a bov immediately, in order to showcase and showoff the fact that the engine is macho and powerful, i met a mechanic who thinks otherwise.

he told me something about "redirecting the excessive air back into the car for better air intake, no need woosh-woosh sound" - in his words... more or less (in chinese).

now if you guys don't mind my frankness, most chinese mechanics are english-literaturely challenged, hence the abundance of indegenious anglo-chinese words in workshops such as "ka-la-ji", "beh-ling", "die-saat" etc. which doesn't really help me in understanding what he is trying to say.

he works for a very well-known workshop (which i will casually forget to mention here hence to protect his privacy) and been modding performance cars for a few years there so he must be making some senses, which means i misintepreted his words.

so guys, please help me with my dilemma here, as i would like to showoff my engine as well for 2 reasons; first, it costs me 3-6 months of living-expenses, and second, i need to elaborate my manhood with what's under my car's hood.

is a blow-off-valve necessary and what exactly is the mechanic trying to explain by "redirecting the excessive air back into the engine"? any ideas?

kennethfong

500 RPM
Aug 11, 2004
empty,

you're new, but u can do a search though, plethora of same discussions are available here in the old threads.