Beginner Mods

Mar 27, 2011
Yo! I have a 1996 Kancil 660 awesome condition. And the more I drove it, the more I loved it.
In my opinion, one of the best Kancils I've driven so far, better than my friend's old Kancil.
I wanna do more. I want more. And since I'm new to all this, I wanna ask what would you guys have me do to start off?

I'm more of a power freak, although I can say that I handle my car pretty well.

So, where to start? Get a new engine? Or what do you suggest me do first??

mADmAN

wat to do will depend on how much money u got.....so how much money u got?

give exact numbers for ur budget... "not too expensive la" is not a budget

anyway...for me... i always do the handling and brakes first before going for power. unless i have enough cash to do everything one shot la

Ikmal91

Mar 27, 2011
Well, what if money isn't a problem?
Giving a ball-park figure, I'd say I have around 5k to start.

Handling and brakes first eh? Go on. What to do what to do?

mADmAN

adjustable suspension... brake upgrade (mebbe discs front and rear) and also rims n tires...

and like ensem said.. transplant.

papagoines

Orang Tua
Feb 6, 2006
Rawang/Selangor
5k? me think you can get L5 4cyl turbo halfcut + all bars from ultra racing + decent suspension

After that, upgrade the turbo first and delve in engine management a bit later on... you'll be suprised what a 660 block can achieve...

amrancharger

Jul 19, 2006
y not just buy another modified kancil thru the second hand car yard...
haf a test drive to determine if u like it or not...
keep your current kancil stock...it might be a life saver in the future...

big power comes with BIG INVESTMENT with NO return...

Veloc

May 19, 2010
Sabah
5k can do a lot to kancil bro. I would recomend L5 halfcut. No point going for L2 as you just pay a bit more for a lot more. Or if you want to go illegal and crazy, L900S can ka? Hahahaha...

go for L2s manual halfcut, can even tapau L5(3pistons), L5s(4 pistons) abit manja compared to L2s & its reliable too.....

2nd : there are no rear adjustables for the rear only front. so either u could inject all 4 absorbers with oil, it would be as hard as adjustables. not sure hw much, u need to consult 'fstrader'.

3rd:std L2s front brakes are good enuf edi. just use aftermarket brake pads.

4th. got balance, get a new set of rims.

**otherwise ask papagoines. he is kancil turbo sifu.....

Veloc

May 19, 2010
Sabah
go for L2s manual halfcut, can even tapau L5(3pistons), L5s(4 pistons) abit manja compared to L2s & its reliable too.....

2nd : there are no rear adjustables for the rear only front. so either u could inject all 4 absorbers with oil, it would be as hard as adjustables. not sure hw much, u need to consult 'fstrader'.

3rd:std L2s front brakes are good enuf edi. just use aftermarket brake pads.

4th. got balance, get a new set of rims.

**otherwise ask papagoines. he is kancil turbo sifu.....
Whoa Danz... You played k car before ah? So detailed one... :biggrin:

By the way, what does a bit manja means? More fragile? And why 3 cyl better than 4?

nola....im using std kancil 660 only,
cos i got 4 bro in laws all was using kancil turbo before.....so i learned from them lor......keep changing engine, L2, Ls2,L5,L5s.......they've tried all edi, the best is still L2s.

manja like must take extra care of the engine, if not 1 by 1 will rosak....if Ls2, can tahan abit la......u go for drag or track day also no problem wan.

panjang ensem

Jan 23, 2009
danz said it loud n clear.................L2 memang da best, easy to upgrade....and with enough $$$$$ 200WHP can be acheived no prob.......wat summo u want........hehhehehe

if u go to kelantan or tganu ah, especially during raya eve, all kancil turbo's will come out & play, u can see L2s using TDo4 turbines until they have to cut the front grill for the turbine to stick out with silvia intercooler.......damn...

some say L2s engine was bulletproof engine....

compared to fragile jbjl L5s.....

this only applicable when u going to increase the engine power.....

if stock standard engine comparison i would say jbjl L5s was better in everyday drivability and fuel economy..it got slightly better torque....

bad days comin already...

i found out my Accord SV4 2.0 engine was leaking engile oil~~~

can this be repaired? how much? at where?

if the repair cost is too expensive, then i rather buy a bottle of 4L engine oil and top up when needed...

:(