B16B Block, what crank & rod to put in?

hattech-v

Oct 10, 2004
Seri Kembangan
www.avantech.com.my
ops... forgot to tell.. the engine dia at 7000rpm after serving me 3400km.. one piston gone (not crack or creating hole). its totally destroy.. then a piece of the piston going down to the crank n being kicked out n making a 50cent hole on the block.
no issue on not enuf fuel since i'm using RC 440cc injector with only 60% injector duty cycle being used.

Zeroed

E-Tech

Jun 28, 2005
Johor
Wah... getting serious lah.......

One question pls... 11.6 C.R consider too high for hondas?
(use b16B piston with b18c crank n conrods)
Use to build mivecs at this spec....

Understand B16b has better rs ratio... but need to up the cc too so no choice.. SO cannot rev like motherf##ker lor but maybe still can sream like a pornstar.... lol

J101

Jul 15, 2005
malaysia
hattech
im asking on behalf of myself
where to get the brand new ford 83mm pistons with a good price? thx

the liner can go up to 86mm before leaving only the sleeve.
ford na piston inside b16 n b20 is common...
b16 normally use 83mm one.

shiroitenshi

Apr 18, 2006
wah, while i am out of commission so many nice discussions. have to get new modem. suprisingly, opera mini on mobile phone works quite well with zth.

Ok, now back on pc, lengthier reply now possible.

One thing about big stroke bad for rpm is cylinder bore sidewall loading.. the more severe, the worse the piston pushes on the wall at the bottom of the stroke.

The mat salleh does 9K with 89mm cranks by running good clearances on the bearings, which is why they plastigage everything when they mount the crank and crank bearings, and correct by polishing and bearing sizes.

One or two 'looser' bearings might be okay for normal rpm, but at very high revs, expect a lot of vibration. Something I believe causes some B20B blocks to prematurely fail is something call destructive resonance, due to the crank vibrating on the block.

But overall, the B series stock cranks and rods are quite sturdy, and can push higher rpm, but when people don't bother about crank bearing clearances, I guess it's natural that some blocks fail and some don't.

Zeroed

But is the valve clearance for the ford's pistons suitable? also the resulted compression ratio...

The US fellas also use ARP rod bolts to fix the high rpm bolt stretch problem to increase bearing stability I heard. Seems like a lot has to go to a B20B build to make it reliable.. and even then fear will always be there? lol.

dcloo

May 11, 2005
b16b/b18c/b18b all can go up to 84.. 85 oso can if not mistaken. the only thing is u dare to do it or not...
block guard is a must then... but still will become very fragile..

mine considered mod with oil squitter, piston n rod balanced, type r block brace, type r oil pump, b20b crank, ford 84mm piston, internal vtec oil line, b16a bored 84mm head gasket.
but when u open the engine, the piston was hit top or ur head cause 1 of ur piston crack totally
so next time have to be careful when rebuilt ur b20b

dcloo

May 11, 2005

Understand B16b has better rs ratio... but need to up the cc too so no choice.. SO cannot rev like motherf##ker lor but maybe still can sream like a pornstar.... lol
i'm running CR 13.8 for daily driving (100++KMH a day) so far so good
just u have to be careful of ur water temp have to upgrade to more bigger radiator to keep temp 85-95 on traffic jam
stock honda meter not accurate until 115 degree only will start move up(this was what happen on my own self at last have to replace head gasket)
u think what will happen on ur head n gasket when temp raise up to this high temp
if u still think not cool enough others choice was add on oil cooler
stock oil temp without oil cooler running at 5th gear 120 kmh on days time about 105-120
when u revving up hill like genting highlands 120-145 degree
after install 5th gear 120 kmh 90-105 degree
when revving up hill 100-120 degree
this will cool up ur engine n long lasting for ur engine oil lubricant

shiroitenshi

Apr 18, 2006
wah.. 13.8 CR.. I guess no need to ask about fuel consumption already oh.. :P
No wonder you were suggesting 30+ ignition advance.

Must be running a tad rich to compensate for that high a compression.

What FD are you running? 4.2? or lower?

hattech-v

Oct 10, 2004
Seri Kembangan
www.avantech.com.my

b16b with b18cr crank n rod n pct piston will give u 12.0cr.
it will give u more power at high rpm.. n still u can high rev it...
with proper tuning n cam set properly..

hattech-v

Oct 10, 2004
Seri Kembangan
www.avantech.com.my
But is the valve clearance for the ford's pistons suitable? also the resulted compression ratio...

The US fellas also use ARP rod bolts to fix the high rpm bolt stretch problem to increase bearing stability I heard. Seems like a lot has to go to a B20B build to make it reliable.. and even then fear will always be there? lol.
send it to machine shop. they know how to do it.. same goes to 85mm cf4 piston inside b20.

We will be show casing this 3 months old Nissan Teana. Although it is not a special car but you would be shocked to find out that this is actually a 3 months old but yet looked like a year old car. Owned by a very well known fashion designer in Malaysia, she called us to save her ride from rotting to the ground.

From a distance the car looks like is in a good state but lacking some waxing. We...