B16B Block, what crank & rod to put in?

E-Tech

Jun 28, 2005
Johor
Hi guys...
Need some input or inputs...

Have a B16A in da car now...with CTR cam and valves..
Have a B16B block with all the insides....
Have a B20B block with all the inside frm crv
Can get a b18c crank and rod....

What are the options I have for best combination power & durability?

Cost saving - b16a piston, b16b block, crv crank & rod- >1800cc
Spend some more $$$- b16a piston, b16b block, b18c crank & rod- <1800cc

How? What would be the best option base on the available stuffs above?

Thanks in advance for input....:biggrin:

simplycomplexed

Jun 28, 2007
redorzero.blogspot.com
i think... b16b would be nice. with all the insides. : D
b20b has lower compression so i wouldnt like it.
throw away the b16a? : p

(please dont fire me, i lack knowledge.)

Zeroed

B20B has smaller conrod bolts which are not suitable for high revving, so I wouldnt use those... (if the bolt stretches at high rpm you may spin and destroy a bearing, one of the reasons why B20B hybrids always fail. )

B18C conrods, bolts and pistons would be your best bet I think. B16A pistons will apparently give you 11.6 compression with stock gaskets which is a bit high...

By the way. Does anyone know if the B20B's block sleeves can withstand high rpm VTEC operation? With proper internals...

hattech-v

Oct 10, 2004
Seri Kembangan
www.avantech.com.my
using the right piston, oil squitter, proper afr tuning, balancing, good valvetrain can withstand high rpm revving for b20b...
but again, sometime depen on ur luck... got ppl using b20b standard internal can withstand up to 3 years n some blow their engine right after finish their running in... haha

E-Tech

Jun 28, 2005
Johor
My application will be for "sometimes rev-ing rev-ing"...
Well for B20B conrod bolt matter, I read it somewhere too....

dcloo

May 11, 2005
b16b oversize big bore piston 83mm + block guard will suite for u rev-ing rev-ing
maybe u can get 200 whp depend on ur cam+bla bla bla setup

E-Tech

Jun 28, 2005
Johor
DCLoo...

However B16B oversize to 83mm, B16b crank & rod= 1675cc
If B16B oversize to 83mm, B18c crank & rod= 1888cc nicer right... and maybe good & lasting high rpm revs..

So anyone has this set up?

simplycomplexed

Jun 28, 2007
redorzero.blogspot.com
B20B has smaller conrod bolts which are not suitable for high revving, so I wouldnt use those... (if the bolt stretches at high rpm you may spin and destroy a bearing, one of the reasons why B20B hybrids always fail. )

B18C conrods, bolts and pistons would be your best bet I think. B16A pistons will apparently give you 11.6 compression with stock gaskets which is a bit high...

By the way. Does anyone know if the B20B's block sleeves can withstand high rpm VTEC operation? With proper internals...
the b20b's sleeves are manufactured at 84mm instead of the 81mm on the other B series. i think other sleeves cracks more easily than the b20b one.

Zeroed

>i think other sleeves cracks more easily than the b20b one.

Eh you mean the B20B one cracks more easily? Or that if the B16/B18 is bored to 84mm, the B16/B18 ones crack more easily?

Im really tempted to venture into B20B in the future but the sleeve durability and affordable pistons are my concerns. I heard that the B20B sleeves are built using a different material which will not be as durable as B16/B18 sleeves bored out to 84mm as well, but Im not so sure about that...

hattech-v

Oct 10, 2004
Seri Kembangan
www.avantech.com.my
DCLoo...

However B16B oversize to 83mm, B16b crank & rod= 1675cc
If B16B oversize to 83mm, B18c crank & rod= 1888cc nicer right... and maybe good & lasting high rpm revs..

So anyone has this set up?
haha yes yes the number using b18cr one is very nice....
but u have to remember that b16b have a much better rs ratio compared to b18cr..

b16b = 1.85
b18cr = 1.58

hattech-v

Oct 10, 2004
Seri Kembangan
www.avantech.com.my
>i think other sleeves cracks more easily than the b20b one.

Eh you mean the B20B one cracks more easily? Or that if the B16/B18 is bored to 84mm, the B16/B18 ones crack more easily?

Im really tempted to venture into B20B in the future but the sleeve durability and affordable pistons are my concerns. I heard that the B20B sleeves are built using a different material which will not be as durable as B16/B18 sleeves bored out to 84mm as well, but Im not so sure about that...
not only the sleeve, the block housing oso tend to crack...
mine got hole sumore... 50cent hole.. haha

Zeroed

Aiyak now block housing some more? lol

Did you do any modifications to the internals or just plug and play as standard only?

edit: Saw some pictures of different blocks onlnie. Seems that the B20B has bigger sleeves altogether, the original B16/18 ones wont bore to 84mm so I guess B20B is the only way without resleeving...

hattech-v

Oct 10, 2004
Seri Kembangan
www.avantech.com.my
b16b/b18c/b18b all can go up to 84.. 85 oso can if not mistaken. the only thing is u dare to do it or not...
block guard is a must then... but still will become very fragile..

mine considered mod with oil squitter, piston n rod balanced, type r block brace, type r oil pump, b20b crank, ford 84mm piston, internal vtec oil line, b16a bored 84mm head gasket.