Altezza FAQ

AE111_SEG

May 18, 2005
Putra Heights
Now I see for the first time A03B. I wonder what is the ratio.

AE111_SEG

May 18, 2005
Putra Heights
Hi
Mine is SXE10-AEAVF-R body code but no difference also......... I think R mean grade. Z edition L edition and Base Model.
What I noticed is

1998-2002 model SXE10-AEAVF-Z = Z Edition
SXE10-AEAVF-A = L Edition
SXE10-AEAVF = Base Model
2002-2005 Model SXE10-AEAVF-R = ???????

My axle is A02A on A650E Transmission (5AT)

I notice yours is J160 which is 6MT and your year of Manufacture is Sep 2002.

Maybe 2002 model have a different axle ratio thus AO3B????

Anybody here can confirm.

AE111_SEG

May 18, 2005
Putra Heights
Folks,
I think AO3B is unique to 6MT only. The ratio if not mistaken is 4.300
Can all 6MT member confirm ?

aidmob

Feb 27, 2006
Folks,
I think AO3B is unique to 6MT only. The ratio if not mistaken is 4.300
Can all 6MT member confirm ?
Yeap..the 2002 and above kooki version 6MT come with 4.3 final drive. Wah so envy..:adore:

kurumaebi

Jul 11, 2008
ohoho...thnx for the info bro:smile:
neway...ratio 4.3..no need to envy.coz i drive slow.alwayz play safe...n gently
no meaning:wink:

green

Apr 12, 2005
normally manuals will come with 2 things.

depending on year of manufacture...4.1 or 4.3 final drive.

A03B

A is the pinion/worm gear size..forget that
03 is the 4.3 final drive
01 = 3.9 (all AT has it)
02 = 4.1

A = open diff..no good
B = LSD!!!

anyone wants to sell their rear axle or LSD let me know

p.s only the original toyota oem LSD...not any mechanical 2-1.5 way thx

pm me.

AE111_SEG

May 18, 2005
Putra Heights
Thanks for the info. Pls keep your observation coming.

BTW A02A also in 5AT. meaning 4.1 also comes in 5AT.

AE111_SEG

May 18, 2005
Putra Heights
mee too....... I got A02A........but want A02B....he he he

lemanmuslim

Sep 5, 2008
Hi Altezza bros. I'm new, very2 new to this forum. Btw, just need some advises from all members. I'll be back to Malaysia in 2 years time and currently seeking for a car to be brought back in then. I'm considering to buy an Altezza here. At the same time thinking of a Bimmer (318 0r 320) as well, but more towards Altezza lah.

Can you all advise me on comparison of these cars in terms of maintenance, fuel consumption, market price, resale price, spare parts availability, clubs to be joined, etc).

I heard those conti's are quite expensive to maintain? (not sure) and the Jap's are cheaper. I know it's rare to see Altezza in Malaysia compared to Bimmers, so worried about parts availability, service centre. And I heard Toyota Malaysia don't support on this model also?

So please guys, give your opinions. For a standard 1999 RS200 Z model (5AT), cost for me to bring back one is RM55k. Is it still worth? What year model should I look for? the newer, the better?

Thanks for helping. :wavey:

AE111_SEG

May 18, 2005
Putra Heights
Hi
BMW 320i is no comparison for Altezza..... period...... The only thing BMW is good for is the badge which has status & prestige.
But if you are not that particular then Altezza is fine.

Since you are coming back in 2 years time then better bring back 2005model. New as possible if your budget permit. Else 99,00,01 model also can lah. In terms of :

1) Fuel consumption => 5AT 450km to 500KM. Depending how well the
car is maintained. Also How you drive.
General a mix driving 50% City and 50%
highway with ocasional 7,000rpm should give
you the above range.

2) Market price => 98 model = 75K - 78K
99 model = 80K -85K
00 model = 90K -95K
01 model = 100K -105K
02 model = 110 -115K
03 model = So far none for sale.
04 model = So far none for sale.
05 model = So far none for sale.
The price will vary according to MT or AT and general condition.

3) Spare parts => Vision + Wing Hin + ST Auto + Trial Tunning Sdn Bhd.
Common replacement parts are readily available.
Not so common need to order and the above
ppl will place an order for you if you need.
Part price are reasonable but not as expensive as
BMW. Generally very reliable car if you do the
standard maintenance.i.e change oil regularly.
No need to reset OBD after service like BMW
and also no need to worry about module problem
which plaque BMW now days.
Generally the only common thing that may need
replacing is the O2 sensor before the cat converter.
Before shipping to Mal have it changed in Japan.
Other than that this car is easy to maintain
compared to BMW. BMW have parts readily available
but the frequency of part replacement and cost
is high. So if reliability and durability is your priorty
then Altezza is for you. If you are adventurous
then Japan Yahoo Auction and Bidtrade can bring in
std and aftermarket parts for you. Some member
here are addicted to this . ha ha ha u know who u
are.

4) Workshops => Trial Tunning Sdn Bhd + Vision Bangsar + Dori Dori
monsterezza's place I think. And there are few other
cant remember the name. Generally all workshop
can handle standard maintenace. Just like a
regular Toyota . No need specialist care.
Only things like Timing Belt change,
Diagnostic check you will need to go to the
specialist named above.

5) Clubs to be joined => There are quite a few Altezza in Malaysia and
and not a common as a 320i. That is the best
part of owning an Altezza. We dont have an
official club yet. We are working on it.

There are few members here brought their car back from Japan.

Anyway here some tip and link on checking the year of manufacture

Check Manufacture Year - Japan Partner

Also the chassis plate can reveal alot info about the car. i.e

L edition or Z Edition
LSD or No LSD
FGR = 3.9 or 4.1 or 4.3. (Final Gear Ratio)
6 MT Manual or 5 AT Auto

Final word : Pls read through the whole forum here if you want to know more about owning Altezza in Malaysia.

lemanmuslim

Sep 5, 2008
whoa... thankx for lots of info bro AE111_SEG. i'll do homework on it. anyway i'm not based in japan, but new zealand. there are heaps of altezzas here. can see anywhere on the road. mostly come from japan la, of course.

yeah, apparently my budget would only permit me to get either 1999 or 2000 model, i suppose. 2004 or 2005 cost nearly double. mostly range from 70+++ to 120+++kms. u reckon those car still reliable with that kind of kms? coz i saw from some advertisements in this forum, some cars are very low kms, like 40-50+++kms.

what should be the ideal figure?

AE111_SEG

May 18, 2005
Putra Heights
NZ I heard there is quite a bit if Altezza from Japan..........

If the car is maintained regularly then the mileage shouldnt be a big issue. Pls also get more info from Australia Forum. Very good site. Recommended.

Welcome to the Official Altezza Club of Australia

This site is full of info from Aus and NZ. This will be useful for you.
Register and start asking question on Altezza there.

anyone knows where i can rewrap my old stereng...the top beginning 2 peel off already....anyone did it b4 ar?