Altezza FAQ

Lumix

Known Member
Senior Member

Lumix

Known Member
Senior Member
May 17, 2004
122
5
3,018
Altezza 5AT

VEHICLE WEIGHT: 1,330/1360/1380 KG (BASE MODEL/Z EDITION/L EDITION)
TURNING RADIUS: 5.1
FUEL CONSUMPTION: 11.0

ENGINE:
YAMAHA TUNED 3S-GE BEAMS 16V DUAL VVT-i
WATER COOLED INLINE 4 DOHC
CAPACITY: 1998cc
BORE X STROKE: 86.0 X 86.0
COMPRESSION RATIO: 11.5
MAX. POWER: 147kW 200PS @ 7,000 RPM
MAX TORQUE: 216 Nm 22 KGm @ 4,800 RPM

FUEL TANK CAPACITY: 60 L

GEAR RATIO:
1ST 3.357
2ND 2.180
3RD 1.424
4TH 1.000
5TH 0.753
6TH -
REV 3.431

FINAL DRIVE 4.1

------------------------------------------------------------

Altezza 6MT

VEHICLE WEIGHT: 1,340/1360/1370 KG (BASE MODEL/Z EDITION/L EDITION)
TURNING RADIUS: 5.1
FUEL CONSUMPTION: 11.4<11.6>

ENGINE:
YAMAHA TUNED 3S-GE BEAMS 16V DUAL VVT-i
WATER COOLED INLINE 4 DOHC
CAPACITY: 1998cc
BORE X STROKE: 86.0 X 86.0
COMPRESSION RATIO: 11.5
MAX. POWER: 154kW 210PS @ 7,600 RPM
MAX TORQUE: 216 Nm 22 KGm @ 6,400 RPM

FUEL TANK CAPACITY: 60 L

GEAR RATIO:
1ST 3.874
2ND 2.175
3RD 1.484
4TH 1.223
5TH 1.000
6TH 0.869
REV 3.672

FINAL DRIVE 4.300 <4.100>

------------------------------------------------------------
Equipment Level

L = Leather interior
Z = electric options and HID
B = All standard

1.5 way LSD standard
Oil Cooler Standard
PCD 5x 114.3
Offsets (General):
17x7j +40~45
17x7.5j +40
17x8j +30~42
18x7.5j +38~48
18x8j +35
18x8.5j +38~45


------------------------------------------------------------
Difference between Altezza & IS200

Altezza/IS200

SXE-10/GXE-10
3S-GE/1G-FE
Inline 4/Inline 6
210 PS/160 PS

Short+thick / thin+long antenna
4 brake lights / 2 brake lights

--------------------------------------------------------------
Altezza Chassis code

6MT RS200 : GF-SXE10-AEFVF
Z Edition : GF-SXE10-AEFVF(Z)
L Edition : GF-SXE10-AEFVF(A)

5AT RS200 : GF-SXE10-AEAVF
Z Edition : GF-SXE10-AEAVF(Z)
L Edition : GF-SXE10-AEAVF(A)


6MT AS200 : TA-GXE10-AEFVK
Z Edition : TA-GXE10-AEFVK(Z)
L Edition : TA-GXE10-AEFVK(A)

4AT AS200 : TA-GXE10-AEPVK
Z Edition : TA-GXE10-AEPVK(Z)
L Edition : TA-GXE10-AEPVK(A)
 
Last edited:

sbirdz

1,500 RPM
Senior Member

sbirdz

1,500 RPM
Senior Member
Mar 27, 2005
1,851
29
3,148
S.Kembangan
sbirdz_jackals.blogs.friendster.com
hey guys, can't find a proper page but i guess this FAQ page is meant by Q&A session right..

^_^

As i know, last time i see err.. Jahax, ur engine is what engine r? 2zzge right? not 3sge right?... aint too sure also le..haha!! long time already... ok.. back to my questions..

I have a friend who is searching for an altezza after kenak pyscho by haha!! toyota kakis..haha! :P

His question is that.. What is the different between 2zzge engine and 3sge? in terms of:
1. powers, bhp..
2. engine cost? like altezza with 2zzge issit more $$ compare to an altezza with 3sge?
3. Upgrading version? 2zzge to supercharger? 3sge to 3sgte?

and also.. altezza is actually running on 3 cam shaft right? and what is the different between vvtl-i and dual vvt? well, as i know.. ur 2zzge is consider as new year 2000 century N.A class engine and they are running on a new system called by VVTL-i.. ^_^

^_^ i check back later.. hopefully brother who remember me can give me some answer la..haha!! :D

ciaos!~~ and thanks in advance first.. :P
 

porosaki

1,000 RPM
Senior Member

porosaki

1,000 RPM
Senior Member
Sep 16, 2004
1,084
4
3,138
Visit site
I have a friend who is searching for an altezza after kenak pyscho by (who) haha!! toyota kakis..haha! :P

His question is that.. What is the different between 2zzge (190hp) engine and 3sge (210hp)? in terms of:
1. powers, bhp..
2. engine cost? like altezza with 2zzge(4k plus) (no altezza with this engine) issit more $$ compare to an altezza with 3sge (about the same)?
3. Upgrading version? 2zzge to supercharger? 3sge (better with bolt-ons) to 3sgte?

and also.. altezza is actually running on 3 cam shaft (inlet & exhaust cam = 2 camshaft) right? and what is the different between vvtl-i (single variable valve timing & lifting) and dual vvt (both camshaft is variable valve timing NO lifting)? well, as i know.. ur 2zzge is consider as new year 2000 century N.A class engine and they are running on a new system called by VVTL-i.. ^_^ (its because of its fuel economy, light weight, compact and new specification)
 

JaHaX

1,500 RPM
Senior Member

JaHaX

1,500 RPM
Senior Member
Sep 21, 2005
1,859
8
1,638
Kuala Lumpur
Oic ... sbirdz ...

my engine is 3sge lorrr ... not 2zztop or whatever ... hahaha ... might change to 2jzgte ... hehehe
 

sbirdz

1,500 RPM
Senior Member

sbirdz

1,500 RPM
Senior Member
Mar 27, 2005
1,851
29
3,148
S.Kembangan
sbirdz_jackals.blogs.friendster.com
0_o wah seh.. i read until wanna pengsan!! MArtin!!! hahaha.. ^_^ blur la..haha!! macam guru besar correcting my exercise book.. hahah!! ^_^ aiseh.. :P

ok.. so that means.. 2zzge ain't on our local market here.. and 210 bhp.. hmn....

ok then.. what is the differences of Z series? what.. aiyo!! i wanna pengsan already here.. got how many version of altezza now in the market here?? The unregistered version.. Hear from him got Z version(final?) then err..

hahha!! and i am not too understand on the part of the vvtl-i and dual vvt... does those engines are builded in with dual vvti + vvtl-i? eerr... vvti x 2 + vvtl-i, then mai jadi.. vvvttl-i... hahhah!! pengsan me.. ^_^ bare on with me le.. haha!! :D dun burn me down please...
 

3SGE

Known Member
Senior Member

3SGE

Known Member
Senior Member
Nov 5, 2004
58
0
3,006
KL
Visit site
Hey...does any bro here know wut is the auto max speed with final drive 4.7? Thanks:regular_smile:
 

porosaki

1,000 RPM
Senior Member

porosaki

1,000 RPM
Senior Member
Sep 16, 2004
1,084
4
3,138
Visit site
How about the maintenance? (like servicing a VIOS. no special care needed. put better engine oil like TOYOTA FULLY SYNTHETIC)
Is it expensive to maintain the car? (unless u driving a BMW/MERC. its just a normal yota with a mild steroid engine.)
How about the fuel consumption? manual 520km extra urban. average u get 11 km/litre. also take care of the O2 & air flow sensors and it will take care of ur wallet!)
 

porosaki

1,000 RPM
Senior Member

porosaki

1,000 RPM
Senior Member
Sep 16, 2004
1,084
4
3,138
Visit site
0_o wah seh.. i read until wanna pengsan!! MArtin!!! hahaha.. ^_^ blur la..haha!! macam guru besar correcting my exercise book.. hahah!! ^_^ aiseh.. :P

ok.. so that means.. 2zzge ain't on our Altezza engine compartment & not, not in local market here.. and 210 bhp.. hmn....

ok then.. what is the differences of Z series(there is N,Z & L edition. pls refer to above)? what.. aiyo!! i wanna pengsan already here.. got how many version of altezza now in the market here?? The unregistered version.. Hear from him got Z version(final?) then err..

hahha!! and i am not too understand on the part of the vvtl-i and dual vvt... does those engines is builded in with (Dual VVt-i for altezza) & (Single VVTL-i for celica)? eerr... (vvti x 2 is 1 engine which is 3S-GE) & (vvtl-i is another engine which is 2ZZ-GE),
 

tcdotkong

Junior Member
Senior Member

tcdotkong

Junior Member
Senior Member
May 30, 2006
16
0
1,501
Sorry ha! May I ask, for Z-edition what does it mean : electric options and HID ??

HID stands for the front lights right? Then what are the electric options available ?
 

Lumix

Known Member
Senior Member

Lumix

Known Member
Senior Member
Thread starter
May 17, 2004
122
5
3,018
dotkong,

Z-edition without leather interior, for eletric options available.. i guess it can have HID, sunroof, and heated seat...
 

220mph

Known Member
Senior Member

220mph

Known Member
Senior Member
Mar 31, 2006
453
28
1,528
kl
i m having problem.. wanted to know izzit me or its usuall..
1st gear doesnt feel enough torque...
power after 80kmh - 200kmh is pleasently good..
few days ago only discover that previous owner from japan had mod a custom manifold pipe..
suspected it have something to do with the bad manifold..
i have photo under the car, but i guess it wont help much.

so what i want to know is, does all altezza have mild 1st gear torque?
or will a bad manifold really infect our 1st gear torque so great..
and between, mine is 5a/t tip tronic..
and have any 1 test out the original speedometer ..
i mean izzit really 180kmh as it shown compare to RSM or any other car..?
coz its too stable and make me hardly believe i m on 180 la..: Not_Impressed:
 

rinagi

500 RPM
Senior Member

rinagi

500 RPM
Senior Member
Sep 4, 2005
634
1
1,518
K.L
220mph said:
i m having problem.. wanted to know izzit me or its usuall..
1st gear doesnt feel enough torque...
power after 80kmh - 200kmh is pleasently good..
few days ago only discover that previous owner from japan had mod a custom manifold pipe..
suspected it have something to do with the bad manifold..
i have photo under the car, but i guess it wont help much.

so what i want to know is, does all altezza have mild 1st gear torque?
or will a bad manifold really infect our 1st gear torque so great..
and between, mine is 5a/t tip tronic..
and have any 1 test out the original speedometer ..
i mean izzit really 180kmh as it shown compare to RSM or any other car..?
coz its too stable and make me hardly believe i m on 180 la..: Not_Impressed:

too stable? haahah.. having an altezza is like having a beemer. In Japan, an altezza is in higher class compared to camry. The production of Altezza in year 1998 is to compete with the 3 series. FYI, auto is auto can't compare to manual. what u're experiencing now is NORMAL. manifold? why custom manifold? do u mean the 'extractor' - the front exhaust? for auto, it's a RESTRICTION to change it.
 

220mph

Known Member
Senior Member

220mph

Known Member
Senior Member
Mar 31, 2006
453
28
1,528
kl
rinagi said:
too stable? haahah.. having an altezza is like having a beemer. In Japan, an altezza is in higher class compared to camry. The production of Altezza in year 1998 is to compete with the 3 series. FYI, auto is auto can't compare to manual. what u're experiencing now is NORMAL. manifold? why custom manifold? do u mean the 'extractor' - the front exhaust? for auto, it's a RESTRICTION to change it.
i m not sure did i overated it with the word of too stable...
since i m comparing it to my last car VIOS.. haha..
and yes i do mean extrctor...
i m not sure y those japanese made a custom 1 sine i m buying a re-con 1...
for me torque coming around 5000rpm its a little late sine it end at 7000 without speeed cut...
its there any tunning device to make it come earlier.. :)
 

220mph

Known Member
Senior Member

220mph

Known Member
Senior Member
Mar 31, 2006
453
28
1,528
kl
not sure where to ask this...
but this is a project i m currently going on...

have any1 tried to convert our ori altezza nevigation system screen to dvd watchable..
i m not sure r they lazy or what, but those ICE shop worker told me its hard/ impossible because it got no AV output/ input receiver...
it say it only has tv receiver...
how true is that?
 

rinagi

500 RPM
Senior Member

rinagi

500 RPM
Senior Member
Sep 4, 2005
634
1
1,518
K.L
220mph said:
i m not sure did i overated it with the word of too stable...
since i m comparing it to my last car VIOS.. haha..
and yes i do mean extrctor...
i m not sure y those japanese made a custom 1 sine i m buying a re-con 1...
for me torque coming around 5000rpm its a little late sine it end at 7000 without speeed cut...
its there any tunning device to make it come earlier.. :)
try looking for TRIAL (William 012 213 9861 'currently went back japan will be back next week') or (Weng Yan 012 330 8199). They deal a lot of Altezza in their shop.
 

ARSSS

Known Member
Senior Member

ARSSS

Known Member
Senior Member
Jul 17, 2006
263
3
1,518
Lumix said:
dotkong,

Z-edition without leather interior, for eletric options available.. i guess it can have HID, sunroof, and heated seat...
Mine got snow & power switch near the gear knob.. what is power button for?

When I pressed the button.. green indicator ECT POWER lit up... no clue what is this?
 

220mph

Known Member
Senior Member

220mph

Known Member
Senior Member
Mar 31, 2006
453
28
1,528
kl
ARSSS said:
Mine got snow & power switch near the gear knob.. what is power button for?

When I pressed the button.. green indicator ECT POWER lit up... no clue what is this?
mine too... not sure about the power button function.... any1 here with answer?
 

JayDM

500 RPM
Senior Member

JayDM

500 RPM
Senior Member
Mar 2, 2006
663
151
1,543
KL
Bros,

The buttons have been discussed before, its for traction control

Use the search tool to find the thread within this forum, i cant remember which one

Cheers:shades_smile:
 

JayDM

500 RPM
Senior Member

JayDM

500 RPM
Senior Member
Mar 2, 2006
663
151
1,543
KL
And NO, its not the 'Buttons' song from the Pussy Cat Dolls...hahah
 

220mph

Known Member
Senior Member

220mph

Known Member
Senior Member
Mar 31, 2006
453
28
1,528
kl
JayDM said:
Bros,

The buttons have been discussed before, its for traction control

Use the search tool to find the thread within this forum, i cant remember which one

Cheers:shades_smile:
cant find the tread so got to send out more question.. hahaha
yes, sound logic too if the snow button is for traction control..
but how about the power button?
hopefully some1 can come out with a solid answer :confused_smile:
 

220mph

Known Member
Senior Member

220mph

Known Member
Senior Member
Mar 31, 2006
453
28
1,528
kl
rinagi said:
try looking for TRIAL (William 012 213 9861 'currently went back japan will be back next week') or (Weng Yan 012 330 8199). They deal a lot of Altezza in their shop.
hi again... u r the white colour 1 rite... remember me... the kid with black coluor and lexus badge....
 

porosaki

1,000 RPM
Senior Member

porosaki

1,000 RPM
Senior Member
Sep 16, 2004
1,084
4
3,138
Visit site
less torque cause u missing your 2 cat which only auto manifold has. that play an important part for low end torque as auto is tune different from manual.

our car reach 180km/h smooth and quick as if its not real at all. it normal cause our car noise insulation is of high standard and comparable to continental cars.
 

ARSSS

Known Member
Senior Member

ARSSS

Known Member
Senior Member
Jul 17, 2006
263
3
1,518
220mph said:
cant find the tread so got to send out more question.. hahaha
yes, sound logic too if the snow button is for traction control..
but how about the power button?
hopefully some1 can come out with a solid answer :confused_smile:
I agree... The TRC button & Snow button related to traction... but I dont think Power button to do with Traction.. senior guys.. pls help us to understand this button..
 

220mph

Known Member
Senior Member

220mph

Known Member
Senior Member
Mar 31, 2006
453
28
1,528
kl
porosaki said:
less torque cause u missing your 2 cat which only auto manifold has. that play an important part for low end torque as auto is tune different from manual.

our car reach 180km/h smooth and quick as if its not real at all. it normal cause our car noise insulation is of high standard and comparable to continental cars.
when the car is hang up i saw 1 cat only.. Hmmm... if its like u said.. i think that might be the cause... so do u have any suggestion for me to solve this problem.. does it mean i need to change the whole piping from front to back?
 

porosaki

1,000 RPM
Senior Member

porosaki

1,000 RPM
Senior Member
Sep 16, 2004
1,084
4
3,138
Visit site
either change it to oem extractor of get an aftermarket ECU to re-tune it.
Exhaust flow sudah lari from what OEM ECU are suppose to give optimum fuel ratio on that laried particular rpm range. GET what i mean?


no need to change whole piping.
 

220mph

Known Member
Senior Member

220mph

Known Member
Senior Member
Mar 31, 2006
453
28
1,528
kl
porosaki said:
either change it to oem extractor of get an aftermarket ECU to re-tune it.
Exhaust flow sudah lari from what OEM ECU are suppose to give optimum fuel ratio on that laried particular rpm range. GET what i mean?


no need to change whole piping.
get it loud n clear bro...
i will send it to shop and will try to share on what happen later to it..
 

rinagi

500 RPM
Senior Member

rinagi

500 RPM
Senior Member
Sep 4, 2005
634
1
1,518
K.L
220mph said:
when the car is hang up i saw 1 cat only.. Hmmm... if its like u said.. i think that might be the cause... so do u have any suggestion for me to solve this problem.. does it mean i need to change the whole piping from front to back?
TRIAL had my auto extractor. ask him to gib u a try on it. William is easy going. If you're feeling shy, gib me a call (012 204 3330) n i'll bring u there. It's just less than 2 km from my office.
 

Alchemis

1,000 RPM
Senior Member

Alchemis

1,000 RPM
Senior Member
Dec 13, 2005
1,416
47
1,648
hey all,

i was wondering if Altezza is a good car for daily drive ?
do the Altezza have any sensitive part in the engine ?
or any reliability mods that can make the car goes smooth and powerful without problem ?

oh yeah... i drive a FD.... pain in my pocket in term of fuel....
always worried about running lean causing Apex seal break.
that's why run rich is always better than lean... so rich = money goes to exhaust...
the ride... of course it's harsh .....noisy... bumpy (cornering is good).....
but the car is POWERRRRRRRRRRRRRRR

help to shed some ideas.... planning to get one altezza next year for my daily powerful and smooth ride. driven before one at one of the show room... found that the car is very easy to drive.,.... and 4 doors :).......
 

220mph

Known Member
Senior Member

220mph

Known Member
Senior Member
Mar 31, 2006
453
28
1,528
kl
Alchemis said:
hey all,

i was wondering if Altezza is a good car for daily drive ?
do the Altezza have any sensitive part in the engine ?
or any reliability mods that can make the car goes smooth and powerful without problem ?

oh yeah... i drive a FD.... pain in my pocket in term of fuel....
always worried about running lean causing Apex seal break.
that's why run rich is always better than lean... so rich = money goes to exhaust...
the ride... of course it's harsh .....noisy... bumpy (cornering is good).....
but the car is POWERRRRRRRRRRRRRRR

help to shed some ideas.... planning to get one altezza next year for my daily powerful and smooth ride. driven before one at one of the show room... found that the car is very easy to drive.,.... and 4 doors :).......

for me its..
reliable...comfort...not too extreem..
get rm 100 / 500plus km on city and 550plus in highway for FC..
i would cosider it as ideal consumption comparing to most car..
suspension... ori sucks... aftermarket is needed man..
overall.. for its price beeing... its still damm worth..
thats for me atleast...
 

Alchemis

1,000 RPM
Senior Member

Alchemis

1,000 RPM
Senior Member
Dec 13, 2005
1,416
47
1,648
just curious..... i tot those altezzas are equipped with super struts.... known to be damn good in handling and ride comfort ?

seems like there's no reason for me NOT to get this car :)

will slowly source one.. once i got it... i'll join u guys.... :)
 

JayDM

500 RPM
Senior Member

JayDM

500 RPM
Senior Member
Mar 2, 2006
663
151
1,543
KL
Alchemis,

It will be a breeze to maintain the 3sge engine compared to the rotary.

Hope u get one, cheers man:shades_smile:
 

Lumix

Known Member
Senior Member

Lumix

Known Member
Senior Member
Thread starter
May 17, 2004
122
5
3,018
Relay and fuse box
see the green and blue thing?
Pull them out carefully



kanazai2001 said:
dear all,
anyone know how to disable the tracontrol, abs and the drive-by-wire of altezza? @.@
 

Lumix

Known Member
Senior Member

Lumix

Known Member
Senior Member
Thread starter
May 17, 2004
122
5
3,018
most probably it will... better dont do it unless necessary..
 

kanazai2001

1,000 RPM
Senior Member

kanazai2001

1,000 RPM
Senior Member
Jul 13, 2005
1,031
0
1,636
home
disable... handicap...

ee.e.r.r... :emoticon_U:
mean if i really wanna disable the tracontrol, abs n drive-by-wire... i have to go for after market ecu?! :bawling: :banghead:
 

220mph

Known Member
Senior Member

220mph

Known Member
Senior Member
Mar 31, 2006
453
28
1,528
kl
huh!!1 didnt even know our car are " drive by wire".. and mine doesnt event have raction control ... ? slip all over the place.. how come?
 

hansc

Known Member
Senior Member

hansc

Known Member
Senior Member
Nov 14, 2003
490
30
3,028
KL/WP
Visit site
i noticed some altezza comes with traction control and some dont...... mine doesnt have...... saw one for sale near ss2...... white color with kelantan plate..... it comes with traction control.....
 

Z_Edition

500 RPM
Senior Member

Z_Edition

500 RPM
Senior Member
Aug 11, 2006
500
1
1,518
In Japan, lot's of stuff, such as LSD, Traction Control, Light Level Sensor, etc are optional. Even the courtesy light (the red light at the front doors) are optional.
 

kanazai2001

1,000 RPM
Senior Member

kanazai2001

1,000 RPM
Senior Member
Jul 13, 2005
1,031
0
1,636
home
drive-by-wire...

220mph said:
huh!!1 didnt even know our car are " drive by wire".. and mine doesnt event have raction control ... ? slip all over the place.. how come?
2.2 MPH book store?! -_-"...
most basic options r with traX or without traX...
drive-by-wire is the standard...
if u dont hv drive-by-wire... then i really dont know what to say...
to check...
if there r no hard cable attached from ur acceleration paddle to ur throttle... mean u have a drive-by-wire system...
 

220mph

Known Member
Senior Member

220mph

Known Member
Senior Member
Mar 31, 2006
453
28
1,528
kl
kanazai2001 said:
2.2 MPH book store?! -_-"...
most basic options r with traX or without traX...
drive-by-wire is the standard...
if u dont hv drive-by-wire... then i really dont know what to say...
to check...
if there r no hard cable attached from ur acceleration paddle to ur throttle... mean u have a drive-by-wire system...
what the best u get out of urself by making fun at others forumers nick? :Not_Impressed:
ofcoz i know what i m saying..
ABS functioning perfect..
still really doesnt think mine is "drive-by-wire" , ofcoz it will need some detail checking for comfirmation..
n by the way mine is tiptronic L-edition..
 
Last edited:

kanazai2001

1,000 RPM
Senior Member

kanazai2001

1,000 RPM
Senior Member
Jul 13, 2005
1,031
0
1,636
home
220mph said:
what the best u get out of urself by making fun at others forumers nick? :Not_Impressed:
ofcoz i know what i m saying..
ABS functioning perfect..
still really doesnt think mine is "drive-by-wire" , ofcoz it will need some detail checking for comfirmation..
n by the way mine is tiptronic L-edition..

sorry bookstore...
not interested in AT... :mouth_closed:
 

tuned

Noob
Senior Member

tuned

Noob
Senior Member
Jul 4, 2005
731
2
1,518
Shah Alam
220mph said:
for me its..
reliable...comfort...not too extreem..
get rm 100 / 500plus km on city and 550plus in highway for FC..
i would cosider it as ideal consumption comparing to most car..
suspension... ori sucks... aftermarket is needed man..
overall.. for its price beeing... its still damm worth..
thats for me atleast...
wow sorry to interrupt...
but that's a seriously good fc.....
is this on a manual or at? Z edition?