AE101 Modification advise

glozz

Jan 26, 2003
Good Day,

Recently purchased a 1991 Trueno AE101 Auto with 4AGE 20v bt. The car's pretty much stock at this time. Sound proofing was performed on this car for the 4 doors. I've done the following:

1. Drop-in HKS air Filter (Will change to KNN later)
2. Voltage Stabilizer
3. APM Performax Springs on the front

Thinking of getting the entire pulley set changed to lightened parts but am just wondering whether it'll be worth it.

Would like some advise on what I can/should do or look to do for the next 1 year. I'm estimating about 5-10k budget to play around. Basically; looking for around 200 horses daily comfortable ride (no high revs drag racing for me:biggrin:) with decent consumption (can get 450-500km on a full tank depending on driving style and jams currently). I drive highways currently daily with mix of town here and there.

I'm deciding also whether I should maintain the stock NA or go the turbocharging/supercharging route. Appreciate all the advise and thanks in advance.

jim260184

Jul 19, 2005
Seremban
www.meshio.com
200 horses daily comfortable ride -->a bit hard..
no high revs drag racing --> hard 2 do 4 200hp on NA
can get 450-500km on a full tank --> maintain stock svt or bt will do..

sbirdz

Mar 27, 2005
S.Kembangan
sbirdz_jackals.blogs.friendster.com
:biggrin::biggrin: Nothing else but fully agree... Dun aspect much if u dun willingly to sacrifice too much...

My car now is rocking stiff because i sacrifice a thing called "COrnerning"

My car can misfire and breathe hard because i sacrificed a thing called "Speeds & Revs"

^-^ ends up... 300km plus for a rm70 full tanks.. FUIYO!!!!

SCOOTERAZI la!!! wait whut... :D :thefinger::thefinger: thank for god i got my scooter.. hahaha!!

--------------
For stock, rm10k... :)

Just play with basic thing etc...
- body kits
- better spark plugs
- you dun really need pulley here(vvt systems is a gift-of-god from toyota)
- a better 2.3 inch flow exhaust... with extractors..
- and with perhaps a open pod-air-filters to balance back ur huge exhaust..

^-^ walahasss.... there u goes.. rm10k gone... :D i think still got left over a bit rights?... minus petrol fuel, research on diggin... and teh tariking with other crew for info and parts.. :D hahaha!!

AE101-Wong

Jul 26, 2006
from what u had stated it seems impossible on BT or SVT or even other engine....lolzzz

KHWONG

Jun 29, 2006
x $$$$$$$$$$ is impossible ..

got $$$$$ all is possible..

but RM10k for 200hp NA.. errrr.. susah a bit i guess

to build a car which can withstand of 200NA daily drive car... i think u need another Rm10k for improving ur car suspension, exterior, chasis... hahahah

glozz

Jan 26, 2003
Thanks for all the comments. I think I wasn't specific enough.

10k was meant for engine upgrades. Exterior including suspension has already been mostly done up and just require another 4-5k which is a separate budget for me. Exhaust has already been done but still using stock 4-2-1 extractor. Will changing to a 4-1 extractor make much diff for an auto? Spark plus + cables has already been done as well.

So, 'cause of the VVT on the car, I shouldn't change to lightened pulleys? Thinking of plonking in a Unichip or similar piggyback as well. Or would going for a standalone ECU be better?

scottwrx

Nov 18, 2007
Thanks for all the comments. I think I wasn't specific enough.

10k was meant for engine upgrades. Exterior including suspension has already been mostly done up and just require another 4-5k which is a separate budget for me. Exhaust has already been done but still using stock 4-2-1 extractor. Will changing to a 4-1 extractor make much diff for an auto? Spark plus + cables has already been done as well.

So, 'cause of the VVT on the car, I shouldn't change to lightened pulleys? Thinking of plonking in a Unichip or similar piggyback as well. Or would going for a standalone ECU be better?
bro... the first thing is to dump auto gb, change to manual 6 speed - 2.5k
extractor the best is hks 441 or fgk 421, according a lot of satisfied user, including me.. ( i have yet to test fgk leh.. any sifu wanna lend me ar? ) 1.5k

trumpet - rm700 - rm1000

piping use apexi n1 gt - supposed to be the best for 20v - 1.7k

light weight rim ( te37, enkei rpo1, enkei cps) - 2.3k

racing flywheel - toda, hks or trd - 1k

fuel regulator - rm300

plug cable rm300

spark plug rm200

but i have almost all the item above, and i only get 140 hp.. so to get 180 bhp.. u need 20k..

hi cam 3k
management 3k
valve spring - 1k
hi comp piston - 1.5k
metal gasket - rm350
adjustable cam pulley - rm700
port polish n blue print n balancing - 2k

and many many others small small stuff

a lot of things need to consider lah.. coz when u target 200 bhp, u will lose mid low end power, lose torque and the drivability-comfort..

as for turbo charged route- i dun have experience.. so no comment..

this is all is all i know, if wrong sifus please correct me....

TRD.AE92

Apr 10, 2009
a lot of things need to consider lah.. coz when u target 200 bhp, u will lose mid low end power, lose torque and the drivability-comfort..

as for turbo charged route- i dun have experience.. so no comment..

this is all is all i know, if wrong sifus please correct me....

for turbo charged, still need to spend:
5 speed manual gearbox (With LSD) - 1.8k
fuel regulator - rm300
plug cable rm300
spark plug rm200
Turbo, intercooler, piping, banana, workmanship, wastegate, BOV and etc - 7k
management 3k
valve spring - 600
hi comp piston - 1.5k
metal gasket - rm350
port polish n blue print n balancing - 2k
Piston, Racing rod, supercharge crank - 2k
Adjustable Hi Low soft hard - 2k
Aerodynamic stuff - 2k

Anyway, for sure the turbo charge will produce much more power than NA can do. But 200 horse are define not for daily use already, it much much like track use already. FC will good? Please forget about it :mad:

Last word, to achieve 200BHP neither with NA setup or Turbo setup...and with budget 10k are definitely are IMPOSSIBLE!!!

Good Day,

Recently purchased a 1991 Trueno AE101 Auto with 4AGE 20v bt. The car's pretty much stock at this time. Sound proofing was performed on this car for the 4 doors. I've done the following:
Wow... it is a rare car man!

1. Drop-in HKS air Filter (Will change to KNN later)
What for want to change the filter? HKS also good ma!

2. Voltage Stabilizer
What for? Don't believe what the advertisement said la. I do use it, feel no different. Even go to dyno before and after... Really no different!

3. APM Performax Springs on the front
Don't! APM performax are useless performance! Better get the Potenza or Tanabe sport absorber, or even go for Hi low soft hard such as TRD, TIEN, GAB, or even Titan!

Thinking of getting the entire pulley set changed to lightened parts but am just wondering whether it'll be worth it.
change all the pulley set to lightened? It is good choice too, the pulley will save up the FC and free out the HP...

jim260184

Jul 19, 2005
Seremban
www.meshio.com
actually.. i think better dun put price here la..
some 1 may wana sell some parts in lower price.. but c price stated here... will increase...
den how u all gonna buy cheaper part??
i still remember i bought my old model 421 hks header for only RM550..
n now c all also abov 800 la.. 1k la.. 1.5k la.. all went up very ridiculous...

AE101-Wong

Jul 26, 2006
actually.. i think better dun put price here la..
some 1 may wana sell some parts in lower price.. but c price stated here... will increase...
den how u all gonna buy cheaper part??
i still remember i bought my old model 421 hks header for only RM550..
n now c all also abov 800 la.. 1k la.. 1.5k la.. all went up very ridiculous...
honestly even get from chop shop also hardly can get less than 800 for any extractors...
all those chop shop fella "know" the parts are performance parts as stated "JASMA" they all said JASMA brand...wtf...:mad:

What for? Don't believe what the advertisement said la. I do use it, feel no different. Even go to dyno before and after... Really no different!.

voltage stabilizer are used for better voltage flow...
especially for ICE fever...it really works...
for performance wise, it's abit bit better when u starting the car...(my experience la)

cybtech

Feb 20, 2008
Good Day,

Recently purchased a 1991 Trueno AE101 Auto with 4AGE 20v bt. The car's pretty much stock at this time. Sound proofing was performed on this car for the 4 doors.
Guys, kacau abit off topic....
Got Trueno AE101 4 doors meh?
or just SEG make-up Trueno facelift?

sbirdz

Mar 27, 2005
S.Kembangan
sbirdz_jackals.blogs.friendster.com
hahah!! cytech... i am also wondering.. but scott...

thanks for the info r.. i know how to chop u jor.. HAHAHAH!!! wuUUHhuuuuUUU!!!!

well, that is the price for 200bhp and 20k.... and one words... 20k u place into a turbo engine etc 3sgte or nissan A31 with RB20... u get heaps lots of increasement...

reason, if u want ur AE101 to be lasting... u dun go for that high... ask Jimmy here... he owns a fastest AE101 among us before... and now... he is with MYVI... the reason... :) think deeper... u will know... 1600 cc engine... with that much of powers... u see a Honda type R mugen also u won't let it pass you. so... ends up... :)

I would suggest you to remain stock and go for minor mods etc exhaust and air intake mod... those cam, pulley and cranky... once u touch... it will be hard for u to climb back down... :thefinger:

That's right - its official folks, Ken Block Gymkhana 5 has been unleashed for the masses to enjoy watching Block's 650bhp Ford Fiesta smoke tyres and catch some air - and it doesn't seem to be a better place to do it other than in San Francisco's hilly terrain with a special appearance of one Travis Pastrana to help him make things a little more interesting on his 2-wheel stead...