4WD drifting

signal,
me no sifu.....just noob, like u also la....

keng,
bro, how's life man? long time also never hear from u....i'm now hiding under some coconut shell la...hehe....

lev,
my turn ar? looks like never la.....i've retired...... :(

:)

btw, some 4wd saloons ie:mitsus are based on ff, so they have a tendency for understeering...IMHO,

like subarus, i'd reckon there's less under, and jgtc scoobys are fr, IHMO also la...

dun flame me ok....juz my 0.002yen worth....so not worth it at all....hehe...

:huh: guys wanna ask sumthing those galant n lancers har(old skool wan lar those b4 e39a wan)is a fr o ff?????those 1.4 wan ar convert turbo ....... B)

Originally posted by e39a@Sep 14 2004, 02:01 PM
btw, some 4wd saloons ie:mitsus are based on ff, so they have a tendency for understeering...IMHO,

like subarus, i'd reckon there's less under, and jgtc scoobys are fr, IHMO also la...

yeap... JGTC scooby's are FR's. all the Celica's there are also FR's.

i think the best drifter in a 4wd is definitely ivan khong. did you guys see him drifting his WRX during the proton SSO events? he came in 2nd place next to zee.

i think he and his bro ian have been drifting for more than 10 years already using toyotas. pity he doesnt have an FR car currently.

and i also think most people have forgotten that his dad yskhong is the original malaysian drifter in the AE86 in the 80's.

Hmm, I read that article b4, so long,...

New generation EVO5 up the power distribution front n rear are 50% - 50%
Not sure about EVO4 and except those has ACD fitted.

Evo 1, 2, n 3, power distribution is 40%-60%

Rally car not really know, some said 30%-70%, to 40%-60%, depends on the race location. That's the trick.

WRC cars run electronic diffs, that can adjust drive depending on conditions.

the current evos also have electronic control over their diffs, and the STi's can adjust manually from front to back.

someone earlier mentioned that 4wd cars like the evo and rex are understeery, which is true. They basically handle like FWD cars, but have a lot more grip, and are easier to recover from "scary situations". But anyways.. the new generation of cars starting even from the evo6 are practically understeer proof.

Originally posted by MetalZone+Sep 14 2004, 19:01 -->
QUOTE (MetalZone @ Sep 14 2004, 19:01 )
--QuoteBegin-e39a
@Sep 14 2004, 02:01 PM

yeap... JGTC scooby's are FR's. all the Celica's there are also FR's. [/b][/quote]
All cars in the JGTC are FR, because the rules specify that.

its not that difficult to make a 4WD oversteer. its all in the setup. the difficult part is the owner of the arse that is in the driver's seat.

Originally posted by glee@Sep 16 2004, 10:34
i think the best drifter in a 4wd is definitely ivan khong. did you guys see him drifting his WRX during the proton SSO events? he came in 2nd place next to zee.

i think he and his bro ian have been drifting for more than 10 years already using toyotas. pity he doesnt have an FR car currently.

and i also think most people have forgotten that his dad yskhong is the original malaysian drifter in the AE86 in the 80's.
of course the best and number 1 because there is only one 4wd car

glee: Never realised that the Khong brothers been drifting for that long! I can't imagine the amount of tyres that one goes thru when drifting for over 10 years!:)

I think that all 'JGTC' cars are FR cause with proper set up and aerodynamics ,these cars do not need AWD and not because the rules says so..;)

YS Khong rules!!! It was a pleasure see him stepping the tail out while driving up Cameron in the TVR!

Originally posted by Saint+Sep 16 2004, 22:42 -->
QUOTE (Saint @ Sep 16 2004, 22:42 )
--QuoteBegin-glee
@Sep 16 2004, 10:34

of course the best and number 1 because there is only one 4wd car [/b][/quote]
the father sounds a bit like bunta and the son sounds a bitlike takumi... :rolleyes: :lol: :ph34r:

Originally posted by .S K A G E E.@Sep 17 2004, 09:28
glee: Never realised that the Khong brothers been drifting for that long! I can't imagine the amount of tyres that one goes thru when drifting for over 10 years!:)

I think that all 'JGTC' cars are FR cause with proper set up and aerodynamics ,these cars do not need AWD and not because the rules says so..;)

YS Khong rules!!! It was a pleasure see him stepping the tail out while driving up Cameron in the TVR!
skagee.. for JGTC.. the rules say so.you can only enter an FR car.. nothing else, even if you wanted too run AWD you cant. which is why AWD cars like the skyline, and Subaru have to switch to FR.

The rules are there to try to create equal standing. if you have seen JGTC reqs, its very carefully designed to try and create as fair a playing field as possible with so many different type of cars, and manufacturers entering.

If you dont set a rule for drivetrain, you will have FF cars coming in, AWD, FF.. etc. and then it starts to get messy.. so they decided to lock it down as FR.

you still remember the TVR eh? up cameron? i only remember driving up to frasers with YS, and it was raining, and he was drifting the tail out.

Originally posted by Saint@Sep 16 2004, 22:42

of course the best and number 1 because there is only one 4wd car
hi saint,

sure.. it was only 1 awd car. but it was sideways as much as any of the FR cars that day, and more so than a lot of them, and consistently as well.

its not like there was one AWD there, doing badly, and winning a trophy for being the only AWD there. it was open class drifting :)

i agree that AWD cars like subarus tend to understeer more.. i've been through it.. nearly wreaked my legacy.. but came away with only a damaged front bumper and a smashed foglamp..
anyhow, never let go of the accel when drifting an AWD.. that will cause the understeer.. and if it doesn't turn enough, use the sidebrakes.. that helps a bit..
in most cases, AWDs corners faster than the regular FRs when driven properly.. the only problem comes when the tyres wear out.. FRs wear the rear tyres in most cases.. but for an AWD, since all the wheels drive the car, it wears all the tyres out faster..
just my 100yen (RM3.60) worth of thought anyway..

Originally posted by Autoracingsyndicate@Sep 11 2004, 22:59
B) So how bout a wrx .....boxer angine.....(fuel comsumption high o not har guys?)......wrx can drift nicely o not..... :unsure:
Don dare to try with my REX...fuel comsumption was bad after some mod... :(

I think the later versions of evos doesn't have those understeer problems. The understeer problems only exist in evo 1,2 and 3. In 4, they start have ayc but then the ayc itself has problems. i think the ayc helps the evo 4 and later gen to have a neutral steer compared to the evo 1,2,3.

mizuchi,

the later version doesn't have that much understeer already.... good improvement from subaru....

my 2 cents worth...

glee: My apologies for the mistake..didn't realised that the Option video I have with the JGTCC was almost ten years old.

And yes it was Frasers ,with Bernard pulling the handbrake of his Iswara at every corner and hairpin.:)