4G93T Club

popofufu

Nov 14, 2005
bro ftzone: nice engine bar u have mans.. lazatnya!!! the wastegate why never put on the blank place there? for easy install or take out the oil filter?

SpEeDZoNe

Nov 24, 2003
thnx for share, but the pic i can see u had mod were, banana extractor ,ic piping, greddy bov, plug cable, wastegate....or list down all u have mod?
beside maybe its a c2p quest i gonna ask here, if i change the banana extractor, how about the o2 sensor? can be use on the banana?

the o2 sensor just ask them to drill 1 hole then plug back
thats all

mods ah
haha
old car already lah
still 1 i say ah
spitfire plug wire,denso irridium plug,metal gasket,vr-4 fuel injector,greddy bov,thailand made (sard)
wastegate,vr-4 intercooler,garret t-28 ball bearing turbo,custom intercooler piping and manifold,apexi afc & itc ,merz fuel pump,triniti racing clutch and others i also forgot

SpEeDZoNe

Nov 24, 2003
last time i do the manidfold and intercooler piping is about rm 2.5k + other labour coz that time i do all the modified
Custom manifold and intercooler piping is done by RMD Garage Jb

edmunz85

May 4, 2006
hows da thsi wastegate quality....heard alot bout it...most people say it wont last...even my friend tried n kept over boosting....

ftzone

full throttle zone
Feb 21, 2005
Penang, Prai
www.ftzoneracing.com
bro ftzone: nice engine bar u have mans.. lazatnya!!! the wastegate why never put on the blank place there? for easy install or take out the oil filter?
due to space constrains... have to install the wastegate upward like dat lor... the oil filter also reallocated... this is all because of the intercooler piping... no more space ler... sigh....

about wastegates.. i already give up on the so called "thai" made ones... they are so un-realiable. get yourself a genuine TiAL WG and u won't have these boost problems....

ylkien

May 17, 2005
KL/PJ
ftzone,
Nice mod. But picture too small..Can't see your engine as reference for my mods.

VTEC + turbo engine can last long?

ftzone

full throttle zone
Feb 21, 2005
Penang, Prai
www.ftzoneracing.com
ylkien,

ZTH picture size limitation ler... also i malu lah wanna put big big pic...

any engine as long as internal engine parts are strong enough for the power made...plus correct air fuel ratio... it will last even with daily trashing.

the problem with power hunger NA convert to turbo modders... they always dun mod the right way... turbo-ed an NA engine without proper upgrades... and we often see blown engines.

before u turbo an NA engine... this are the few basics upgrade or at least together with the turbo upgrade.

1. Fuel System (Larger injectors + high flow, high pressure fuel pump)
2. ECU Tuning. At least fuel controller piggy back.
3. Replace stock pressure sensors (because stock sensors for NA engine cannot read boost) if u use stand-alone management, all these sensor problems are solved!
4. Lower the engine compression.. thicker head gasket
5. Low Compression Piston if we are looking at 0.5bar of boost and above.
6. Higher strenght con-rods

for original turbo modders.. step 1 & 2 is usually good enough to feel the power difference when we upgrade to slightly larger turbine.

SpEeDZoNe

Nov 24, 2003
hows da thsi wastegate quality....heard alot bout it...most people say it wont last...even my friend tried n kept over boosting....
actually for me its ok
i use for few years already
if u 1 better quality and better outlook (imitation) u can look for vis work
coz they got other imitation brand better quality 1
but i dunno the price

ylkien

May 17, 2005
KL/PJ
ftzone,
Thanks for the pointers. As for the "fuel pressure", how to know there is sufficient pressure?

I feel my third-gear a little 'under-powered'. Rev until 5k also not much push. Could it be that my fuel (going into engine) isn't sufficient? I'm still using stock Wira fuel-pump.

I'm not really sure how to treat a turbo-engine. Just a short survey for my reference, on how you guys drive your GSR.

1) Do you double-clutch when changing gear?
For me, I do it for every gear. I heard it can reduce wear-and-tear on the syncromesh. I find that my second and third gears sync-mesh isn't in a good condition, as it isn't smooth when entering those gears.

2) Do you turn-off your aircon when revving >4k?
I do. Might spoil the air-con compressor during high-rev.

3) Do you use engine braking when making sharp corners?
I don't. Don't know how to use the toe-heel technique properly.

4) Do you leave your engine to cool-down before turning it off?
Not really, cause i rarely boost.

edmunz85

May 4, 2006
if neva boost oso i drive for sum time mus cool down la bro....n i hav da same prob s u....my fren had a same spec gsr n we ran....1st n 2nd gear i went far coz mine small i/c but third he over take me n went far...when i go third gear da power tada d la....using standard fuel pump oso...can it b a cause.......

edmunz85

May 4, 2006
pick up good but go higher gear poer die d....really pissin of...feel my gsr is very slow....plus gear ratio so different...when my fren masuk 3rd i masuk 4th d...but4men said same gearbox....mine rpm shoot up very fast....wat other mod can b done ha...?...now stock wif 1.5mm metal gasket n boost controller n fuel ragulator....

ftzone

full throttle zone
Feb 21, 2005
Penang, Prai
www.ftzoneracing.com
i have now brand new full aluminum radiator for 4g93t & evo1-3,
(all sensor sockets are there already) 2-rows.
Asking price RM950.00 nego.
>10% more cooling compared to stock radiator.
tel: 0164786000

SpEeDZoNe

Nov 24, 2003
pick up good but go higher gear poer die d....really pissin of...feel my gsr is very slow....plus gear ratio so different...when my fren masuk 3rd i masuk 4th d...but4men said same gearbox....mine rpm shoot up very fast....wat other mod can b done ha...?...now stock wif 1.5mm metal gasket n boost controller n fuel ragulator....

how big is ur sport rims?
same size with your fren?
what mods have your fren done?
did u change your exhaust from the flexible to the muffler?

Lord_darkslide

Oct 19, 2005
jacky gsr:
i reach 4th gear only (150km/h +/-)... then got traffic...then we went seperate way...
usually top speed can get 220km/h +/- ... i got speed meter v... hehehhee
usually with v-tec low torque range i can....but this time.. diu lor..

as for the survey...

actually i didnt know what the hell is double clutch is... seriuosly... how it is done? i change gear like the uncle driving school teach me... hehhehee

i off my aircond when wanna syok2 race... if i am crusing (rarely more than 4k rpm).. i dont off my aircond... coz.. kept of and on aircond... i afraid spoilt the aircond... hehehhe

i do drop a gear into a corner...and jab the throtle pedal a bit while clutch+brake becoz i dont want the engine rpm drop so much and make my car jerk when drop gear....because i one time...i didnt do that... my engine scream/jerk so much.. and i panic and nearly accident/go straight... haihzzz....

but i only do that at a familiar corner only...like the istana in my hometown... hhehehe crazy4gsr shud know that area... hehehehhehe

but most of the time.... bantai je korner....and hope it sticks..... hehehheh

i got the pivot autotimer... so i let the autotimer do the thinking...

popofufu

Nov 14, 2005
double clutch? is it pedal the clutch 2 time then changing gear? guess i will try it haha.. normally i pedal the clutch as normal..

yes..when wan to boosting sure off aircon...

engine braking! never do it mans...1st is bcos scare the lockgear putus lah.. second..feel scare when the engine is in high rev with loud engine sound but with ride never go forward.. sayang engine hehe.. actually feel pain at the gearbox too when engine braking..

somehow..driving with find the right braking point...keep the rpm..cut abit of kerb then acceleted with go inside the corner.. (sound like expect muahahahahhahaa)

when high rev the engine i will set the timer at 150sec to turn off the engine.. plus will open the bonnet oso when after high rev..

ylkien

May 17, 2005
KL/PJ
Yup, it is pressing the clutch 2 times when changing gear. Something like this :

1) Press clutch
2) Put gear into neutral (e.g. previously in 3rd gear)
3) Release clutch
4) Press clutch
5) Enter gear (e.g. 4th gear)
6) Release clutch and continue driving
Info on gear-box here

Maybe sifus (lazarus, crazy, etc) can explain more on this double-clutch issue.

musang

Sep 12, 2005
Nilai&Bangi
Wahhahahahaha no time to surffing the net... stock count and clerance the old book at office and do some invoicing for jurnal 2008...

Double clutching what i learn from maxx... Change gear without dropping the rpm.. Let say 1st gear 4000rpm drop it by 3000rpm change to 2ng gear no bov sound boost are in and gear 4000rpm drop chage to3rd and 4th gear drop rpm for about 3000 in gear till nearly 130kmh drop a bit rpm 4500 boost in 5th gear 180kmh that speed cut wahahahahaha. He told me that less clutch slip and no power lost but do it for racing/hurey-hurey purpose only. Do also when down shift the gear at corner.

dono la... by 5000-6000rpm my aircond shut off dono why. so far change twice compressor but the gsr compressor okey till today 3month allready.

my gearing so short that at 5th gear i just let off the fuel paddle.. If kena cucuk with vtec also do double clutching for slowing down the car and race back the engine after the apex... so apex got boost to run away from vtec.. do it alone only and when kapla(mental down) ada sikit tuning problem...but now when raining i break before corner takut ma car spin 3/4turn last month..

Pivot baby timer set for 50sec for short trip and let it be on auto when hurey hurey.. but then engine reving so high at 5th due to my gearbox short ratio. sometimes nearly 5mins.

-Last week Power TR unit kong donno run on 2 cylinder. bought it for rm120.00 seremban.. arght...

- bought a new set of irway7 plug and silicone hose for my waste gate but the problem is.... well using dual waste gate got problem la... when use oem waste gate okey 0.7bar open but the tial only open from 1.0bar than slowly go down to 0.7bar. like boost spikes as the actuator hole small to send the boost to the waste gate. arght need to find actuator with bigger holes..

Forget.. send my car to gearbox specialist in senawang industrial area.. he drove the car and he quote me this.."you punya gearbox rojak. 1st gear gsr. 2nd gear 3rd are dono what gear. 4th gear take from 3rd gear evo 5th gear 4th gear evo.. no wonder my gearbox gantung gile....

Got some qoute from him for final drive 3.7something will make the car go faster with out sacrifice the old ratio.. which some times I love it so much. sometimes hate it as high fuel on long sales trip.

last due to using 35mm waste gate and syok to hear the sound i am short of 40km for every fulltank.. arght!!!

Plan to modd my FF Opel to FR or 4WD,depend on the enjin goin to swap in.
any sifu can advise the step i need to go and the pricing ?