4age 20v bt stock vs b 16 a stock vs mivec 1.6 stock

nappx

Sep 13, 2005
kLaNG-kEy_tEE
ekcerly,almost all DOHC VTEC kakis r penipu 1....u realise how d chinese(cantonese specifically) refer 2 their CC?1.6 is "chin luk"...1.8 is "chin pat".....in cantonese,d word "chin" can oso mean con...so,whn u say chin luk,it cud mean a CON 1.6(aka stroker kit inside!)..HAHAHHAHAHAHAHHAAH
"chin" mean con in cantonase..ha ha ha :banghead:

akuma

Jul 16, 2005
Kuantan
no meh?"lou chin" refers 2 conman,right?so,"chin" means con lor?hahahahah

drick

Jul 11, 2007
Miri, Sarawak
I agree with the rest. every engine has each advantage. it all depends which one is your choices, and how much are you :biggrin:willing to spend to make it perform better.........

pcmoddingmy

Mar 23, 2006
www.pcmoddingmy.com
4AGE 20v Blacktop (AE111) cam spec:
Intake: 250° duration, 8.2mm lift
Exhaust: 250° duration, 7.6mm lift

4AGE 20v Silvertop (AE101) cam spec:
Intake: 250° duration, 7.97mm lift
Exhaust: 250° duration, 7.6mm lift

Source: Bill Sherwood's Stock 4AGE Page

turbo10

Dec 11, 2003
sg petani kedah
any chance for a toyota seg, small port 4age 16v with bigger cam say 264/256 lift 8.1 with good cam setting and basic I/H/E mod to fight an SEG 20V blacktop or eg9 b16a2? assume that drivers are all good and tires are ok..the eg and seg are both stock cams but basic I/H/E mods...

Veloc

May 19, 2010
Sabah
any chance for a toyota seg, small port 4age 16v with bigger cam say 264/256 lift 8.1 with good cam setting and basic I/H/E mod to fight an SEG 20V blacktop or eg9 b16a2? assume that drivers are all good and tires are ok..the eg and seg are both stock cams but basic I/H/E mods...
I've read that for top end, the 16 valve small port actually out performs the 20V. This is due to the 20V having more moving parts (valves, valve springs etc) causing more losses. Thus not that efficient at high revs. That is also the reason why they use 16 V for formula atlantic races and is can produce 250 PS. The 20V however are very good for road use due to its VVT head. Don't get me wrong. It can rev high too. But if max out mods on 16V and 20V, 16V will win. If stock or moderate mods, 20V wins.

Like I said, I just read this. I do not have experience on this. Cheers bro... I am a hardcore 4A-GE fan! :burnout:

pcmoddingmy

Mar 23, 2006
www.pcmoddingmy.com
I would say you would need even bigger cams such as 272/288 with at least 9mm lift. With that, your 16v would make slightly more power than a stock 20v BT but you would have to keep revving it due to lack of VVT which will compromise the low end torque. Definitely you'll require a set of valve springs, race bearings, and ARP rod bolts as you would be revving close to 9000rpm to get the most out of it.
Also note that SEG chassis is quite heavy and is necessary to do some lightening.
One of the reasons why SEG owners opt for 20v because of its stock power output is already high enough, unless its a 16v ZGE which some of them will opt to turbo it ;)

turbo10

Dec 11, 2003
sg petani kedah
sorry my bad..it was meant for a toyota SE but i agree with you, 264 / 8.1 just a little increase for stock cams..

pcmoddingmy

Mar 23, 2006
www.pcmoddingmy.com
sorry my bad..it was meant for a toyota SE but i agree with you, 264 / 8.1 just a little increase for stock cams..
Toyota SE as in AE92/101/111? Yup, 264 with 8.1mm lift are very mild cams ;)

nappx

Sep 13, 2005
kLaNG-kEy_tEE
i hate modded 20V - ha ha ha
fuel consumption high..kill my wallet...
btw got any taker for my car..ahaks..

This is done on a Persona Elegance.

Difficulty: 5/10
Time: Took me 2 hours because virgin. You will be fine with 1 hour.

Yes, another 20,000km. Time to get dirty!
Perodua Dexron III is only RM18/L. You only need 1L. Even less if you choose to...