2zzge swap on a AE111?

Mr.Chaser

Jun 29, 2009
Johor
back to topic please...dunt hijack others tread..
Oppss!!! back to topic. Anything can be done for transplant as long as ur "M" power enough!!! Good luck for the modyfication journey too!!:wavey:

GearSpeedKelvo

Aug 5, 2012
Philippines

I keep seeing this two different valve cover over the net
What is the difference between this two 2ZZGE engines?

Thanks.

turbo10

Dec 11, 2003
sg petani kedah
long time ago i saw one xrs halfcut with manual 2zzge..would be a good pnp for the older altis..rm9.5k..i don't know if still available or not..

D7zul

Feb 24, 2011
Buy 2zz engine produced after jan03

The engine b4 that got problem with a bolt in d head

I think 1 is b4 jan03 & another 1 is after that..

U need 2 research more on that

meg_omen

Oct 28, 2004
Home - Klang; O
GearSpeedKelvo...
1st pic --> from Corolla Sportivo / RunX / AlleX
2nd pic --> from Celica GTS
differences...
- cover
- throttle body & cable - straight position for Celica
- intake manifold - 1st pic is older (2piece... i think :hmmmm:)

some Celica folks prefer to use the older intake manifold...:hmmmm:

To help you with you research... this is my references...
Reference:-
2zzge turbo ae82 corolla conversion - TuneMyToyota.com
2zzge AE82 sedan conversion - Members Rides - Toyota Owners Club - Australia
My AE111 2ZZ-GE project.. - NewCelica.org Forum
WHP Results 2ZZ-GE - Corolla 9 Forum
http://www.cicenet.net/showthread.php?t=11697
http://www.newcelica.org/forums/showthread.php?t=321306

GearSpeedKelvo

Aug 5, 2012
Philippines
GearSpeedKelvo...
differences...
- cover

Toyota 2zz-ge Bolt-Ons - Finally! - CICENetwork - Forums
New 1.8L Non stroked N/A 2ZZ Power record - 227WHP 134WTQ - NewCelica.org Forum
What 2zzge did you purchase for your AE111 then?
Mine is a 4 door sedan the one with the euro tail lights.

GearSpeedKelvo...
differences...
- cover

Toyota 2zz-ge Bolt-Ons - Finally! - CICENetwork - Forums
New 1.8L Non stroked N/A 2ZZ Power record - 227WHP 134WTQ - NewCelica.org Forum
What 2zzge did you put in your AE111 then?from a celica or from a corolla?

Thanks.

Last edited by a moderator:

yeehau86

Feb 10, 2007
Add on:

1. Both radiators position are not the same, 1st pic is 90 degrees straight while for Celica GT-S's is not straight (a bit slope).

2. Air intake and battery location: Both engines inversely related (1st pic battery at the front, air intake at the back and vice versa for 2nd pic)

Also, not all wear and tear parts are the same. Example V-belt, oil seals, gear shifter cable, etc.

D7zul

Feb 24, 2011
woo.. that's 2 type of 2zzge

with probably different spare parts..

must be careful with what u buy :wink:

---------- Post added at 11:28 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:11 AM ----------

this is for future upgrade

Individual Throttle Body :biggrin:

GearSpeedKelvo

Aug 5, 2012
Philippines
Add on:

1. Both radiators position are not the same, 1st pic is 90 degrees straight while for Celica GT-S's is not straight (a bit slope).

2. Air intake and battery location: Both engines inversely related (1st pic battery at the front, air intake at the back and vice versa for 2nd pic)

Also, not all wear and tear parts are the same. Example V-belt, oil seals, gear shifter cable, etc.
D7sul I have to be careful on choosing which one to get.
I see but can I still put either the one from a corolla xrs or the celica gts?

yeehau86

Feb 10, 2007
Flange bolts, also known as lift bolts, is for the Lift to engage during 6,000 RPM just like Vtec. It is a wear and tear parts and not expensive anyway for the replacement parts. Just the labor which varies from workshop to workshop.

Mr.Chaser

Jun 29, 2009
Johor

meg_omen

Oct 28, 2004
Home - Klang; O
expensive setup coz requires standalone ecu that must be able to control VVT-i and Lifts...
very hard to find anybody successfully use ITB with 2ZZ-ge...:hmmmm:

D7zul

Feb 24, 2011
expensive setup coz requires standalone ecu that must be able to control VVT-i and Lifts...
very hard to find anybody successfully use ITB with 2ZZ-ge...:hmmmm:
does 2zzge got AFM or sumthing that prevent d use of 4 throttle?

meg_omen

Oct 28, 2004
Home - Klang; O
yup... AFM or MAF...:hmmmm:
attached pics show it, and a good way to mod them for open pod SRI or CAI...:burnout:
even the diameter you need to maintain especially after it..
going bigger would need piggyback to refine the AFR...

newcelica.org call this as 'blue bomber' or something like that...
ohh! this is source from newcelica.org forum btw...:smokin:

the best part with 2zzge is that you don't need too many mods to get the WHP...
some even got back 30whp with just...
- a good CAI
- throttle body --> read that you can bore until 68mm if using stock ecu
- intake manifold --> aftermarket are too expensive, but you can 'match port' them
- exhaust header --> just 'match port' them
- exhaust system --> use 2.5" complete piping

ok on problem wise (remember Lifts bolts is wear&tear)...
- oil pump gear
--> known to be an issue especially going for track or miss gear...
--> aftermarket cost USD400-600+

- valve float
--> depending on your luck, also especially if always in Lifts...
--> aftermarket valve+spring+retainer cost USD1200-1500

i'm still trying to source the above locally...:smokin:

pehhh! convert pun belum siap... dah sembang pasal mod...:banghead:

As the title suggest,
Why does manufacturer apply such system. For example, the olw Merc W124 is equipped with a rear brake disc but the handbrake is using a drum and brake shoe. It looks like any normal disc because we cant see the mechanism on the inside center hub of the disc.
Other vehicle using is is the Pajero Sport.

Some conti cars are using seperate smaller caliper on the rear disc as handbrake.

Why do they do this?

I read online someone said its to prevent the disc from being...