Tyre choices.

nksc

Mar 21, 2006
if buying ad07 or other tyres for 15" rims,which one is better??
1. 195/50r
2. 195/55r
3. 205/50r
4. 205/55r

i`m using stock rims&tyres...now 195/55r...50 would look nicer..but curious about handling&performance..

sasuke

Nov 23, 2004
nksc said:
if buying ad07 or other tyres for 15" rims,which one is better??
1. 195/50r
2. 195/55r
3. 205/50r
4. 205/55r

i`m using stock rims&tyres...now 195/55r...50 would look nicer..but curious about handling&performance..
Many will say 195/55. comfort and good performance... 50 will make ur wheel look smaller.

akuma

Jul 16, 2005
Kuantan
lightningfield,
go buy d PARADA n b our guinea-car lar..aaahhahahaha....

front:205/50/15
rear:195/55/15
trust me....BEST!!!..d only catch is 205/50/15 is a bXtch 2 find...
=)

akuma

Jul 16, 2005
Kuantan
yeah...wat's SG?

lightningfield,
wait i sed guinea-PIG sensitif plak?ahahhahahaa..jjk

shiroitenshi

Apr 18, 2006
finally settled on a set of Azenis RT-215s.. 1.4K... ouch!!! should be arriving tommorow or the day after.

These are the last stocks.. now they're replaced with RT615s.... with added price.... I think I have to find lubang for cheaper semi-slicks that's easily available..

mrbear

Nov 16, 2005
any knows where to get:

205 / 55 / R15?

how much n price? hehe.. (top secret project)

donCityZ

Feb 8, 2006
hahaha... lucky i didnt go for 16inch too last time.. now i got 15inch.
and i think its reasonable for tire price. rim u change once.. (unless u rich),
but tire u will change always.. 15inch is best choice for me..

if u looking for tire, go to Klang shop.. Jooi Seng is cheap and reasonable.
Their shop have a lot of tire stock.

ace79

Sep 4, 2004
Last time I checked, RT-615 more than RM 600 per piece woo...gila. Better go for RE-01R, still can be driven on the wet conditions, and slightly cheaper.

shiroitenshi said:
finally settled on a set of Azenis RT-215s.. 1.4K... ouch!!! should be arriving tommorow or the day after.

These are the last stocks.. now they're replaced with RT615s.... with added price.... I think I have to find lubang for cheaper semi-slicks that's easily available..

Civic996

Oct 22, 2006
I am using EK using Yokohama AD07 195/50/15. Good tyres but very fast wear down...

Just wondering.. what is the actual size to use 195/50/15 or 195/55/15??

shiroitenshi

Apr 18, 2006
ace79 said:
Last time I checked, RT-615 more than RM 600 per piece woo...gila. Better go for RE-01R, still can be driven on the wet conditions, and slightly cheaper.
Yeah.. I know.. but currently cannot sourcelah.. you know where to source?

This current RE-01 set got also by luck only.. since one guy ordered from a shop, then disappeared.. so I bought them up.

This was 5 months ago.. probably at 60%? I'll put a side by side pic of the current condition later.

Opt-ion

Feb 7, 2006
UKDMEK4 said:
name of tht shop if not mistaken hin leong, with red n yellow colour building (like dunlop) last sunday they quote me rm240 for ad07 for 195/55/R15

Is that in before off - Jalan Kapar

or

Jalan Kapar - Left & Right junction

ace79

Sep 4, 2004
I forgot liao, I saw the tyres over at KLIMS 2006. I really forgot the company name, but it's one of the big ones lah, company based from SG wan. When I heard the price, I was like, what the...hell, RE-01 R is much cheaper wooohhh.

shiroitenshi said:
Yeah.. I know.. but currently cannot sourcelah.. you know where to source?

This current RE-01 set got also by luck only.. since one guy ordered from a shop, then disappeared.. so I bought them up.

http://i82.photobucket.com/albums/j260/5H1R01T3N5H1/RE01R2.jpg

This was 5 months ago.. probably at 60%? I'll put a side by side pic of the current condition later.

shiroitenshi

Apr 18, 2006
ace79 said:
I forgot liao, I saw the tyres over at KLIMS 2006. I really forgot the company name, but it's one of the big ones lah, company based from SG wan. When I heard the price, I was like, what the...hell, RE-01 R is much cheaper wooohhh.
Hmm... please update if you remember the name of the company, since there's more than a few guys here who are also like RE-01Rs.. and having a local source that's affordable would be very nice indeed.

nksc

Mar 21, 2006
RE-01R and ad07..which has better grip in wet??

shiroitenshi

Apr 18, 2006
Err.. nksc.. I think not even comparable lah... they're not even in the same category of tires.

When new, the RE-01R is grippy in all conditions.. even the wet, but with deep puddles more than 2-3cm deep can cause severe aquaplaning if at speed. (depends on your car's weight also lah.. A GTR probably wouldn't have it since it's so heavy.).. My car not so heavy soo....

The AD-07.. I used for a while, and never got a chance to use in rain. Traded in with someone else including the rims. However, everyone that I asked (in my group about the AD07 is always the poor grip in the wet.. it's not that it's not grippy, but you feel like it's not enough.. and doesn't 'inspire confidence' <- (B18CR SR3 owner, not me..)

For my current set of RE-01Rs...
As the threads start to wear, esp. around the sides.. traction is really starting to diminish... so much so that anything above 100kmh at sharp turns is a no no with the monsoon rain.. The loss of grip wasn't sudden... more like a feeling of understeering.. happened today when I overtake and forgot to slow down (slowly) for the next corner...

Probably have to bring out the 16" FTZs for this monsoon season.. they're not very grippy, but aquaplaning resistance is quite good due to it's deep grooves. And since it's constantly raining cats and dogs... probably a nice idea to hold on to the 215s until it clears next year. Since the rain = no play-play.. those FTZ tires also will have to do for now. :P

The Goodwood Festival of Speed is just around the corner and some of the finest rides in the world are gearing up to be displayed there or for the Goodwood Hill Climb. The latter always has some of the most exotic cars and some racecars from yesteryear at the starting line, eager to make short work of the hill as they flex their muscles.

One of the more notable entries this year for the hill climb will be...