EG6 vs EK4 vs CL7R vs EP3R vs FD2R vs AP1/2

YEN96

May 25, 2011
JB/SGP
Comparing the Honda's DOHC engine ....Using B series now and thinking of my next car.

anyone driven or change from one to another of the above...value ur feedback and comment

COnsidering EP3R, CL7R, FD2R or S2K AP1/2. DOn't mind an EK4 is price is good

Ling Reiden

From Facebook
Nov 4, 2010
since you are driving a B series engine,bet you like for power more then design FC maintenance...would recommend you go for K20A which is FD2R....:biggrin:
just my 2cent la bro

camshaft

Nov 3, 2006
EP3R and FD2R = 2 door vs 4 door (i've been onboard EP3R and FD2R...both can be faster than the other base on modification)

CL7R = comfort + performance but body weight can be an issue..

S2000 = cleary sporty with 2 door and 2 people only...rear wheel...can drift...but high on maintenance and sparepart are quite rare here

EK4 = most least HP between the above...cheaper to maintain...got to have at least b18cr or b20 to be on par with the above...

i'm more into S2000 here...the car is quite rare...if u already got a family car...mybe S2000 is a gamble choice since it can be for weekend car/fun car...

btw...i'm an EK4 pilot~

EddieYee

Jul 27, 2005
for performance, i will choose eg6(lower budget)wit their potential handling and light weight fd2r(higher budget) guess i dun need to mention much.
for comfy + lil performance = cl7

my 2cent. :beer:

JEBON

May 4, 2005
Jus asking bro.....why dun u put DC5 in ur list. K20A oso what.

Sumore, talking bout design, it's spottier than ep3, fd2r, ek4, eg6 n cl7. Cannot lawan s2000 only.

pwhyze

Mar 1, 2011
I must say, pretty hard to compare since all of them belong to different classes.
In my opinion....

You value sportiness over all else? Get the S2000.
You want luxury with a little bit of poke? Get the CL7R.
Want practicality and performance? Get the EP3R.
You can afford a bit more performance and practicality? Get the FD2R.
Want performance on a budget? Get the EK4.
Want sportiness on a budget? Get the EG6.

Or

You're actually a tree hugger? Get the CR-Z.

hitme2001

Aug 17, 2005
kuala lumpur
dude get da FD2R.... i wouldnt sayin costly for service, its almost the same to a normal civic...
only get costly when u get trap by modf yr car.

ddv_nk12

May 18, 2011
PD
YEN: What is the purpose of the car? Second car? Weekend car? Race car? Family car?

YEN96

May 25, 2011
JB/SGP
Now driving EG6 so i guess EK4 being same engine will be last choice unless very good buy.

Of cos i like FD2R but car price is high.

Like S2000 because is exciting car. Ap1 or AP1 i dun mind and rear wheel drive is something different. Car price also high.

CL7R is more affordable but i feel performance wise not so good as FD2R. And car is very heavy. Comfort wise i think is good.

EP3R - I find the shape special and unique. And i like hatch car. Car is rare also.

DC5R - I cannot appreciate the shape and look of the car. But if price is attractive, i dun mind.

Ultimately , i choose the car base on money spent vs amount of fun and performance.

If can afford i will choose FD2R.

EddieYee

Jul 27, 2005
find a EF or CRX with a b18cr and suitup handling and braking will be good enough to catch up with de fds...cheers!

F20 the way to go..... :driver:

---------- Post added at 12:59 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:50 PM ----------

F20 engine on s2000 rawksss... :driver:

mysayasan

Jul 25, 2009
agreed with aalto :driver:

hi all,

i have recently full overhauled 1.0 kelisa engine and couple of problems rose:

- rough idling, almost rougher than before overhaul but idling rpm is normal. i did full engine balancing with new oversized piston
- whistling noise coming from throttle body/manifold area or belt pulleys area
- louder tappet noise even with fully syn oil with torco mpz
- white smoke on cold startup in morning, disappear after warm up but ive replaced valve seals, head gasket, almost every seals and...