Civic type R 2005 or DC5

skyboy

Jul 30, 2006
KUL
Hi Sifu out there,

Im planing to get a Honda typer R but Im confuse if i sud get Civic or Dc5?
which have better HP and realiability?

I need a second opinion on this pls help sifu and the owner of this proud machines.

yeehau86

Feb 10, 2007
Hi Sifu out there,

Im planing to get a Honda typer R but Im confuse if i sud get Civic or Dc5?
which have better HP and realiability?

I need a second opinion on this pls help sifu and the owner of this proud machines.

If I were you, I would prefer Civic Type-R. For me, Civic Type R's design and spec is better.

Both is 2.0 litre.

DC5 is around 160 - 210 hp depending on which spec.
Civic Type R is 222 hp.

*this is based from Wikipedia's info.

gibod_78

Jan 15, 2004
one notable differenece bro, do u prefer 2 door car or a 4 door car ? obviously, the purpose of the ride could determine this.. :driver:

i'd personally take civir type R. coz its 4 door, meaning, better for family ride and wife wont make noise. haha..

spring

Oct 8, 2009
Jitra and KL
civic type r 2005
pro - better handling, 4 doors, more powerful than dc5
con - almost same external design with civic fd which make people may say ur car only converted to type r design, more expensive than dc5

dc5
pro - sporty design, less expensive than ctr 2005
con - 2 doors, the body spare part may be expensive due to its own design

but both of them are powerful, great handling, same cc. i rather take dc5 if i'm not married yet or as second car.

skyboy

Jul 30, 2006
KUL
so how many DC 5 version is there. Did any1 in malaysia have turbocharge this machine b4?

spring

Oct 8, 2009
Jitra and KL
i think 2 version. one is type r with 210hp and 6 speeds, another one is rs with 160hp and 5 speeds. type r is the highest rank of any version for honda. i did saw dc5 with intercooler before at kl area.

skyboy

Jul 30, 2006
KUL
Thanks Spring, Do you own any of this machine? How's the interior does come with a tv or navigator any extra specs included?

do you think any of this machine can outrun a RX8 or E92 bmw :)

wai88

Dec 11, 2008
seremban
which one to choose is depend on you,prefer 4 door for family or 2 door for single life..the budget also important,the civic Type R might cost you higher.Integra Type R also got 2 batch,2005 new facelift also come with higher price..
Civic Type R(m) -225hp
EP3 Type R (m) -215hp
DC5 Type R(m) -220hp
DC5 Type S (a/m) -200hp

sure k20a can smoke Rx8,no worry bout that..

spring

Oct 8, 2009
Jitra and KL
i don't own one. but i admire that machine very much. just a simple knowledge about them. of course u can smoke standard rx8. but with bmw, maybe u can win short distance race..:biggrin:

yeehau86

Feb 10, 2007
which one to choose is depend on you,prefer 4 door for family or 2 door for single life..the budget also important,the civic Type R might cost you higher.Integra Type R also got 2 batch,2005 new facelift also come with higher price..
Civic Type R(m) -225hp
EP3 Type R (m) -215hp
DC5 Type R(m) -220hp
DC5 Type S (a/m) -200hp

sure k20a can smoke Rx8,no worry bout that..
yeah, agree with you. RX8 (SE3P) just 1.3 while Civic Type-R is 2.0, easily can win in drag.:driver:

wai88

Dec 11, 2008
seremban
yeah, agree with you. RX8 (SE3P) just 1.3 while Civic Type-R is 2.0, easily can win in drag.:driver:
if compare the hp,Rx8 come with 250hp wor..:thefinger:

Skill very important in Drag race,if you have the skill with a light mod Type R already challenge Evo or even Skyline in drag race ma..

gibod_78

Jan 15, 2004
so how many DC 5 version is there. Did any1 in malaysia have turbocharge this machine b4?
hmm.. i think turbocharging the k20 is already another story. its effects some of its reliability and probably the handling as well. maybe with the budget u have, u might want to consider evo/subaru (4 door) or skyline/sylvia (2 doors).. these turbocharged monster, with right setup, anytime can whack rx8 and challenged beemers.

Civic-R

Oct 8, 2004
Earth
Is pointless to turbocharged a vtec. Buy a turbo car if u prefer turbo. Vtec is NA. Tat's the point yu choose vtec at the 1st place...

Stylites-x

Feb 13, 2006
ive owned a dc5r for more than a year n i can say dat the handling is great with almost same spec with fd2r.
if u compared properly bout pricing, dc5r brand new car is far expensive than a new fd2r.
u guys were comparin bout a recond or an used dc5r.
y not fd2r ? coz immitations nowadaes is common in m'sia. juz buy a 1.8 fd2 n splash the cash out mod till theres "R" look ..
dc5s is underpowered. 155hp n the engine is now used in the now fd2 2.0, correct me if im wrong on this.

---------- Post added at 03:28 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:23 PM ----------

plus, fd2 now comes with white colour. it doesnt really make a difference with or without "R" unless we're used to the difference n to compared it.
boring same look n design n Honda shud hav came out with a different design juz like the ep3 n ES

For a car with its girth and horsepower, Isaac Newton himself would testify that the 2012 Nissan GT-R shouldn’t be able to do the century sprint in three seconds flat but the supercar slayer does just that and just to drive the point home, gets it captured on video.

Weighing in at just over 1,700kg and packing a 530hp with 607Nm of torque punch, it would be insane to dismiss it as nothing spectacular but...