New Civic Type R to Kick out 265 - 300hp?

cokeaddict

Mar 2, 2007
Hey dudes,

Interesting look at the new Type R Civic - is it possible to squeeze so much power from either 1.6 to 2.0L engine?

the FD2 kicked out abt 220+ hp stock...not sure how much more it can go. I know the B16B I4 gives out 185HP.

Looking at this article, New Civic Type R, it's too good to be true. But knowing Honda, they'll probably just do it..scheduled for 2015 they say.

What u all think?

mADmAN

there are already turbocharged B16s pushing over 300whp.

even NA B16A oso got 200whp

Avantech has been pushing out 5xx-6xx whp B18s for quite awhile now

CountersteerSan

Feb 16, 2013
Johor
I know the risk got getting flamed by saying this, but I still wanted to say this..
"If, if only it is an fr machine.. Would it be more fun to drive?" Honda is capable of alot of wonders, why not try give it try for another fr machine?" Why not make a fr civic varient? All that power to the rear wheels..

sudha

Jun 11, 2004
Madman...agreed...but those are seriously upgraded...

This one, potential factory rated hp...imagine what aftermarket tuning can do...jeng jeng jeng!

mADmAN

Madman...agreed...but those are seriously upgraded...
not really... a stock standard b18c with a bolt on turbo (n proper tuning) boosting about 0.6bar can get u over 250whp already actually...

Neo_

Sep 27, 2011
i would love if they keep it real . real NA Vtec which churns out 250 hp at least while still standard from factory.whoa!imagine that

nahhhh...the best i think only 240hp from those puny 1.6litre turbo engine engineered from latest WTCC regulation

(*because race trim already at 300bhp)

pwhyze

Mar 1, 2011
New Type R is going to be turbocharged, so that kind figure (250hp) is hardly surprising. I would expect it to be a 1.8 liter lump or even 2.0 liter. The Megane RS is already pushing out 265hp on a 2.0 liter.

RENESIS VIII

Jun 13, 2012
Turbocharged Civic Type R. I wonder whether will it still be as high revving and produces nice sounds like those good old NA Civic Type R. In my opinion, I wished that Honda would stick to NA and continue their research/development in that segment. I mean, look at the new Ferrari F12 Berlinetta and LaFerrari. Even Ferrari still continues the NA path without switching to forced induction. NA performance cars are starting to get extinct as time goes by.

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
Turbocharged Civic Type R. I wonder whether will it still be as high revving and produces nice sounds like those good old NA Civic Type R. In my opinion, I wished that Honda would stick to NA and continue their research/development in that segment. I mean, look at the new Ferrari F12 Berlinetta and LaFerrari. Even Ferrari still continues the NA path without switching to forced induction. NA performance cars are starting to get extinct as time goes by.
Yeah, NA high revving engines squeezing every bit of power from small engines is like Honda trademark already, so I'd also like them to stay that route. Unless they decided to come back to F1 (rumors with McLaren) later when engine ruling change to 1.6 turbos, then it makes sense and perfect timing if they release the new R with turbo 1.6 as well.

pwhyze

Mar 1, 2011
I think they confirmed already that new Type R is turbocharged. So it's going to be a pretty sad day when it comes out...:bawling:

I'm not sure if this is a BMW 135i or a lower engine specced 1 Series Coupe but seriously, This isn't the first time that I've seen a disaster on wheels surfacing from the island down south. That number plate is not cheap either by Singaporean standards!