Sport car for fresh grads

RENESIS VIII

Jun 13, 2012
Have you guys given a thought to Mazda Miata or RX7..these are pretty awesome sports cars, perform reasonably well and are priced fairly amazing.
MX-5 is good but not really easy to find one over here. Not that common.
FD3S RX-7 is not really that cheap considering it is a car that old and most of it are selling around 70 to 90k. If it is FC3S, then it is almost half the price of FD3S. But you can't get loan for both RX-7 already. Besides rotary engines are not that suitable in our country's climate, at least that's what I've heard before from some people over here.

I just have a thought, maybe Toyota Celica is not a bad alternative as a sports car for fresh grad. It may not be very fast but at least it is a 2 door coupe with sports car styling.

yeah the guy's perdana with 6a13tt is a sleeper car stock bodykit with stock pv6 rims.
i dont know how he manage to do it but it was approved by proton.

i dont think can be done with 4wd. but y not give it a try....
No matter how the owner tries to make the car looks stock, you can still find the intercooler infront of it if you are looking carefully. :biggrin:

Could this be the car?

Proton Perdana VR4 Twin Turbo - YouTube

Mx5 not a bad car...although small but not slow if tuned up properly. I've saw some very good example like ITB setups and turbo Mx5. I know a girl who drives a turbo mx5 from SG, very nice car, dark grey MT hard top....not much power around 280WHP but very fun to drive and nimble handling...very long slung also. I remember bringing her to Bukit Putus for some fun drive she manage to stick her nose behind a cefiro turbo....wot wot...too bad she's married...Hahahaha SF, you saw this girl pic before in my FB one...which you commented..."Hot chick"...

I think there is a MX-5 that uses turbocharged engine in stock form. Called Mazdaspeed MX-5 if I am not mistaken.

Factory turbocharged MX5 was only available on the second generation, after that it was NA again.
The modern MX5 is rubbish and a far cry from what it was, its just gotten heavier with less power, similar to the last Toyota MR2 Spyder.

Japan is making boring and uglier cars these days, with the exception of GTR and Type Rs. Toyota 86 is neither boring nor ugly, but that's got a cult status.

And seriously, this topic is pointless because no fresh grad can afford a proper sports car.

Nowadays, what rubbish also pass off as sports car. Proton Savvy, my first Lotus, like, srsly?

RENESIS VIII

Jun 13, 2012
Factory turbocharged MX5 was only available on the second generation, after that it was NA again.
The modern MX5 is rubbish and a far cry from what it was, its just gotten heavier with less power, similar to the last Toyota MR2 Spyder.

Japan is making boring and uglier cars these days, with the exception of GTR and Type Rs. Toyota 86 is neither boring nor ugly, but that's got a cult status.

And seriously, this topic is pointless because no fresh grad can afford a proper sports car.

Nowadays, what rubbish also pass off as sports car. Proton Savvy, my first Lotus, like, srsly?
There is still the LFA but that is overpriced. And you missed out Lancer Evolution and Impreza WRX STI. :biggrin: But many have said the latest version of both cars are weaker and softer than their predecessors.

Back then there was not so many restriction on environment pollution this and that. Those time they are all competing who's car will be faster and better so all the good stuff throws in....

I believe LFA is super car...

and Evolution and Impreza is considered sports sedan? or typically, rice burners by most westerners.

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010

Agree on the Japanese cars lately. Seems only the upcoming NSX and WRX will be exciting.

As for fresh grad owning a proper sports car, yeah normally no, unless mommy & daddy are rich. Heck many even during high school already drive fancy cars.

cvkit17

Mar 20, 2012
I've seen college students driving DC5, celica, e-class even. So lets say the parents are rich, what car would it be for a fresh grad? The choice would be on the hands of the parents. My choice: NA cars: DC2, DC5, Celica, Altezza, MRS, S2000, MX5, Silvia...but honestly if I'm a rich son, I would just request a polo GTi. Fun!

ken yeang

hahahah, i've seen a student driving a merc SLK to college as daily ride. However, this student isnt bright nor hardworking. He flunked all subjects in the 2nd semester.

Guess what? His parent got pissed and ask him to drive a kelisa....he was damn malu, and started skipping school..haha

Since this student is all style, but no substance...the student eventually quit his study.....what a failure. Gaya only (this is even before he could graduate)

Mx5 not a bad car...although small but not slow if tuned up properly. I've saw some very good example like ITB setups and turbo Mx5. I know a girl who drives a turbo mx5 from SG, very nice car, dark grey MT hard top....not much power around 280WHP but very fun to drive and nimble handling...very long slung also. I remember bringing her to Bukit Putus for some fun drive she manage to stick her nose behind a cefiro turbo....wot wot...too bad she's married...Hahahaha SF, you saw this girl pic before in my FB one...which you commented..."Hot chick"...
Too many hot chicks in your FB I can't actually remember which one I commented :rofl:
PM me the link :rofl:

I believe LFA is super car...

and Evolution and Impreza is considered sports sedan? or typically, rice burners by most westerners.
If those are rice burners, then westerners who comes here and see our cars with mods gonna
shake their head...dunno wat to call them :rofl: Yet These rice burners are at least 250HP+

hahahah, i've seen a student driving a merc SLK to college as daily ride. However, this student isnt bright nor hardworking. He flunked all subjects in the 2nd semester.

Guess what? His parent got pissed and ask him to drive a kelisa....he was damn malu, and started skipping school..haha

Since this student is all style, but no substance...the student eventually quit his study.....what a failure. Gaya only (this is even before he could graduate)
Forgive him bro, he is just trying to do some publicity for his parents. Just trying to make his friends envy his parents for their money but we feel sorry for their parents for having such a kid who doesn't appreciate or knows how lucky he is. If he excel in his studies but driving father's SLK, people will still have respect for him.

But if he is just a liability then too bad.

RENESIS VIII

Jun 13, 2012
Lancer Evolution and Impreza WRX STI are rice burners? They are in fact faster than many 'fast' looking sports car like SLK200, Z4 Drive20, TT 1.8/2.0, Boxster and etc. In terms of acceleration, they put shame on these 'fast' looking German cars. And they cost almost half the price of these German cars. :biggrin:

However, if you want to talk about comfort, luxury and class, of course the Germans are better in it.

Lancer Evolution and Impreza WRX STI are rice burners? They are in fact faster than many 'fast' looking sports car like SLK200, Z4 Drive20, TT 1.8/2.0, Boxster and etc. In terms of acceleration, they put shame on these 'fast' looking German cars. And they cost almost half the price of these German cars. :biggrin:

However, if you want to talk about comfort, luxury and class, of course the Germans are better in it.
Z4 depends on which model u choose :biggrin:

Ricer is something we say like those Ah Beng....mod ca but still go slow.

Why Evo, Impreza, is call rice burners because they are from Japan and the what does the Japanese eat most? Rice so that's why the westerner named this cars as rice burners Supra and Skyline some of them are called super rice burners.

MX-5 is good but not really easy to find one over here. Not that common.
FD3S RX-7 is not really that cheap considering it is a car that old and most of it are selling around 70 to 90k. If it is FC3S, then it is almost half the price of FD3S. But you can't get loan for both RX-7 already. Besides rotary engines are not that suitable in our country's climate, at least that's what I've heard before from some people over here.

I just have a thought, maybe Toyota Celica is not a bad alternative as a sports car for fresh grad. It may not be very fast but at least it is a 2 door coupe with sports car styling.

No matter how the owner tries to make the car looks stock, you can still find the intercooler infront of it if you are looking carefully. :biggrin:

Could this be the car?

Proton Perdana VR4 Twin Turbo - YouTube

I think there is a MX-5 that uses turbocharged engine in stock form. Called Mazdaspeed MX-5 if I am not mistaken.
yup i think thats the one.

stupidcar

Mar 18, 2013
Ricer is something we say like those Ah Beng....mod ca but still go slow.

Why Evo, Impreza, is call rice burners because they are from Japan and the what does the Japanese eat most? Rice so that's why the westerner named this cars as rice burners Supra and Skyline some of them are called super rice burners.
Nothing to be ashamed of. :biggrin:

Hi All specialists....

does anyone have any recommendations for Brakes pads for my SGTI ?
feel like mine's almost finish.....

any recomendations for reliable, good... and of coz,,,, worth the $$$ to buy ..

please advise :):)