Projecto8' - Oil 2T

- D i a b l o -

Hey guys,this is one of my first thread for somethings i tried in the 8.It may sounds crazy,nuts or whatever.But someones gotta try it and that could be me XD

Recently,my old man met his mechanic who sold him this "idea" of adding in a bit of 2T (2Stroke Mineral oil - used for motorcycles) into the fuel tank once its fully fueled.

Since we got the recommendation..might as well try it :D
After consultating second opinion,our Jasonlel here..he figured I should look out for long term effects too.

INITIAL IMPRESSION - first thing caught me is,the exhaust fumes stinks! yuck,especially on WOT,it come out like one stink bomb.Maybe too much 2T i guess

but on the road,the engine was even smoother then before.short term effects are good

long term effect,I dont know..eheh lab rat here
anyone tried this before? care to share opinions?

What was your mechanic's reasoning to add 2T ?

Never heard this one before

i dont know XD thats the beauty of it .hahahahahah

I know us rotaries use engine oil to cool down the engine,but does "fuel" do lubricate too? if it does then theres some logic there.

Maybe,its just to step down the octane or something.I read this somewhere before,will find hte link to put here

good post diablo.

RE engines have OMP (oil metering pump) FC's had a mechanical version whilst the FD has the electrical unit. I'm very sure the RX8 has one (those in the know kindly chime in). The oild metering punp is located on the side of each rotor housing. Picking up oil and injecting (more like trickling) into each rotor housing. If you have ever taken apart the rotary engine you'll notice excellent burning close to this oil injection points. whilst the rotary sweeps to exhaust, there is increased chaffing due to reduction from compression,spark right up to exhaust.

The reasoning in adding 2t oil is to ensure a constant supply of oil in the rotor chambers. many aftermarket ecu owners have to do this as aftermarket ecu's do not control the omp.

whilst its an excellent idea (of which i plan to start doing) too much of 2t causes reduction in octane levels that may cause detonation (this would be hardly a worry here)

This sounds cool. So how much is enough 2t for a full tank fuel?

phat7 said:
good post diablo.

RE engines have OMP (oil metering pump) FC's had a mechanical version whilst the FD has the electrical unit. I'm very sure the RX8 has one (those in the know kindly chime in). The oild metering punp is located on the side of each rotor housing. Picking up oil and injecting (more like trickling) into each rotor housing. If you have ever taken apart the rotary engine you'll notice excellent burning close to this oil injection points. whilst the rotary sweeps to exhaust, there is increased chaffing due to reduction from compression,spark right up to exhaust.

The reasoning in adding 2t oil is to ensure a constant supply of oil in the rotor chambers. many aftermarket ecu owners have to do this as aftermarket ecu's do not control the omp.

whilst its an excellent idea (of which i plan to start doing) too much of 2t causes reduction in octane levels that may cause detonation (this would be hardly a worry here)

my dad add around a quarter of a small bottle of 2T.whaddya guys do?

abang dave,call me amir man,apprentice here XD

well i guess the rotary engine similar to the 2stroke engine in the bikes as it has no valves, it uses piston to seemingly open exos n fuel port similar to rotary engine i guess. mayb rotary is abit diff as like dev says there is an omp there, for the bikes 2stroke engine, 2t oil is a must, if not it will jam.

i own a tzm bike which is 2t engine, it has a Power Valve system. Dev since u like to experiment perhaps you can try this haha. tzm power valve operates similar to Vtec, instead of having higher cam effect, tzm PV uses controlable exos port. since there is no valve involve in 2stroke engine, there is a power valve involve which flip the exos port larger than usual. when u r slow it close to smaller hole making u have back pressure n more power for lower rpm n when u r fast enuf it will open full for the exos fume to exit faster. dev start porting ur exos port and put a rpm sensor switch to have the power valve effect. so far havent heard anything from a rotary b4 or does rotary have this power valve thingy as well, im new wit rotary engine, but quite good wit my tzm engine haha.

for the side effect of having 2t in the fuel is unburn oil from the 2t. try not to put too much as it will cloak the exos port when the unburn oil dries up. diablo try to use the exp 2t oil, it has perfume effect. u shud monitor the engine temp as well, with 2t engine shud run cooler, as it will have less friction, u shud notice some smoke coming out from the exos as well.

jus my opinion, dun shoot me pls hehe :)

hhm,thankeyu brother quixeric.

Now,how expensive is expensive? tak kan every fuel tank fill also put expensive 2t oil kan? How much to put is another thing im experimenting

and itll be good to get rid of that foul "oh look at renesis,im burning 2t's oil too!" smell

nobody gonna shoot you,abang dave only gotta shoot whoever "witholding" information XDDDDD

lol, what is with people and mineral oils here ..hehe..
Mm..premixing has been done for RE that has their OMP taken out(Racing Engines) or OMP not functioning(hehe..spoilt with age) . There was a thread on rx7.com about how much to premix but the site is kinda down now. Can't get in.
I would try using less , as you are pretty much using the premix as assistance to the OMP and not depending on it.

If you really wanna get trick about it,you can disconnect the oil line the OMP takes and create a serperate tank for which the OMP can purely feed on 2T oil. Which would be better , seeing that using the oil that has gone throught the entire engine lubricating system is yucky.The thing is , i am not sure is the rx8 OMP is gravity feed or pump feed.

Oh and by the way racing beat has a modification to the stock OMP to provide more lubrication to the renesis if you have turbocharged it.

ahh thats good to hear..thanks for the indepth comments.
Well since this is doing good for the engine,try it guys~

DIY XD

btw,can anyone explain
why cant the RE engines use high octane fuel ?

let say i buy those race fuel (RON100) and fill it up,anything bad will happen?

2t oils... what i know of it is to cool down and also lubricate the engines.

that happens when on RE engines, some of them disabled the oil pump that pump the lube into the combustion chamber. reason... duno...but i know a fren of mine did that.

and add 2t everytime pump petrol... super smelly...
that fella is running 1.5 Bar... with haltech.. ECU 3 bar map sensor, T708 turbine and HKS wastegate, Apexi N1 exhaust. HKS intake.

previously runing 450 on the wheel and A/F 7 !!!

now down tune to 1 bar.. but still the HP on the wheels has 380 bhp

Can we use regular 92 Octane petrol?

- D i a b l o - said:
btw,can anyone explain
why cant the RE engines use high octane fuel ?

let say i buy those race fuel (RON100) and fill it up,anything bad will happen?

i suppose the RX8 is configure to suit 97octane. but the older RE can go with 92. i'm using 92 and i use to pump 87 when i was in the states. ;)

so let's say.... no idea if the OMP is functioning or not...

before go down to the track... dump in a bottle of 2T, a bottle of Octane Booster, will the engine go KABOOM ?

ehehheheheheeh

not a bottle doink..lol theres a premixture,i only put like a quarter of the bottle for a full tank.I dont know about octane booster.Was planning to get race fuel anyway,any good ideas?

with the petrol price hike like shit.... push the car la....
see who more stronger... food is cheaper than petrol... :)

normal petrols already crazy... V power... dun ever think... race fuels.... in my dreams...

pump in diesel ... bwahahhahahaha

Alchemis said:
with the petrol price hike like shit.... push the car la....
see who more stronger... food is cheaper than petrol... :)

normal petrols already crazy... V power... dun ever think... race fuels.... in my dreams...

pump in diesel ... bwahahhahahaha

kekek diesel XD.

Oh ya that's the thing,why not they do a Rotary TurboDiesel? LOL!
that would give us 9k rpm redline 1.3 litre twinturbodiesel ... hmm wonder how the mileage and the FC gonna be XD