ZTH MINI Club!

• Thread starter skyline86
  • Start date
  • Replies 3K
  • Views 263K
Thank you for the site, is really interesting and amazing to know that fibreglass is actually magic......

As for tonite, I am not sure yet I will join...

sureshn said:
clubman,
i looked at haynes manual and there are different figures for different engine capacities. but 10 degress btdc is okay and that's the setting for my 1275 A+. but there are several variables to take into account. check out minifinity.com - lots of answers on this topic.

for info: a mini cooper S (mark 2) was sold for RM45k recently. wow!

thank sureshn for the confirmation. but need other suggestion what is the book/manual for tunning A+ engine....haynes ? or other maybe ...

fastclubman would be glab to heard a suggestion from you .......

Engine

I wonder if daihatsu engine can be fit into my mom old 1.0cc clubman... sorry I donno the model since Im not a mini fancy but I enjoy driving the car...:_:

The car had numerous breaksdown and my mom get fedup of it... if cant then no choice I had to get her a new kancil...:cry_smile:

perdanalusuh, why the hessel to get another engine in a mini where you can just get a complete engine from halfcut nowadays. Using the original is better because an engine modification will not be so safe and may eventually cost more.

So let discuss on then engine thingy..

1.Upgrade to Vtec ... can fit meh... sifu please help
2.Mini half cut...

My concern is the engine

1.must be easy to maintain
2.easy to find spare parts
3.got power to drive at least 120kmh or more ??? .... : )

If u want easy to maintain yet powerful at the same time then yes a Vtec would be the logical step as they are reliable and cheap to maintain. I've heard and seen some sites which actually do it but the problem is that they are all overseas...

http://www.gomini.com/index.htm being an example

for me i will choose vtec.. easy to maintain.. sparepart cheaper than original parts and easier to find..

Do you know of anyone in Malaysia that can do the transplant and do it well? LOL my fear is of getting ripped off for work that is shoddy then having to fix the car back up all over again :P

yup.......vtec is more power n the spare parts is cheaper than ori mini parts.............but if really wanna upgrade 2 vtec need 2 think twice.............coz actually is very hard 2 fit vtec into mini coz mini engine bay is too small..........then need 2 cut the firewall panel...........then ur car chassis will become weak......if wanna fix tis problem then need 2 add a roll-cage into ur car...............oso ur car will b not approved coz 1.0 convert into 1.8 or 2.0.........n oso roll-cage is cannot b use on the road accept track circuit...............

Perdanalusuh said:
So let discuss on then engine thingy..

1.Upgrade to Vtec ... can fit meh... sifu please help
2.Mini half cut...

My concern is the engine

1.must be easy to maintain
2.easy to find spare parts
3.got power to drive at least 120kmh or more ??? .... : )

mini 1.0 oso can simply hit 120km/j at h/way..............
power???if ur engine tuning is cun n correctly then can easy tapau many car................

True oso... I'm using a 1.0 engine and I can hit 160. Took me ages to get there but I did get there :D

gharith,

walau u car car hit 160km/h
my car juz can hit around 150++ only but since my speedo meter patah liao i din noe my top speed anymore.........

but mayb tis week i need 2 send my car for tuning my carb.........coz my engine running not so smooth............

hi guys,

sorry i have been really busy with work and travels. Not much time to contribute things here.

about the tuning book - you can get some info from "Tuning the A Series Engine" by David Vizard. There is another book as well but I cant remember the name and the author. I will need to check it when I get home.

Yes most definately VTEC is the way to go. Having broken at least 5 gearboxes and a numerous engine rebuilds in search of power on the A & A+ series engines, I think VTEC must be the best cost option for ultimate power & reliability. Contrary to wat DF9818 said, you dont have to cut the firewall. If you look at the Watsons VTEC conversion subframe or even the likes of Z-Car and allspeed, they all do not require cutting of the firewall. ON the shortnose mini's they do however require the extension of the front end i.e bonnet and fenders.

If thats your kind of thing then I suggest looking at www.16vminiclub.com for more information. Conversions using engines from Honda, Vauxhall, Daihatsu, Toyota or even Suzuki has been used and discussed. There is even a guy with a 4.2 v8 in the mini. Ford V8's the older wans are 2 valve per cylidner hence 16v and still able to join their forum...heheheh.

gharith,

broke a drivetrain component (could be driveshaft or something in the gearbox) on the way back from Nilai 3 the other day. Havent looked at it yet!

On another note, a lot of minis here in Perth. Need to go and check out some local mini shops...who knows a nice 5 speed straight cut close ratio gearbox with a salisbury type LSD might be available for cheap money....hmnnn I wish!

fastclubman

Anyone here going Convoy to Trengganu on Sept 1st?

Hi all

Just wondering how many of you guys joining the convoy to Trengganu Sept 1 to Sept 3.

Cheers

Syed

fastclubman said:
gharith,

broke a drivetrain component (could be driveshaft or something in the gearbox) on the way back from Nilai 3 the other day. Havent looked at it yet!

On another note, a lot of minis here in Perth. Need to go and check out some local mini shops...who knows a nice 5 speed straight cut close ratio gearbox with a salisbury type LSD might be available for cheap money....hmnnn I wish!

fastclubman

Wow... how did u get your car back home then bro?
Hahaha if you find any extra 'a nice 5 speed straight cut close ratio gearbox with a salisbury type LSD' you know a bro here who would be grateful if you brought one more back :D

Have fun during your trip man

fastclubman

help me to find the nice 5 speed straight cut close ratio gearbox with a salisbury type LSD too yah... hehe

gharith,

limped back at 20 kmh per hour or so...i think its the driveshaft rather than the gearbox...it was my longest trip ever from nilai to kajang!

fastclubman