You Cause Traffic Jams

keshy

traffic2.jpg

Cruising down any major roads with light to slightly heavy traffic, you find yourself thinking about your day or whatever that you need to think about and then suddenly you see red. There are two options now, ease onto your brakes (never jam them), hope you stop in time or change lanes, the worse case scenario is you end up making out with the other cars rear bumper. Ever wondered what causes such situations? Well, I have the answer and its supported by an in depth study carried out by very very smart people. Here’s what those smart people have to say:

A team of these smart people (mathematicians to be exact) developed a smart model revealing that traffic jams are caused by idiots. Well, they didn’t put it that way but essentially its true. What those ‘mathematicians’ revealed was this, the real explanation is that unexpected events, such as, cutting lanes, required slowing below the average cruising speed required for smooth traffic flow. We all know this very well, as the car in front of you brakes suddenly, you need to brake harder to make up for your reaction time; this creates a wave that radiates back through traffic. That “backward-traveling-wave” means that because of one driver’s inattention, we all pay for it way back in the line, which eventually results in a big clustered mess up.

TrafficJamAlert.jpg

The results of the study conclude that we need to drive smoothly (really now?). Roads with heavy traffic volume seem to be more prone to traffic jams too, but it can be avoided if drivers anticipate and avoid sudden actions. The one way to reduce traffic jams is driver diligence, which will need training at first because you will have to counter talking on the phone, texting, putting on your make up, eating that big-mac, or whatever it is you do behind the wheel (I don’t want to know). Basically, pay attention when you’re behind the wheel, your dad or trainer or whoever wasn’t kidding when he told you that. But since we have the option of getting a car with radar based cruise control (S-class anybody?) that does all that for you, I guess you can continue finishing that big-mac.

But seriously, the one way to ease traffic jams is common sense; be a smooth driver, expect that everyone around you is an idiot, be alert and ready to make a move. When cruising, always look for a way out if the driver in front slams on his brakes, but remember to signal first and only do it if there is space available. Also, keep a safe distance from the driver in the front, there’s no reason why you have to be sniffing his a*s. Never cut lines, respect the other drivers space, give your signal whenever changing lanes and keep cool. It’s the only way we can keep from forcing the government to construct new tolled highways, which we are all going to complain about later. Be smart, be sensible, and be a man, do the right thing. See you on the road.

I've been using public transport for the pas 1 year to enter Kuala Lumpur even though I have car.

Anyone else? :P

unfortunately in Malaysia, being smart on the road is the last thing people will do on the road.

courtesy, common sense and basic social attitudes are thrown out the window each day. You can witness this on our dear Federal Highway everyday.

so do i using the public transport..safe my money..hehehe can see many chick to..hehehe...smell lol...

hmm..i don't really understand this.because what i see that causes slow traffic is this..as i was driving around kl jam roads,questions pops up from my head"who causes this?"so automatically i cut the queue and what i see the 1 who leads the jam is the one who drove like 40kmh to 60kmh..if the one who leads driving 40kmh,the second lead for sure is driving around 30+.i've discover that the one who causes slow traffic looks tired and sleepy..it's dangerous to drive while tired n it also causes slow traffic.i'm not trying to be smart but i need to know the truth n nothing but the truth of this jam roads in kuala lumpur.

the road lover of kuala lumpur and genting highland.:burnout:

good article...
many ppl dun do as wat the article said, thats y so many accidents happen.
many ppl nvr try to predict uncertainty when driving, always think that they r the owner of the road after paying road tax.
:)
bump!!!

try public transport u ppl!!! socialize summore!!! hehe!!!
i love rush hours... crushed from every direction with chicks. its a good time to flirt chicks too!! haha!! ppl in cars during rush hours!! u miss some of the wonderful moments in life!!!

Some stupid causes for traffic jam are :

1. When the light turn green, the driver still dreaming :mad: .
2. When the light turn green, the driver slowly press the throttle to save fuel :mad: :mad: .
3. When the light turn red, the driver still drive through but stuck in the middle of the road and block the other direction cars :mad: .
4. Fully loaded lorry over take another lorry in the town road (sometimes highway) :mad: .
5. No money to top up fuel but gaya mesti ada. (need to ask those with 5" exhaust and looks heavily modded car driver why drive 40-50km/h in town).
6. Refuse to queue up and occupy the other lane for cutting the queue :mad: :mad: :mad: .
7. Busy-body to watch car broke down / accident.

should add road hogging to the list... simply the main cause of traffic jams and accidents... its like the rear view mirrors are just to check out makeup, nose hair, pimples and anything-stuck-between-teeth tool... driving schools need to teach the importance of the rear view mirror me think...

csl's...
7. Busy-body to watch car broke down / accident.

from my experience...the worst jams are all caused by THIS !!! swt~

hmm..i don't really understand this.because what i see that causes slow traffic is this..as i was driving around kl jam roads,questions pops up from my head"who causes this?"so automatically i cut the queue and what i see the 1 who leads the jam is the one who drove like 40kmh to 60kmh..if the one who leads driving 40kmh,the second lead for sure is driving around 30+.i've discover that the one who causes slow traffic looks tired and sleepy..it's dangerous to drive while tired n it also causes slow traffic.i'm not trying to be smart but i need to know the truth n nothing but the truth of this jam roads in kuala lumpur.

the road lover of kuala lumpur and genting highland.:burnout:
u cut the queue ? Now that's another cause of traffic jam

this is from my xperience...

at 1 hot sunny day afternoon, 1 aso driver stop for about 5 or 6 cars b4 the traffic lite (no car infront of her) just bcoz wanting to chill out under the tree...wtf is she thinking?:(

anyway,pot-hole oso can make traffic jam n bad for our rims 2!!:(

Couldn't agree enough on the article..there are just too much dreaming drivers out there esp on Malaysia roads. Bad thing is drivers that overtook the road hoggers from the left are labeled as careless drivers...tsk tsk.

One type of drivers that pisses off me the most are those that drive extremely slow when approaching a traffic light that is green and then suddenly accelerate and beat the traffic light when it turns red which then left me stranded at the traffic light for no reason.
There is just no logic in that kinda behaviour...if you can drive that farkin slow in the first place then why can't wait for the traffic light? Instead preparing to endanger other road user's life by beating the traffic light... :mad:

I've been to New Delhi where the number of cars on the roads trippled KL's but the traffic flow is just amazing as you can see every one is focusing their attention on the road and the situation around them.