Windows XP Service Pack 2

xtracooljustin

Anybody tried installing it? mine always fail cos they say my Windows using invalid product key...

is it due to my using of pirated software? ;) :ph34r:

anybody know a way remedy this?

errr....i don't remember actually downloading an .exe

you manually downloaded from www.microsoft.com?
i understand that its safer somewhat coz if get disconnected can resume if you're using download managers like getright, go!zilla, etc.

i upgraded from Windows XP gold/full version to SP1 and SP2 no problems like this, but i used the windows update application on top of IE. left it overnight to do everything and just reboot the next morning.

it says invalid product key...hmmm

do you have any other computers which you're connected to which is using the same product key? there is a chance they'll check this but i haven't had problems updating using pirated or modified keys before.

u can either dwnld it straight thru windows update
or dwnld it manually then run the exe which u hv done.

im not too sure bout a work around.
try changing your product key.

Originally posted by Seraph@Dec 10 2004, 04:08
errr....i don't remember actually downloading an .exe

you manually downloaded from www.microsoft.com?
i understand that its safer somewhat coz if get disconnected can resume if you're using download managers like getright, go!zilla, etc.

i upgraded from Windows XP gold/full version to SP1 and SP2 no problems like this, but i used the windows update application on top of IE. left it overnight to do everything and just reboot the next morning.

it says invalid product key...hmmm

do you have any other computers which you're connected to which is using the same product key? there is a chance they'll check this but i haven't had problems updating using pirated or modified keys before.
i am connected to a network..cos me n my frens using streamyx... so it could be the same product key problem....

so i should try disconnecting from network b4 installing?

i didnt d/l from any microsoft website or windows update cos evytime get the same problem... invalid product key...

anyway i had another problem... i tried installing a few programs like MSN messenger, limewire etc... but keep failing n come out this error msg,

"error 1327. invalid drive: O:\ "

y so many problem ah after i got streamyx??? :( :angry:

okay i'm only guessing this coz my home network got 4 machines all using different OS.

like USS leng jai said it could be that there is one or more machine on your network which uses the same product key.

you can try to install it off line to see if it helps.

about the 1327 error message its a registry problem.

how to fix it

becareful as you'll be mocking about with your registry, download a registry backup program first incase anything goes wrong ;)

Means you are using a blacklisted CD-Key.

You will need a CD-Key changer and also a valid SP2 key.

my fren just kena.. n yes its bcos ur using some pirated cd key lor.. try to get other cd key lor.. if u really can't find it pm me cos my housemate got a xp cd with lots of cd key.. not good to post here i think.. hehehe

i hv this prog that can change xp's cd key
unfortunately i burnt it on a cd which i killed it some how.
stupid me

let me try to find it online