wheel Spacer q&a

muzani

hi all...
i have questions , hope u all have the answers and share with me

1) stock cars wheels are coincident(aligned or whatever u call it) rite front and back wheel?
SO, if we use spacer just in the rear wheel, the rear track width of the car will be larger than the front right? will this cause any problem in the handling of the car?

2) (maybe ninja iga can answer this or any machine sifu) can we machine a spacer according to what dimension we need? if so , what are the thing to consider ? what kind of material suitable for this ?
how much tolerance do we need? and what machine and tool bit do we use to machine this and to drill the hole accurately ( i cant think of any because, we need 4 holes,the thing will be round and other issues like how to clamp and drill exactly where we want)??

its been in my mind a long time and i hope someone can give me a straight answer..

thanks in advance

pls keep in mind that im a novice machinist (student/beginner)

i just install a 7mm spacer on my kancil....the stereng is hard to turn now...but never mind, i can consider my stereng as the lightest kancil stereng b4 i change...
the total cost is 40. but if u wan diy i think not worth lar,,,cos the balancing thing is hard to do....u need to find a piece of pure flat surface metal to drill on it...
and let me tell u, i add 7mm and now my stereng will shake after 110...the thicker the more shaking will result...
actually wan add to 1.5 inch..but the boss tell me dun do that..will kill me in high speed...
and the screw hole is hard to do ...u need to find the right place and ur metal plate soze must match with the rim and the suspension there..if not then ur car will shake after 40

ok .....u can juz find a steal rod and the diameter around 50mm, drill a tight hole according to ur wheel's skrus......and cut of the rod to how many mm tat u want, grind it under grinding machine to make it flat.....than ok liao la......

u mean making 4 spacer rings for each rim??

like dat u wun get perfectly balanced weight distribution.... ur car wil shake like hell at high speed....

Vibration due to a spacer?
my guess would be a misaligned/unsuitable hubcentric ring, or the piece of material you are using is not "uniform" (looks flat, but doesnt expand equally when heated)

That's why branded spacers are so so expensive...

hey, dun give up first la..
i think if u really to add a spacer, u can go to those stainless stell shop to ask them do for u...them can do the measuring for ur wheel too..
but quite expensive lar..and the steel is heavy too...
if u know any aluminium work shop i think they also can do for u...
BTW: after add spacer, ur steering will be much heavier