Water and turbines...

ganfh

Hi all sifus, i'm new to turbo here:itsme:
As i know our turbine is cooled by both water and oil rite? If it is so, then i just wanna know if radiator water is very rusty will it cause the turbine to jam? cause water from there is also used to cool turbine rite? Thx:adore::adore:

rusted water won't seize the turbo , neither will it seize your engine...but it will cause overheating problems for both the turbo and engine block itself.

get your mechanic to flush the engine and radiator...replace the radiator if required and put in "good quality" coolant...it makes a lot of difference.

Rust does cause seizures indirectly.

As rust builds more and more, the clerance become less and less and Heat dissipation deteriorates. Heat soaked moving metal parts seize.

Wow, thanks all for enlightening me :-)
But how do i tell mech that i need not just a radiator flush but also to flush the water jacket of engine and turbine water cool compartment? Can it be done in just one go? Usually how much does this cost? And also, can the famous Toyota coolant be use for turbo cars? Thx alot

joe..

water only runs on the outer rim of the bearing housing and will not come in contact with the shaft or the bearings, it's juz a cooling mechanism..something similar to our engine block..it runs on the outer rim to cool the block, it doesn't lubricate the pistons.

;)

sorry guys just to add some quote..
what happen to the turbine if there is no water inlet from the radiator and the engine block?
:burnout:

sorry guys just to add some quote..
what happen to the turbine if there is no water inlet from the radiator and the engine block?
:burnout:

some ppl have done that b4 , bt its not advised , if ur chra is designed for water + oil cool, then use it man

Out of topic a bit but related, hehe. Is it okay to connect CAI from bumper on 1 end and the other end to turbine? Any pros and cons? For cooling purposes....Thx

lolx this one more chun

http://www.streettunedmotorsports.com/used/1tin/tin_1_24_turbo2.jpg
http://www.streettunedmotorsports.com/used/1tin/tin_1_25_turbo2.jpg

Whoa! All looks spankin new! :drool:
Bros, any simple way to determine water stil flowing to turbine and not blocked by rust etc? Thx!

lolx this one more chun

http://www.streettunedmotorsports.com/used/1tin/tin_1_24_turbo2.jpg
http://www.streettunedmotorsports.com/used/1tin/tin_1_25_turbo2.jpg

plz post more pics of the above (if any)
or shoot me a link to it! :adore:

bro..one of the way is water pressure test by using radiator pressure test gauge.
this method may determine how much pressure is ur current water flows from the radiator and if not mistaken its oso can check any minor leakage from all the connections...correct me if i'm wrong..

use only recommended coolant by car manufacturer not by the so-called experts...happy coolin, bro!